We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"If this were not on the water facing the sunset it would go out of business"”

Sunset Restaurant Hydra
Ranked #5 of 65 Restaurants in Hydra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$71
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 16 August 2014

OK let's get the natural beauty out of the way - sunset view is beautiful, awesome, and memorable so restaurant gets one star for the location alone.
Now to the restaurant - food is way below average with fake Greek cooking and service is very slow and quite frankly, they don't care even if you politely mention that you've been waiting a long time since you ordered. After all, you're a tourist - they know it and you know it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofia m, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Restaurant Hydra, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear David

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

I am extremely disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations and I'm sorry that we were not able to offer you a 5-star experience. I do hope that you'll give us another opportunity to change your impression of the Sunset restaurant

Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 241 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

An excellent choice when in Hydra. Spectacular sunsets and food. Service is excellent and choices and varied and selections are prepared with style and are very tasteful. Menu varies from traditional Greek, to Seafood to steaks and pork and then you have the choice of Pasta.
Salads are wonderful and fresh. The owner Anthony is a very friendly man who will take the time to inquire personally about you meal. A very nice touch. Service is top notch and all staff are very attentive and tend to make you feel very welcome. Prices are very reasonable and acceptable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank conchcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofia m, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Restaurant Hydra, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear friend,

On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you for your so much appreciated review. We are all very pleased to read how much you have enjoyed your experience at the Sunset restaurant.

Our staff is dedicated to providing you with an incomparable level of personalized service designed for our guests and I am more than happy we met your expectations. Your compliments about the service , the atmosphere, the menu, are a great source of motivation for everyone and be sure all the team was extremely happy to read it.

We will make sure to work even harder to enhance the overall experience and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Thank you again

With very friendly greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The view is beautifull, but the service horrible. We wanted to have a nice evening, but they did not want to serve us. So we left.

1  Thank Katherina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofia m, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Restaurant Hydra, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Katherina K

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback at the Trip Advisor.

Please accept our sincere apologies regarding your recent visit at the Sunset restaurant. It is unfortunate that you were unable to dine with us that night.

I don't mean to make excuses, but you caught us in the middle of a perfect storm in which we were booked to capacity. Our goal , and priority is to exceed your expectations, with the quality of our food as well as with the service provided, and clearly we did not have the chance to do that for you due to the fact that our restaurant was fully booked, overcrowded and we would not have been able to serve you in the way we do.

Again I apologize, and do hope you will give us another opportunity to show you what a great place we are to visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Can't add much more than what others have said. Drop dead gorgeous view--especially sunset. We reserved a lower cliff table the day before we dined for a special meal. We ordered drinks and appetizers and told the waiter we would order our main meal later. The fried squid was excellent by the way. After the spectacular sunset, was ready to order more drinks and our main meal. Each time our waiter came by, he said he would be back in a moment. Four times, and one hour later, we stood up to leave. We went to the front desk where he followed us with his hundred (too late) apologies. After a healthy discussion with the host regarding the incident, he said what we had was on the house. We gladly would have paid for what we had, but he insisted--which was the right thing to do. At the same time, another American was complaining about the same treatment. Interesting--is it Americans, or are they rude to all? Overall, recommend the food and view, and don't put up with the bad service. Maybe they will do some customer service training...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Robgski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofia m, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Restaurant Hydra, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Friends, thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant!

We appreciate any and all feedback our customers are willing to provide in order to keep us on top of our game. Ambitions are worthless unless we remain committed to seeing them through from start to finish. All constructive criticisms are addressed in our weekly meetings and daily line-ups, so honestly, thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Please accept my apology for treating you so poorly. My staff has been made aware of your experience, and we are all in agreement that this is no way to treat a guest in our restaurant.

We are very happy that you at least, enjoyed the atmosphere and the good food!!

Perhaps you could give us another try some other time, I promise your experience will be more to your standards.

Again I am very sorry and we are realy looking forward to welcoming you in some future occasion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Sunset Restaurant is an open-air restaurant carved into the rocks on the Western side of Hydra 's harbor. The views are stunning. You can climb the rocks on the right side to swim and sunbathe. It is indeed a top spot to watch the sunset. There is a bar in the background which might be an excellent choice for a pre-dinner drink.

Food aims to be more than simply the average ordinary Greek food. I think they succeed in that. Even though, one of us had Spaghetti that were returned uneaten. So be prepared for some unusual fair. Ingredients that have previously been frozen are clearly indicated.

Service is unacceptable. The waiters and the receptionist were overall friendly enough but they just don't seem to care. The bill was inaccurate as one item was added we did not consume.

I would recommend it for a drink but suggest eating somewhere else.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofia m, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Restaurant Hydra, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We value constructive criticism as well as compliments. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues that occurred. Rest assured, we have addressed the points you raised. They are completely out of character of The Sunset restaurant and contrary to what the vast majority of our guests experience, night after night.

We are very sorry you were disappointed and hope you will give us another opportunity to shine.

Very sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunset Restaurant Hydra also viewed

Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
 
Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
 
Hydra Town, Hydra
Hydra Town, Hydra
 

Been to Sunset Restaurant Hydra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing