We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Saga Hotel Studios & Apartments
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Poros
Certificate of Excellence
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Great Welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

We stayed here for just 1 night and chose the hotel for its location. Zefi speaks perfect English and you are made very welcome. Our room had a good sea view as requested, had good S/C facilities and was spotless. The pool area is very confined but has ample sunbeds. The included buffet breakfast was excellent, continental & English but after a meal out the previous evening at the almost impossible to find Dimitris, we couldn't do it justice. Quiet location, easy level stroll to town, clean & friendly. If a pool is high priority this is not ideal.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    46
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
52
107
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

We booked the Saga hotel on Poros island through their website and found that everything they said was true. The hospitality of Zefi & Takis was superb. In addition to the hotel being good they include us in their family events and they took us to their farm which the kids loved. We met many of their other guests and found that most of the people come back to the Saga year after year.

The Saga on Poros is as it says on the can. Modern, comfortable and family run. Great place to stay. Good facilities and good value.

At the Saga on Poros island, Takis and Zefi made our holiday with their friendliness and hospitality. We will definitely return.

We heard that the Saga hotel has 80% return rate from their guests and we can understand why. Include us in that number now.

The Saga could be closer to the action in the town but it’s got everything including a great roof bar. The plus side is no noisy traffic and very safe for kids. Our children played with George who is Zefi & Takis son and they enjoyed the farm and the animals. We enjoyed the farm produce and their own wine.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

We visited Saga in early May primarily to attend a family event with Zefi & Takis but also to re-aquaint ourselves with Poros - an island that we are simpy 'in love' with. It seems to get a bit of bad press in Greek Island guidebooks and what is said does not do justice at all to the beauty of this island. The minute we get off the ferry and have our first drink with Thanasis at the Asteria bar we feel at home. However, what makes this island truly special are Zefi & Takis. If you stay at another establishment you may never discover how wonderful this island really is. This couple have the knack of making everyone feel special and part of the family. The distinction between guest and hotelier is blurred to the point that we now (after four visits) consider them to be personal friends. Their hospitality is second to none. On top of this, Zefi is a wonderful cook and Takis makes exceptional organic wine (no hangovers!) - it doesn't get better than this! They are striving to improve the premises year on year and the extended pool area and roof top bar have made an already lovely small hotel even better. The barbeque nights are legendary. You will also meet an interesting aray of locals, ex-pats and returned guests (Zefi has an 80% return rate - Europeans, Americans and Greeks - which speaks for itself). All are friendly and helpful and want you to love Poros and Saga as much as they do.

If you hire a quad bike, scooter or car you will be able to explore more of the island and will find wonderful beaches. Some are pebble, some are sand but all share the same things - great views and fantastic swimming. The nightlife is wantever you want it to be - intimate dinners in local tavernas, chatting and drinking in the local bars or more energetic activities in the clubs - it has it all. The tavernas are friendly and you will find something for all tastes - specialists in meat or in fish and seafood, 'buzzing' on the extended 'front' or more secluded up in the old town.

This is a really lovely island and we have already booked to return in August and the following Easter - we would not consider staying anywhere other than Saga and higly recommend that you do the same. As far as we are concerned Poros is the 'Jewel' in the Saronic Gulf and has managed to retain it authenticity and value for money. If you like to stay in large corporate style hotels with a miriad of organised activities than Saga is not the place for you but it you want to discover a true taste of Poros island and get to know it's people, than please give it a chance and just 'go with the flow' - I think you will be very glad you did.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomond_ennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2008

Brillant family hotel, lovely big rooms with view of the bay and great swimming pool. Best of all Zepha, the nicest most helpful person you could hope to find.

  • Liked — The environment
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AMMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2008

This was our second trip to Poros this year (two weeks this trip) and we stayed at the Hotel Saga both times - we would not consider staying anywhere else! From the time we walked out of the airport to find Captain Dave waiting to take us to the hotel (we had arranged the transportation with Zefi ahead of time) to the time we got on the ferry to return we felt like we were family! Zefi and Takis go out of their way to make every guest comfortable and arrange anything you ask for - if at all possible!

When we were there in May (see our earlier review) Zefi's Kitchen had not opened yet and the barbecues had not started. She is an awesome cook and we highly recommend the Mousakka, Pasticcio, and her special beef burgers. All excellent and hard to say which was the best!!!! The night before we left they had a barbecue in the Roof Garden - it is hard to come up with the words to describe it - amazing views of Poros, stars you would never believe, outstanding food, and the best part was the feeling that you were part of a large family!!! They are the best!!!

This trip also gave us some time to really get to know Captain Dave - he does a lot of different things when he is there to help out - tends bar, loads the coolers, escorted us out to Zefi and Takis' farm - he on his scooter, us on our quad - and just about anything they ask him to do. He is a really great guy so if he is there when you are please tell him the couple from San Francisco said hello!

Wine - Takis makes an awesome collection of wine. We primarily drank the white but did also try the red. A lot of people drank the Rose but we never did give it a try. The wine, like everything at Saga, is outstanding! And, no hangovers.

Bottom line - if you want a great place to stay - friendly staff, clean rooms and hotel, great food, and the treatment you get from Zefi and Takis - the Hotel Saga is the place for you!

  • Liked — Zefi and Takis!
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GreeceLoverDublinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Saga Hotel for 4 nights as part of our 10 day Greece trip for our 10th anniversary. This was our first trip to Europe so we really don't have much to compare to when it comes to European hotels.

When we travel, we're not really in the room much. We'd rather be out and about exploring the area, so we did our research and weren't expecting a luxurious hotel.

We really enjoyed staying at the Saga Hotel. The location was perfect, less than a 10 minute walk to Poros Town and the view was beautiful. Takis and Zefi were very friendly and welcoming. They set up a nice breakfast each morning, but other than breakfast, we didn't eat there. The pool looked nice and they were expanding the lounge area.

The room was comfortable and clean. There was a little kitchenette area and plenty of space. The bathroom was small, but sufficient.

We took day trips to Hydra and Aegina, so we really just used Poros as our base. Other than sleeping there, we weren't at the hotel much. It was perfect for what we needed.

  • Liked — The location and view
  • Disliked — The small bathroom
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitkat_9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2007

Once again we stayed with Takis, Zefi and their marvelous new helpers, Doros and Dorina and met up with some of the regulars we have got to know. The weather was as hot as the welcome as usual and this is the nice thing about this hotel and the island, you can relax and forget the big bad world out there.
We always enjoy our snacks by the pool (the sun lounger area was being extended when we stayed - we forgive them the disruption! ) and Spiro's taverna nearby with tables beside the sea is great for late evening meals.
Every year there is something improved at the hotel, but thankfully the welcome stays the same.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — showers need renewing
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank C2FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poros hotels
0.5 mi away
New Aegli Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Xenia Poros Image Hotel
0.7 mi away
7 Brothers Hotel
7 Brothers Hotel
#1 of 14 in Poros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Golden View Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dimitra Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Manessi City Hotel
Manessi City Hotel
#5 of 14 in Poros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Hotel Studios & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Hotel Studios & Apartments

Property: Saga Hotel Studios & Apartments
Address: 180 20 , Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Poros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Poros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Saga Hotel Studios & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy family run hotel with excellent service and breathtaking views - a real home from home. All of our comfortable rooms are equipped with modern facilities (including a fridge and a kettle) and offer well appointed ensuite bathrooms. We are located in the heart of Poros, only a short 3 minute walk to the nearest beach and about a 10 minute walk into Poros town. We offer free wireless internet in all areas. A varied buffet breakfast is available every morning in the dining room. Delicious homemade snacks, smoothies, drinks, cocktails and ice cream are served at the pool bar. The roof bar offers one of the best views in the area. You can enjoy a drink or a cocktail in the evening while enjoying the stunning view. The friendly atmosphere at Saga combined with the beauty of the Poros island will make your stay here unforgettable! We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Saga Hotel Studios & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saga Hotel, Studios & Apartments Hotel Poros
Saga Hotel, Studios And Apartments
Saga Hotel Poros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing