We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A decent hotel near Patras”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rodini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rodini
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Patras
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A decent hotel near Patras”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

It is an old hotel that makes efforts to renovate.It has a very nice view it is next to the sea a spacious parking,a normal size room with a fridge and an air condition.The restaurant and the food is average but on the other hand the beach bar is quite good.The pool has a normal size and a great pool bar.
That's about everything at this hotel.For a weekend if you have no great expectations it is ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spygr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    9
    12
    8
    9
See reviews for
8
11
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

I only stayed her one night of my 9 day trip in Greece. The view was gorgeous and the artichoke field behind the hotel was amazing view to wake up to. The hotel could definately use some work. Not sure how much this portion of the trip cost as I bought a package deal.Wifi isnt free here but works well. I was here in April 2012 so weather was a bit chilly for the beach but I could only imagine this place in the summer is probably packed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

My husband and I arrived at Rodini just by chance, after a long drive and having found nowhere else to stay: most properties were shut, the season being apparently cut short by the credit crunch. We asked for a sea-view roon and got a corner one with big balcony, tip-top bathroom, fluffy towels in every size, complimentary slippers, AC, firdge. There is a commanding view over the gulf, a swimming pool area, a patio with lounge bar (expensive) on the seafront. The beach is not much, just a strip as often on the Corynth gulf and I would advise to walk to the near diving centre, instead. The hotel restaurant was closed so we headed, on the receptionist's advice, to Psathopyrgos, about 2 km north, off the road to Patra: it is an endless row of fish restaurants on the waterfront: consider taking a dip before your meal, the water is crystal clear and really inviting! The food at 'Angistri ' (the hook, in English) delightfully fresh and cheap.
Breakfast was not the best selling point, but still acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerac, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

Wouldn't recommend this to anyone, rooms very basic. You were lucky if you got a clean set of towels, I had to ask twice and room only got a quick once over as a clean. Buffet restaurant not that good, depended when you came to eat, left it a bit late and not a lot left on the buffet. Careful as you pay, if you pay when you've eaten, watch they don't try to charge you again when you leave, did with us! Hotel staff not particularly friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jackieannwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Patras hotels

Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

Overall, the hotel is not bad and to mention few of its advantages:
- Right to the beach;
- Free wireless internet;
- Free parking;
- Clean rooms;
We also had some negatives for it like it was not mentioned that some of the extras are not included in the price (i.e. the sauna). Everything in the hotel is very old as furniture and its location is quite hard to find. The breakfast was really poor, especially for the price we paid.
All in all, it is a fair hotel, but it does not worth the price we paid. If it was cheaper, I would definitely recommend it as a good low cost opportunity, but paying 60 EUR for double room, you would expect a bit more.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

Rodini beach hotel is located next to a very nice beach. The building is very old when you look from the outside but is well preserved and decorated in the interior.

Their leaflets say that it is a 4-star hotel but there aren't many things actually justifying that. The rooms are clean but nothing special (i stayed in a double room with a colleague) as there is just a table (with a mirror and a chair) and a wardrobe. There is a small 14'' TV that only received 2 channels (one of them local)...There is air-condition, we didn't use it.

Bathroom was spacious but definitely old. Bath tub was at least 20 years old and there was no curtain.

Breakfast was very poor, just some cheese and ham, 2 types of cake, bad quality juice and coffee from a strange coffee machine. On the contrary, lunch/dinner buffet is much much better, bigger variety and great tastes! As it is not included in the price, it is can be considered expensive, 14 € per person.

Pool is small (around 4x7) and has a view to the side of the hotel, next to the parking place. If you don't have a car, it takes 20-25 minutes to get there by bus from Patra.

All in all, it is not a bad hotel. The staff is friendly, the view to the beach and the sea is great, it's located in a quiet place and you can have some relaxed days with friends/partner. But for sure there are hotels inGreece with better service for the same prices, so it's worth searching a bit more

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isparos9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attika
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

I went there for a weekend with my husband. We did a phone booking for the price of 55 euros (which wasn't a special offer, but the regular price for a double room with BF).
When we arrived, there was a buzzing sound and no light in the bathroom, so we went to the receptionist who immediately gave us another room.

The rooms are comfortable and have a big bathroom with a bathtub, hairdryer, soaps and shampoo. No shower gel, nor bathroom curtain. There is a small Tv, wardrobe, desk with mirror and nightables. Also a small fridge ( but not mini-bar type) and A/C. No safe in the room for storing your valuables in case you need one.

Although the room seemed pretty clean when entering, with a closer look you could see that the bathroom wasn't that clean after all: there were hair on the floor and some dust and tiny bugs near the bathtub. To be fair, it DID have a huge window open just on top of the bathtub so probably there you have the reason of the dust and bugs.
The bedroom was pretty clean, no problem there.

What I didn't like was the breakfast. I believe it was very poor for what I expected for that price. Your coffee came from an automatic coffee/ tea/ chocolate machine, which made the quality of the coffee disgusting. The buffet wasn't inspiring you with cleanliness, nor the tables which gave you the impression they had been layed for a wedding sometime ago and were just left there unused ever since.

Also, at some point, an old man ( who seemed to be the owner) just grabbed some slices of salami and ham from the buffet for feeding some 5-6 kittens that were miawing on the balcony. Hats off to him for caring for them, but yet it left me with the question whether the cats were eating nice, fresh food, OR if we were just having old ham for breakfast!! :P

Last, but not least, when we left and wanted to pay for the room, the receptionist asked another price from the one he had given us (10 euros more). Of course provided he remembered our conversation we just had it for the original price. Yet another thing to doublecheck before you go there!

All in all, I believe it was too expensive for what it had to offer, provided that it seemed a bit as if it was once, in the 70's maybe, a glorious hotel that has just lost all its glamour and life and is just there trying to hold on.

A definite no-no for people who have high expectations from a hotel, honeymooners, romantic gettaways and people with family.

If you are young and do not really care for all the above, I'd say go for it IF you can't find something for a more affordable price.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmazoNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patras hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Delfini
Hotel Delfini
#13 of 21 in Patras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Astir Hotel
Astir Hotel
#14 of 21 in Patras
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 21 in Patras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Adonis
Adonis
#17 of 21 in Patras
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Byzantino Hotel
Byzantino Hotel
#10 of 21 in Patras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olympic Star Hotel
Olympic Star Hotel
#8 of 21 in Patras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rodini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rodini

Property: Hotel Rodini
Address: Rodini Beach | Rio, Patras 265 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Achaea Region > Patras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Patras
#7 Luxury Hotel in Patras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rodini 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodini Beach Hotel is a traditional hotel built by the sea coast, at a suburb of Patras city. The hotel is located at the most beautiful place of the area, and one can see the magnificent view of the Corinthian Gulf from its balconies. The place combines mountain and sea harmoniously, and the climate here is dry, fresh and ideal for rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rodini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodini Hotel Patras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing