We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere, horrible service; Leave after having seen the view.”

Sunset Restaurant Hydra
Ranked #4 of 65 Restaurants in Hydra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$71
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Agree to all other reviews about the sunset view and the good (but not so great) food. Service is horrible. The waiters refused to split the bills over different skippers leaving the company calculating over illegible bills, probably aimed at tax evasion and the likes. Enjoy the view; then go elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank wllmbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofia m, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Restaurant Hydra, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear guest

Thanks for taking the time to share your unfortunate experience with us. Under no circumstance should any of our guests be treated in a rude or unfriendly manner, so I hope you will accept my most sincere apology and I wish to reassure you that there is nothing illegal as far as the Sunset is concerned.

Thank you, and we hope you'll give us another chance next time you're in Hydra

My best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 247 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had a lovely dinner with some wine watching the sunset. Lovely food and atmosphere as it is in the open on the side of a cliff. If you want a relaxing atmospheric evening with a sunset backdrop you must visit this even for a coffee.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelbugs1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofia m, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Restaurant Hydra, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear friend

Thank you very much for your review in tripadvisor following your dining experience at the Sunset restaurant. It is always a pleasure to share a great experience.

Our entire team is excited to see very nice feedback about Food, Ambience and Service

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

You can't beat the atmosphere and the food and drinks didn't disappoint. I have had better food at better prices, but all in all this was a great place for a relaxing dinner.

Thank applega888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofia m, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Restaurant Hydra, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

First of all, thank you for having experienced the Sunset and for sharing your feedback.

Your comment has particularly caught our attention. The final amount depends on Guest’s “gourmet” choice (for food or wine&drinks) and of course the number of guests.

Our Chef use to select only Premium Quality products and we always keep in mind to preserve the right balance between quality-service-guest satisfaction. In the meantime, we are really happy to read that your experience reached your expectation and made your night lovely.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at the Sunset restaurant
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stopped for a drink on the way back into hydra centre. There is a sign outside inviting you to stop for a drink/coffee
There were about 3 members of staff and just one other table occupied. Asked for a diet coke and a coffee. Told they only served expresso by the surly staff member. Not one of them mustered a smile so we left quickly and felt thoroughly unwelcomed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofia m, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Restaurant Hydra, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Mandy D,

I would like to thank you for having taken the time to bring the details of your Sunset experience to our attention. I am extremely sorry for the disappointment caused by the service .

Once again, I would like to extend my most sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused and I sincerely hope that we will have another chance to welcome you back to Sunset in the near future.

Respectfully yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

There was absolutely no downside to this restaurant. Just outside of the main port, 2 min walk 'around the corner' - I think they may have fished for the seafood three minutes before it was cooked. Incredibly fresh - literally everything that we had would rival and then beat the very best seafood restaurants in the world. Simply prepared, served with a smile and well deserved pride.

Thank 212familytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunset Restaurant Hydra also viewed

Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
 
Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
 

Been to Sunset Restaurant Hydra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing