We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dissapointed”
Review of Hotel Dioscouri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dioscouri
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Sparta
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“dissapointed”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The positive is that the rooms are large. Negatives are many.
If you arrive at the main bus stop you have a long uphill walk.
The smell in the lift was terrible and the bathrooms needs updating .. the window did not lock, the shower holder would not stay up.
Breakfast was average .. on one day the served bread was stale and on some days the orange juice was replaced by cordial.
Also the Manager recommended a restaurant in the plaza ("Καπαρη") and at the end of the night they overcharged us. The next day i advised the reception of the incident only to told that unfortunately this happens and that they will contact the restaurant. So I was disappointed with my stay there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    46
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
32
44
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A warm and friendly greeting always makes the traveller feel welcome. The Dioscouri staff offer this in bucketfuls. As a solo visitor, I appreciate a smile and recommendations when arriving in a
new city. After a long drive, retire to your room with a map- all the interesting sites marked, a cup of tea- unusually for Greece, kettle tea and coffee provided and a stunning view from my balcony on the 5th floor, what joy! This hotel is situated in a very pleasant part of Sparti, opposite lovely gardens and the cathedral.Within easy walking distance of everything you need to discover.Yes there are more expensive hotels here, but the Dioscouri is great value with a very nice breakfast included. The Taygetus mountains are almost touchable and the parking is excellent,although it may be busier in August. I really liked this hotel, and I travel around Greece frequently.

Room Tip: Opt for the higher floors and get the superb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We got a nice 2 rooms suite with large and clean bathroom and a beatifull view from the balcony. Very good location. The restaurant offered selection of 3-4 dishes for dinner and the breakfast was OK. WiFi only in the lobby. The staff was polite and friendly. Some friends from our 16 people party complained about the room......

Room Tip: View of Mystra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7625Gabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax Region, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Of the 9 hotels that we stayed at during our 3 week trip to Greece, this was by FAR the worst, and the only one that we would not return to. The room stunk of wet dog and old gym socks and we had to leave all the windows open at all times to try and ventilate the room. The beds were hard as a rock, and the WiFi didn't work unless you sat in the lobby. The location wasn't horrible, but we would have been better off staying on Palaiologou instead of Likourgou. Of the 2 gentlemen working the front desk, one of them was extremely helpful and accommodating, the other seemed distracted and was very dismissive. After seeing all the positive reviews on this website, we were expecting a much nicer place. I would not recommend anyone to stay in this hotel.
On a side note, if you do plan a stay in Sparta, take a day and go to Monemvasia! You will NOT be disappointed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeCanadaNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sparta hotels

Nice, France
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Good location to Mystra and Sparti.
The only breakfast with fresh orange juice.
Rooms and bathroom are clean and large, calm.The triple room is in fact to seprate rooms, like a little suite.
Good relation ship with the owner : a real hospitality

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corti d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haelen
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel is clean and close to the center. Although hotel room is not that cozy, it is comfortable for a stay of 2 days. Breakfast was also very good. Parking can be done in front of the hotel, since it is situated just outside city center. The staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdb121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamata
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in order to explore the sights of Lakonia prefecture (Mystras, Monemvasia, Sparta and ruins of Ancient Sparta etc). It was very comfortable and convenient as everything is nearby. I have to note that the breakfast was splendid - lots of interesting and tasty local items were served in addition to the expected fare and it provided me with lots of energy with which to start each adventure-filled day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demetra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sparta hotels
0.3 mi away
Lakonia Hotel
Lakonia Hotel
#5 of 10 in Sparta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menelaion Hotel
Menelaion Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sparta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ilaeira Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Maniatis
Hotel Maniatis
#6 of 10 in Sparta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Pyrgos Mystra
Hotel Pyrgos Mystra
#3 of 10 in Sparta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
11.8 mi away
Pritanio Guesthouse
Pritanio Guesthouse
#2 of 10 in Sparta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dioscouri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dioscouri

Property: Hotel Dioscouri
Address: 182 Lycourgou St, Sparta 231 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Sparta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Sparta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dioscouri 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dioscouri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing