We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical memories”
Review of Hotel Mistral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mistral
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Hydra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Our only regret is we only stayed a single night on this island and at this wonderful hotel. The location is beautiful, up against the hillside. Lush, relaxing courtyard, comfortable and charming room, and incredible breakfast all await you! Can't wait to visit again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vacationeervelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

My daughter and I stayed here and would definitely choose this hotel again! The hosts are delightful and want to be sure you enjoy your stay. The decor is beautiful, yet provides a comfortable, unpretentious atmosphere. The breakfast in the courtyard is amazing - everything was fresh and delicious, and so abundant that we hardly needed another meal all day! The courtyard is also an excellent place to spend a little downtime, day or night - very relaxing. This will be our first choice if we are so fortunate as to return to Hydra.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor yet we had no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeauxExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Yes, Hydra is lovely. The Mistral is charming, comfortable and well located a short walk from the port in a quiet area. But, the high point is the astounding cooked to order breakfast that is served on the gorgeous patio.I have had fabulous breakfasts at fabulous places, but truly, this is the best. A special menu is developed each day and cooked to order for each guest.So, go for the beauty of the island and the charm of the hotel---but what you will remember most is the fabulous breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeniorSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were not that impressed with this hotel. We
reserved a family room for 4 people which looks lovely on the pictures. It turned out to be a windowless attic. For ventilation , the door must be left ajar. The other rooms may be nice , but I would not recommend this attic-room! The breakfast was OK , but there was NO choice and not even any questions about any food not suitable for guests - it was simply brought to the table. My daughter is a vegetarian and most dishes contained meat. We also do not drink fruit juice , but received a glass each - therefor it was simply wasted. We also had a problem when we checked in - the lady could hardly speak a word of English and there was nobody to help with the luggage. Because of these points , I would not recommend this hotel to other guests.

Room Tip: Avoid the Attic - aka "Family room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huyshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A visit to Hydra would not be complete without a stay at the Hotel Mistral. The property is exceptionally clean and beautifully decorated. Our hosts were charming and helpful. The generous and wonderful breakfast in the charming courtyard is an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsVick100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

1st.,If you are going to Greece, you have to visit Hydra, if you visit Hydra, you have to spend at least 2 nights, if you stay overnight, then there is only one place - Mistral Hotel, you will never regret it! We were made to feel like family. Jenny and Theo are the perfect hosts, and you will not find a better breakfast on the Island. Theo's father started the first bakery on the Island, and he knows how to bake. The sweet smell of breads being baked in the morning brought back memories of my youth. We stayed seven nights, I could go back in a heartbeat, and someday I hope to.

2nd. The Island of Hydra is about two hours from Athens by people ferry only, there are no motorized vehicles on the Island, except for a very small fire truck (converted mini-pick-up) a small trash truck, and a very new, but small ambulance. All things that are heavy move via, donkeys, mules, and horses and by people too. If you have a lot of luggage, there are porters to help you, but in reality all you need is a simple nice dress for the evenings and comfortable daytime cloths (for the ladies), men, keep it simple too, a nice outfit for the evenings (no ties), and very casual cloths for the day.

3rd. Eating out for Lunch and Dinner - after a great breakfast at the Mistral, you may not need or have room for lunch, but we never had a bad meal on this Island. The best treat of the days, was watching the sun set from near or in The Sun Set Restaurant. There are many good food establishments, far too many to share, but any one of the many places were all perfect, and the service personal were all extremely friendly. By the end of our seven nights, we had been made to feel as if we had lived there all our lives by the people of this Island and by our Hosts at the Mistral Hotel.

Go there, your mind and body will thank you for the rest of your life.

Berkeley and Mike - May 8th - 15th, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Of all of the hotels we stayed at in Greece, this was our favorite. The staff was warm and helpful throughout our stay (and even before, offering advice regarding transportation). Breakfast was exceptional. The entire property was clean and beautifully decorated. The garden in particular was magical. The location is perfect, a short walk from the port and in a lovely section of town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelllllll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hydra hotels
0.2 mi away
Hydroussa Hotel
Hydroussa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Hydra
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
#1 of 2 in Hydra Town
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orloff Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Phaedra Hotel
Phaedra Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hydra
245 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Luxury Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leto Hydra
Hotel Leto Hydra
#5 of 20 in Hydra
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mistral

Address: 180 40, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Hydra
Price Range: £78 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mistral 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mistral is a 3 star hotel located just 3 minutes from Hydra's port. A stone mansion with 17 rooms that its proud in keeping Hydra's traditional colors and atmosphere. All rooms are renovated with modern facilities and comfort. In our flowered garden you can enjoy a different breakfast everyday, homemade with traditional products. Mistral and Hydra ....both simple yet elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mistral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mistral Hotel Hydra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing