We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ilaeira Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Sparta
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Top”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We returned recently from Ilaeira, this was our second stay and we are always so happy. Since 2012 there have been improvements made ​​to the road access, a swimming pool has been created and it seems a jacuzzi is in preparation.
Our room had a balcony with a view on the chain of Parrnon, it was decorated with taste and offering all amenities, large bathroom, lounge area with fireplace for the winter course. Our hostess Peggy is very agreeable and all members of the team also. The Tavene adjoining the hotel offers all the Greek specialties at reasonable prices with excellent wine list, do not hesitate to ask.
Starting early in the morning to climb the Taygetos Peggy has prepared a delicious breakfast basket inclued. We hope to return one of next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
79
81
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful location with excellent hosts. Serves as a great bar camp of you want to do the day hikes up and around Taygetus.

The rooms are super cozy and my wife had one of the best sleeps of her life there. Dead quiet. Great breakfast.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank balkanbanff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peggy k, Ιδιοκτήτης at Ilaeira Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We would like to thank you very much for your review and we'll be happy to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crediton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Having had a an excellent stay at this resort last year my wife and I felt that it was a must for our Greek holiday in 2014. Once again the accommodation and other facilities, now enhanced by a brand new swimming pool area (adult and kiddies pools), were out of the "top drawer". These together with the superb service provided by the friendly staff for whom nothing was too much trouble made it one of our best holidays in recent years. The hotel and the excellent restaurant were spotless and well run. Ilaeira is a very well placed centre for hill and mountain walking; visits to Mystras (with its unique churches and beautiful frescos and a mountain top castle built in 1272), Monemvasia, the Diros caves, Sparti with its historic past and Olive Oil Museum, and many more too numerous to list. But what really made the stay memorable was the friendly ambience imparted by the staff under the leadership of Peggy the Manager.

Room Tip: They are all very good - you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cornwall058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peggy k, Ιδιοκτήτης at Ilaeira Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We were very happy to see you again and we would like to thank you very much for your review!! Best regards, Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed here with my daughter during the summer of 2013. The cottage we got was immaculate, well stocked in terms of kitchen items, cleaned well every day. The staff let you feel like you were part of their family, from the front desk to the restaurant. The restaurant manager was fond of going from table to table, talking with guests and getting their opinions on his fare, in which he took obvious and well-founded pride. The town of Paleopanagia is small and quaint. Not much there (it had more appeal for us, because my grandparents were born there), but the mountain is amazing, and the cool air and hiking trails were a blessed escape from the summer heat down in Sparti. Also, the hotel pool and play area were perfect for families if you don't want to hike. My daughter and I already look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peggy k, Ιδιοκτήτης at Ilaeira Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We will more than happy to see you again on your next trip to Greece! Thank you very much for nice words and for taking the time to write about your stay with us. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel! Perfect in all aspects: cozy, clean, beautiful, very nice and friendly people/staff, relaxing, excellent food... What else can you ask for?!? A great place for children as well, with a really nice playground, and all appropriate accomodations.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mpapadim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peggy k, Ιδιοκτήτης at Ilaeira Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very very much for your review! You put everything in one sentence :) . We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyfada, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Excellent location, the hotel absolutely coincides with the environment, the staff and the owners are very kind, polite and helpful! It has an amazing view, all the rooms are big, warm and extremely clean having all the comforts we needed and the breakfast was lavish! My husband and I, with our 9months baby went there during Easter and the owners had everything ready for our baby's comfort and safety as well. However, the restaurant of the hotel could be better as far as its flavors is concerned since the area has much more and delicious food to offer.
Nikos-Agni Alexiou and baby Panos

Room Tip: all of them are great but don't forget to ask if your room has a double bed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peggy k, Ιδιοκτήτης at Ilaeira Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and of course we will be happy to welcome you again! Indeed Lakonia has great traditional recipies to offer and we try to have the most delicious ones in our menu, we hope that we will be able to prove of our best quality restaurant next time you visit us. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
452 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We spent a lovely weekend in this agreeable resort. Before reaching the place, the hosts were more than happy to take good care of us by providing all useful info. When there, we were warmly welcomed and taken good care of. The hotel is well decorated and maintained. The rooms are very nice and warm. The food at the hotel's restaurant and cafe is super. I highly recommend this resort for a nice break. A perfect place to stay if you are visiting mystras.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peggy k, Ιδιοκτήτης at Ilaeira Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We can't thank you enough for your nice review. We will be more than happy to welcome you again at our resort. Thank you again for taking the time to write about your stay with us. Best regards, Peggy :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
7.6 mi away
Menelaion Hotel
Menelaion Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sparta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
15.4 mi away
Horizon Blu
Horizon Blu
#1 of 21 in Kalamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Pyrgos Mystra
Hotel Pyrgos Mystra
#3 of 10 in Sparta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel Dioscouri
Hotel Dioscouri
#7 of 10 in Sparta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
18.1 mi away
Pritanio Guesthouse
Pritanio Guesthouse
#2 of 10 in Sparta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
7.7 mi away
Lakonia Hotel
Lakonia Hotel
#6 of 10 in Sparta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilaeira Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilaeira Mountain Resort

Property: Ilaeira Mountain Resort
Address: Toriza Village - Sparta | Mt. Taygetos, Sparta 230 54, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Sparta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Sparta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilaeira Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilaeira Mountain Resort is located in a small vintage village called Toriza at Taygetus Mountain (850m height), only 15km from the historical center of Sparta. Choose between a luxury suite, a spacious house or a dreamed villa all of them offering the most magnificent view. Each one of them is carefully designed, with spacious interior combining warmth and elegance. Wake up with the sound of the forest with a million colors in front of you just by looking through the window... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Ilaeira Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing