We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant!”
Review of Hotel Leto Hydra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Leto Hydra
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Hydra
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very pleasant!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the Leto hotel was very pleasant. First of all, this hotel is located in the town of Hydra, very close to the port, the restaurants, the bars and the shops, so we didn't have to walk much or to walk on stairs. Secondly, we stayed at a superior room with a beautiful view to the town and the port. The room was clean and very comfortable. Though, the bed could be more soft. A disadvantage was that there wasn't a balcony and also a place where we can hung our beach towels or our swimsuits so that they can get dry. Furthermore, the service was excellent and the breakfast was very good, especially if you take it at the beautiful little backyard of the hotel. In conclusion, i definitely recommend Leto hotel to anyone who is visiting Hydra and i will also choose it if i ever visit this island again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Andreana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    52
    12
    0
    2
See reviews for
41
186
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is hotel is advertised on their website as a 4 star hotel, promising luxury and comfort. Hence I was dissappointed to find out that in real life this hotel did not live up to its promises. Even more disappointed as we paid more than €170/night inclusive of breakfast for a double.

We stayed at the hotel for more than a week and so we had a chance to form a good opinion about the hotel and its services.

The hotel is located only 200 meters from the port clock tower which is very convinient. Our room was large with two singles and we had a large bathroom. We had two large windows in our room facing Hydra town's back streets which was nice. There is a ground floor sitting area and an exterior patio. Both poorly used in my opinion. There is a bar but it is located away from them (tucked away facing a narrow corrdor) and so we spend little time enjoying both of these spaces.

When staying at a 4 star hotel you assume a few basics. We were disspaointed to find out:
1. Rooms were not cleaned daily: on at least two days we received no clean up service. We did not have a do not distrurb sign and we were away for most of the day.
2. Sound insulation in our room was poor: In our bathroom we could hear people from at least two rooms chatting throughout the day.
3. Toilteries only inlcuded a shampoo and shower gel. We were give two of each at the beginning of our 8 day stay. We had two more shampoo given on the 7th day! There was not q-tips or moisturising lotion and conditioner available at all.
4. Hotel is publicised as disabled accessible. I did not see an elevator and there are stairs to enter the hotel from the street.
5. Service is average and impersonal. Besides the the lady serving breakfast who is very energetic and lively, the rest staff is impersonal and had do not made any efforts to make us feel comfortable or happy to be there. In one occassion there was an old lady, probably the owner, sitting in the living room chatting on the phone harshly to someone whilst people were having breakfast...

Most of the comments above would have been insignificant if we had statyed at a guest house or small 2 star hotel with a modest price. But this was not the case. The premises have a lot of potential but a lot of things need to improve if this hotel wants to call itself 4 stars.

I would not choose to stay in this hotel. I would rather choose smaller run hotels in Hydra, where service is more personalised and friendly and where prices are a better value.

Room Tip: Probably rooms facing the inner courtyard are better as the ones facing the street are slighly noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for three night. It is perfectly located in Hydra. Close to the port yet far enough not to be annoyed by the noise of all the bars. The place is very confortable, charming, relaxing and decorated with taste. We particularly appreciated the staff of this hotel, always smiling, and speaking a perfect English. The breakfast buffet is also to be recommended.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank MatthSag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

charming hotel. Simple and tasty decoration. Efficient staff. Very friendly lady serving the breakfast. Still, our room was a bit noisy if you left windows open. It was on the 1st floor looking over the street, right above the main door. try to get a room in the upper floors.
Concerning the breakfast, I was a bit desappointed by the quality of the products. Illusion of abundance but kind of cheap quality (cheap quality ham, feta, cheese, even the yoghurt was just ok) but I think it has to do with the poor quality of the products you find on the island as a whole. It's difficult to eat really well in Hydra.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonard75017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leto H, Owner at Hotel Leto Hydra, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear sir

We would like to thank you for your comments and kindly inform you that the products we provide to our guests
Are fine quality products purchased from local markets and areas around the Peloponnese ,the yoghurt we provide to our customers
Has been purchased from one of the best manufacturers in Greece.
Overall we would like to thank you for your comments you help us become and give the best facilities and services to our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for 3 days at Leto hotel and I would highy recommend it to anyone who wants to visit Hydra.Close to the center, very clean , great breakfast

The only disadvantages :no satellite tv, no soap in the bathroom

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I came to relax in soft, cool and kind surroundings and Leto seemed to fit my needs. It did! In every possible way! Nice room, clean and spacious, well functioning air cond, the kindest staff always smiling, tending to my every need which some times can be a little exaggeratet, but they were great!! I recomend Leto with all my heart and will return again and again!! Thanks for making this the best little vacation ever :-)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Kine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Attiki, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed for one night in Leto and our experience was impeccable!!! We stayed in rm 203 which was spacious with fine furniture matching exactly with the general aura of the surroundings. We had the biggest bathroom we have ever seen!!! Staff really friendly and breakfast up to our standards!!
Leto is also very close to the port.
An excellent choice!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Nikos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hydra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hydroussa Hotel
Hydroussa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Hydra
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#2 of 20 in Hydra
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phaedra Hotel
Phaedra Hotel
#5 of 20 in Hydra
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Orloff Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
#1 of 2 in Hydra Town
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hydra
Hotel Hydra
#7 of 20 in Hydra
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leto Hydra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leto Hydra

Property: Hotel Leto Hydra
Address: Rafalias Street, 180 40, Greece
Region: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Hydra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Leto Hydra 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leto Hotel on Hydra island is discreetly located in one of the island's most picturesque alleys, Leto Hydra Hotel is distinguished for the 5 star services it provides its guests, in combination to the beauty that surrounds it and the authentic architectural style along the strict guidelines of the island.The island of Hydra connotes to high quality holidays, to tranquillity, to carefree times and to landscapes of unique beauty.Hotel Leto on Hydra island island fits harmoniously to the island's big picture and perfectly assimilates the distinct features that characterise this admirable island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Leto Hydra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing