We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”
Review of Porto Rio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Rio Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Patras
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The hotel is very hard to find from the main road and the side roads are a mess.it is located by the sea which is nice and you can admire the new bridge from the garden. The staff are polite . The rooms are really old and need rennovation.we used our RCI exchange to stay in the hotel and we had to make a scene in order o get our preallocated unit! But the daily cleaning even on Easter day made our stay comfortable. Very good food but fairly expensive. Free internet everywhere.the pool was closed even if it's May. Dissapointing

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

The hotel is in Rio, in a quiet location by the sea and with a magnificent view of the amazing Rio-Antirio bridge. It has large clean rooms, huge free car park, free wifi but the whole hotel has a diffuse feeling of decadence. The room decoration is very old-fashioned and the beds are hard and uncomfortable. Staff is polite and helpful. Breakfast room is large and bright with a wide open view to the sea. Breakfast is typical, not bad not great.
Casino ? you'd better stay away from casino unless you have a lot of money to spend for nothing.
Would come back ? Definately no, unless a serious renovation takes place....

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I rate the hotel with 4 stars for the politeness of the personnel, the nice lobby and breakfast room, the view to the sea just outside the hotel and the nearby Rio bridge, the spacious enough rooms and the plenty space for parking. However I must stress that the rooms look old and some maintenance or renovation should be scheduled... And please change those CRT TVs... Breakfast has most of the things provided in these kinds of hotels, but nothing breathtaking. There is quite a distance from the centre of Patras but for all gamblers the Patras casino is located within the hotel's premises.
The sleep quality was rather poor but for that I have to blame not only the beds which by the ways were not so comfortable but also my companion for the disturbing sleep noises ;)
Two nights were ok I guess in this hotel. For vacation, I don't know if I would pick it or Rio in general. Keep those dice rolling!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dominus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We had to be in Patras the last weekend in August 2012, and this was literally the only hotel we found available as we looked into it very last minute. I had read the reviews and was absolutely terrified that it would be an awful experience, but we booked it all the same as we just had to go to Patras. We were travelling with two small toddlers, and so we booked the suite to ensure ample space. Let me say we were very, very pleasantly surprised. The suite was VERY spacious and consisted of a large bedroom and bathroom and a large separate living room. It was clean, didn't smell (!), and had a nice sea view. It definitely looked like it had been renovated, albeit cheaply. Granted, there were a lot of things that were just off - the living room had no lighting other than one VERY bright overhead and lamp for which we never managed to find the light switch and so just plugged/unplugged to switch on/ off (!), the thick black-out curtain was in the living room whereas the flimsy, thin curtain was in the bedroom so all the light came in in the morning, the door to the suite didn't lock automatically and had to be physically locked, but other than that, it was perfect for one night! Plus the hotel pool area and restaurant (the only facility we used) was great! We got good service, decent food, and pretty much spent all day there. I didn't really see much else of the hotel so I can't comment. Let me also add that when I called to inquire about the suite and make sure it was as big and comfortable as it seemed on the web page (really, I was sooo wary after all the reviews I read!), the staff were very nice, and even physically went to the suite to confirm the layout and tell me exactly what it was like! Yes, the hotel is old and very possible the regular guest rooms haven't been renovated yet, but the pool area has, it's perfect to lounge at all day, there's a beach out front, and if you're coming for a couple of days in the summer, it's a great solution!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MsKap_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

this hotel has not been renovated in years and it's left to it's misery. No way you could describe it as a 4 star or even a 3 star hotel. The area of Patras does not have 4-5 star hotels, which is a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel's luxurious entrances and spacious rooms smell so badly,you look for the nearest exit to fresh air.It has to be either down rated or renovated.The waiters leave the trays on the tables until someone else takes it,leftovers and boring staff make you run away ASAP.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simijtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Definitely it’s not a 4 star luxurious hotel. We have stayed there a couple of times in the past since its location is very convenient especially if you need a stopover on your way to the port of Patra.

The lobby area has been renovated but the rooms (especially the bathrooms) need upgrading. They are clean though…the breakfast is just decent...service is indifferent..

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank invivo95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patras hotels
4.8 mi away
Airotel Patras Smart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Airotel Achaia Beach
Airotel Achaia Beach
#3 of 21 in Patras
276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kallirroe Hotel
Kallirroe Hotel
#5 of 21 in Patras
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Galaxy City Center Hotel
3.8 mi away
Patras Palace
Patras Palace
#4 of 21 in Patras
179 reviews
3.9 mi away
Astir Hotel
Astir Hotel
#17 of 21 in Patras
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Rio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Rio Hotel

Address: Rio Patras, Patras 265 00, Greece
Region: Greece > West Greece > Achaea Region > Patras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Patras
Price Range: £60 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Rio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Porto Rio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Rio Patras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing