We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ippokampos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ippokampos Hotel
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Hydra
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“cozy and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stay in October 2013. The hotel and staff were very nice. Loved the island, not over crowded this time of year. Breakfast was quite decent with a nice variety. The owner even got up at a very early hour to make sure we had a breakfast before our trip back to Athens !
Some have complaints about the mattresses - mine was fine and I usually have problems with such.
The courtyard was lovely for late afternoons catching up on emails and skypeing back home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Monhegan1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    21
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
30
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Beautiful views, and immaculate surroundings. Staff is very helpful. This hotel is conveniently located a short walk from the center of Hydra town; restaurants, shops, the ferry and museums. Third floor rooms with patio offer a commanding view for relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happytraveler018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was a second visit to Hydra after some twenty years. Many things have not changed, thankfully, still no cars, no high rise developments and large hotels, still many traditional restaurants and coffee shops around, but the hype that surrounds Hydra as a destination we could not see. Was there our visit late in the season, everyone tired and looking to some rest from all the tourists? We could not tell, but everything that we experienced was very average, food, shops, hotel, there was no sparkle there for us.

The Ippokampos hotel which we had not previously booked was the first to see that looked interesting after turning into the first street after arriving (we had checked previously Tripadvisor and looked OK, mid-price, mid rating, 4 out of 5 stars). Nice entrance and courtyard, we were offered the choice of two rooms, price reasonable, we booked in. A nice hotel of similar standard as many others in Hydra, well located, pleasant staff, breakfast with reasonable offerings, but the facilities in our room were below our expectations.

We hope that others that visit Hydra will find the sparkle there that we did not.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geodali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

A basic room, with a/c and decent bathroom. No frills, but Hydra is so nice I can't imagine you would want to spend that much time in your room. If you have the money- Batsera hotel (across the path) is much nicer and has a pool.

Staff were very gentle and helpful and overall made for a very nice stay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Markwilson78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

The hotel is very attractive with a convenient location. I thoroughly enjoyed the nice breakfast in the beautiful courtyard. A feeling of being family-owned and operated by people who cared added to the experience. I would recommend it to friends without hesitation.











































enj

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Hydra is a wonderful island. And the Hotel Ippokampos was another pleasant surprise. Easy to get to, but in a quiet part of Hydra. The courtyard entrance, where you will breakfast is delicious. The interior and the rooms are well kept. We were in a room on the second floor, with a beautiful panoramic terrace, shared with other rooms, a corner of paradise, with beautiful views. The staff has always been friendly and helpful. We will return to Hydra and choose again the Hotel Ippokampos.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ClaudioVedovati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

i find all of hydra very pricey and this place is no exception, but on the upper floor i had a shared patio and few of all of hydra and the sea in the distance. the place felt a bit wierd. they said calls were free (i thought that they had voip like i do at home-calls in the world are free) i called within europe for 13 min to a landline and they wanted to give me a bill of 10 euros! about 80 centimes a minute. surely they don't pay that! i hadn't realized that was paying, so after i checked out and walked to the boat i found that the receptionist had chased after me, to get the extra 10 euros. it gave a bad taste to my stay which was otherwise ok. the room is upscale, but at 5 am i was hot and turned on the AC and it sounded like a tank, for about the 1st half hour! the freezer was frozen over and the sink stopper got stuck inside--things they didn't rectify even though i indicated them as soon as i got there. breakfast was abundant but i felt like the owner was surveying what i was eating. it felt uncomfortable. also such a shame!: they mix "fresh squeezed juice" with something else--why bother!? either it's fresh or it's not.

it's visually nice, but the feeling there is wierd. i get the impression the staff is not well-treated.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hydra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#2 of 22 in Hydra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hydroussa Hotel
Hydroussa Hotel
#8 of 22 in Hydra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leto Hydra
Hotel Leto Hydra
#1 of 22 in Hydra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phaedra Hotel
Phaedra Hotel
#5 of 22 in Hydra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hydra
Hotel Hydra
#7 of 22 in Hydra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
#1 of 2 in Hydra Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ippokampos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ippokampos Hotel

Property: Ippokampos Hotel
Address: Tobazi, 180 40, Greece
Region: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Hydra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ippokampos Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ippokampos Hotel,in a perfect place for relaxed and elegant holidays in Hydra, without cars or motorcicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Ippokampos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ippokampos Hotel Hydra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing