We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A guest house that provides excellent accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nereids Guest House
Ranked #3 of 34 Hydra B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 June 2011

I spent a few days on the beautiful Island of Hydra in May and stayed at Nereids Guest House.
This is a really lovely place. Hydra is a charming island but I enjoyed my stay also thanks to such great accommodation.
The building is beautiful and elegant. The rooms are spacious as well as comfortably and exquisitely furnished. The one I was given was very clean and had a luxurious bathroom.
The guesthouse is in an idyllic peaceful setting, just a few minutes away from the busy harbour. The perfect place for rest and relaxation!
The owners are very kind and helpful and the price is so great for such quality accommodation.
In a few words I strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Nereids Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2011

We spent 5 days at this lovely place. The walk to the guesthouse was easy and worth it to find such beautiful surroundings. The owners were welcoming and helpful often taking the time to share their knowledge of their island. We loved our time on Hydra.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keera2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

After 2 days in Athens, I chose Hydra island, hearing that it is car-free and a good retreat for hiking and chilling out. I selected Nereids Guest House from the internet as their price was reasonable and the owner could communicate in English. I heard about the cobbled streets and hilly steps, so being 350 m away from the port on a flat route was also comforting.

Arriving after dark at 7pm, I was surprised to be greeted by the owner's father at the Hydra Port. Of course, being low season, it was not difficult to spot an Asian tourist embarking off the Flying Dolphin but kudos to him for picking me up as I was prepared with my compass to tab all the way through the cobbled streets. The walk was not far but be mindful that the cobbled streets do not go easy on wheeled luggage. So make sure either backpacks are in order or sturdy wheels are ready for a rough troll through the quaint Hydra lanes.

The guest house looked very well kept and most rooms are located on a patio a few steps up but overlooking a beautiful view of the bay and mountain side. Great for al-fresco breakfast or sunset drinks on this terrace. My room had a warm feel with wooden beams and stone walls. It felt like being in a medieval mansion but without the dust and cobwebs! There was a small empty fridge available with 1 litre of mineral water for immediate consumption. I did ask if the tap water was drinkable and the owner said it is fine though there is some after-taste. I was fine with this as I boil my water and use it for tea and coffee.

Though some shops and restaurants are open, the winter season is quiet and some retailers are closed for their own vacation. So word of advice - bring your own snacks, tea bags, instant coffee and whatever fresh fruit or milk that you need from Athens.

This guest house does not have a reception, so it is not like a hotel but the owner is usually around in the mornings or evenings and their family lives just next door if you need any assistance. Share your idea with the owner about your stay in Hydra and he might offer some good advise, such as hiking trails and where to eat. Overall, it was a very discreet environment and no one came to bother me.

One minor thing - though the wireless internet is free, the signal could not be received from inside my room. I had to take my laptop into the patio to surf the internet. It's not a problem but it can be chilly in the winter evenings and you need to have a laptop with strong battery life or a long power cable with a two prong plug. If it rains, I guess your laptop needs to be "waterproof" !!

It is a standing shower, which is hot and powerful. Shampoo and shower gel is provided but bring your own toothbrush and toothpaste. The towels are plentiful but quite coarse..not the fluffy kind. Good for exfoliating your body, I guess...

The double bed is good and firm for a single person but can be a tight fit for two large-size persons. Television may not be important but the signal is poor with fuzzy picture. It did encouraged me to look at the night stars instead. Overall, I had a great sleep, especially after the coastal walks and fresh air. There is a friendly Greek restaurant just 20 meters from the house and ask for their fish selection for a good grill. Meal for one person came up to about 25 Euros.(Starter/Main/Drink/Dessert)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bazzer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Really cozy rooms with a good aesthetic. Very friendly owner.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Nereids Guest House is by far one of the nicest guest houses I have visited. A converted old house, done up to a very high standard and with great taste, it combines the comforts of a modern room while maintaining the traditional feel. The guest house is at a great quiet location, not too far from the main port. We would highly recommend this guest house and gladly go back again and again. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavlina_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

The relation between price and quality for this Guesthouse is more than excellent, taking into account other hotels in Hydra-and i have seen and searched a lot of them. I have been there 3 times, stayed in 3 different rooms and all of them had their own "character". The first time i thought that the rooms would be very average because of the low price, but i was surprised a lot when i saw these gems.Made from wood and stone mostly, with space for terrace and chairs for every room in order to enjoy the view to the harbour of Hydra,its location is close enough in order to carry the luggage easily from the port-because Hydra has no vehicles except from donkeys- and away enough in order to have a great sleep. Its not in the center of the town, but it is a good location that offers also great views.Very clean also.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaMelissia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

I totally found this guest house by chance, in a time when it was really hard to find accomodation in the island of Hydra, due to a massive number of people travelling there. I was pleased to find out it was one of the best choices I could have made!
The hotel is situated only 10 min. walking distance from the island's port, without having to climb up any steps (that is important because the island is full of them, and this could be annoying if you have a lot of luggage).
It is stone-built, both outside as well as inside the rooms and it consists of a number of rooms on different levels, some of them with their own patio.
The room we had was a double room, fortunately with a double bed (you're lucky to find one, cause many double rooms in hotels or guest houses have two single beds instead of a double one!), fully-equipped (TV, A/C, hair-dryer, etc), very clean and very cute.
You also get a view of the sea from the guest house(but maybe not from all rooms), though a little bit far away.
The guest house is situated in a very quiet area (though very very close to the town centre - remember, Hydra's capital is a really small place), so it's perfect for relaxing. I confess that I'm glad I didn't book one of the other guest houses which were exactly at the port, because the streets are swarming with tourists and people throughout the day, and I wouldn't find this particularly pleasant.
Finally, the rates were surpisigly low for the quality of the place - 65 euros per night, for a doule room (summer 2010). I've been to guest houses of equal quality and they were double the price!
Last, but not least, the guest house had a very pleasant and friendly owner.
So, all in all, the Nereids is a beautiful and extremely good value for money guest house, and I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bliss_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hydra hotels
0.3 mi away
Hydroussa Hotel
Hydroussa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Hydra
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#2 of 20 in Hydra
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leto Hydra
Hotel Leto Hydra
#1 of 20 in Hydra
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
#1 of 2 in Hydra Town
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amarillis Hotel
Amarillis Hotel
#12 of 20 in Hydra
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phaedra Hotel
Phaedra Hotel
#5 of 20 in Hydra
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nereids Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nereids Guest House

Address: Greece
Region: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Hydra
Price Range: £48 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Nereids Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing