We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay in Hydra”
Review of Greco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Greco Hotel
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Hydra
Certificate of Excellence
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay in Hydra”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel feels more like staying in someone's home rather than a hotel. The garden was just a lovely place to have the delicious breakfasts, watching the locals and mules pass by. The room was clean and comfortable overlooking the garden and the owner was very friendly and helpful. If you are coming to Hydra I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyNowra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    24
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
50
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was an EXCELLENT hotel; I would encourage anyone traveling to Hydra to stay with them. The location was in a quieter portion of the town, but still very close to restaurants, walking paths, etc. The staff was excellent, as was the breakfasts. The front garden area was beautiful and relaxing. The innkeeper, Alkis Keramidas, is superior in watching for the needs of his customers and gives one great hope for the future of Greece.

If I could give more than 5 stars, I would.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a really special hotel. The family that runs it treat their guests like they are visiting friends or family. The rooms are clean and comfortable with pleasant views out to the island. However, what is really special, apart from the the friendly and helpful hosts, is the beautiful garden outside, where you can sit at any time of the day and relax. The breakfasts are also presented with great care and provide a nice range of choices. Hydra is a beautiful and special and island and this hotel provides a perfect retreat at the end of the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pyrrho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermillion, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Maria and her family make staying at the Greco Hotel like going home to visit the place you grew up. She and Alkis are accommodating to a fault. Her homemade breakfasts equal even your grandma's best cooking. The garden area is a delight to linger over morning coffee or to sit and read with a glass of wine in the evening. The hotel is conveniently located close to the main shopping and restaurant area of Hydra. You couldn't ask for a more relaxing location than the island of Hydra and while there Maria makes it even more so. A slice of heaven on Earth!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Maria & her family are really elevating this small piece of heavan located on a very picturesque street of Hydra. The hotel is small and very quiet with a meticulously cared-after garden terrace filled with endless flowers and plants, just fabulous for reading, relaxing or even working! The setting is serene and the service professional and super friendly! People here are doing everything to make you feel comfortable and help you out in every way. Maria's breakfast is a treat, a superb selection of hand-made savoury and sweet delicacies, which will make you wake up earlier. The rooms are simple but very clean and comfortable. As we were traveling with our 3-year-old son, the child-friendly attitude was really heart-warming! We will definitely go back again and again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evita-Olivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Hydra is a very special island and the Hotel Greco is a wonderful, relaxing and friendly base to enjoy the island. We were met off the ferry and taken to the hotel about 500 meteres from the harbour, welcomed with drinks and home made biscuits, and shown to our room overlookIng the garden. Rooms are small but recently decorated and nicely furnished. The hotel is run by Maria and her son and nothing is too much trouble for them. Breakfast includes many home made products and is taken on a beautiful terrace among the flowers and birds. Hydra town is quite small so there are many bars and restuarants to enjoy very good food and without cars or bycycles, the island has a very relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. I will come back to Hydra and when I do I will certainly stay at the Greco again

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Our hosts Maria and her son Alkis took care of our every need. Breakfast included many homemade dishes, including at least five different kinds of pastries each day. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and everything is in working order. Pick the Greco Hotel for a perfect place to rest and recharge while you visit Hydra.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hydra hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#2 of 21 in Hydra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hydroussa Hotel
Hydroussa Hotel
#8 of 21 in Hydra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hydra
Hotel Hydra
#6 of 21 in Hydra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phaedra Hotel
Phaedra Hotel
#4 of 21 in Hydra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leto Hydra
Hotel Leto Hydra
#1 of 21 in Hydra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orloff Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greco Hotel

Property: Greco Hotel
Address: Gika Kouloura Street, 180 40 , Greece
Region: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Hydra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Greco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing