We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skipper Cafe - Restaurant

Skipper Cafe - Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 64 Restaurants in Hydra
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Mediterranean, European, Greek, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a snack at Skippers while waiting for the ferry, and were not expecting much; the sandwiches and other snacks and tea were really very good.
Recommended for snacks and light meals.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank happyholiday79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    28
    2
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best coffee place in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I am working a lot with my pc and i need a steady place to settle. Skipper have been this place for all my needs. Free vdsl wifi, portable electricity plugs for the pc, very good coffee, the most helpfull staff and always ready to help or waiter you. Even when the place is packed they still are helpfull and you never feel unwelcome.

Helpful?
9 Thank ExposerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yaoundé, Centre, Cameroon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A generic but good harborside restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Somewhat tourist-town bland, but nice service and a very good Greek salad. Right on the harbor, which makes every meal an opportunity to watch the world go by.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Lovely little place for lunch or some evening cocktails on the harbour! Service was excellent but watch out for the cats :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our regular coffee place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

When I travel I usually pick one cafe to have my coffee at every day and the odd meal. It builds a small level of familiarity. The Skipper cafe made great frappes and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. On our last day waiting for our boat they were happy for us to settle there for a good 3 hours enjoying coffee, a light lunch, reading and using their free wifi. Also nice comfortable lounges to sit on, plus one very handsome waiter.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marina0418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skipper Cafe - Restaurant also viewed

Hydra Town, Hydra
Hydra Town, Hydra
 
Hydra Town, Hydra
Hydra Town, Hydra
 
Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
 

Been to Skipper Cafe - Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing