We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful! My worst hotel experience. Would never go back.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Christina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Christina
Ranked #69 of 120 Skiathos B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awful! My worst hotel experience. Would never go back.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is suppose to be a four star hotel.

We chose this hotel after talking with a travel agent that recommended the hotel.
The revues in trip advisor also made us feel that we would enjoy he hotel.

When we arrived at noon / 1 pm and had to wait for two hours before we got our room. After one hour they let us put in our luggage in the room and we could chance to some other clothes. So we did and left for the closest beach.

The room was disappointing. Dirty. Old. Unpractical solutions. It was suppose to be an apartment, but it was a small bedroom with a freezer and a sink. There was no couch just one old uncomfortable chair. It was so small it was hard to find a place to put two suitcases. The bed was very hard. Didn't like the sheets.

The housekeeping didn't clean our glasses or plates during the week and they changed towels two or three times. Four star treatment?

The bathroom was very small! If it hadn't been for the cut they made in the bathroom door you couldn't even close the door. We also had dirty water from the pipes for three days during our stay.

There where two dogs running around in the hotel. The big one was tied up near our door and it jumped me two times during our stay (it just wanted to play) and the small one was loose (and cute and friendly). I love dogs, but I think it's strange that the owners dogs run around like that.

When you stay at this hotel you need to walk a lot or take a lot of taxi or rent a car. Everything is far away. The beach. The city. Restaurants. We chose taxi since the 1000 meter walk down the hill to the road is kind of heavy in the heat. You could walk down and take a bus but if the bus is full it doesn't stop. So we uses around 60 € in taxi every day.

The worst experience with this hotel was the total lack of genuine service! I think it's one family that run the hotel. There was no reseption just a bar where you constantly had to look for someone if you needed something. I don't know how to explain it but I felt unwelcome and one guy working there was kind of arrogance. The only staff I liked was the blonde lady who worked during breakfast. She smiled and was friendly. We also appreciated that they called for us since it was hard to order it from our phones (don't understand greek).

The pool looks pretty and it is so we got exited when we arrived there, but don't let that fool you. I would NEVER go back to this hotel. Not even for a free hotel stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelingDarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    20
    12
    7
    9
See reviews for
22
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Accommodation was far more beautiful than what we expected, and our host was always there to help us. The beaches are near, but still, there's a lot to be seen, so it's better for you to have a car.
The only down side of rooms are stiff beds, and small pillows, but that doesn't necessarily bother everyone. :)
If we come to Skiathos again, we will definitely come to Villa Christina again. The nature around it is amazing, and it is very quiet and private. WE LOVED IT!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Stayed for two weeks in June 2011 and agree totally with everything brianavis 1 said. We had exactly the same experience. At first we were greeted with friendliness but that all changed when we dared to complain that our meal which we had waited over an hour for was cold! Although we got a free drink and he offered to make us something else to eat, at 9.15 in the evening and having a two year old with us, it was just far too late. Thereafter we were not the most favoured guests and it was like we were in the way. The sister did not speak to anyone the whole two weeks we were there! The grounds are beautiful and very peaceful but there is a sheer drop from the swimming pool to the ground of about a metre which is not fenced off so very dangerous for small children. Skiathos is a lovely island and I would come back again but not to stay at Christina.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get allocated a room in the old block. They are far less superior having stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gillyrOse-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We went to the Christina Apartments on the reviews on this site. This was our first visit to Skiathos. We had been to Turkey for the past two years so this island had a lot to live upto because we love Turkey but thought we would give Skiathos a go.... After arriving at the Christina by taxi we were pleasantly surprised to find the setting and gardens well laid out with the pool and bar. The manager ??? (still don't know if he was the owner or not).. greeted us as we arrived and showed us to our rooms. He was very accomodating when my husband and I asked to change rooms. There were hardly any guests after a few days so we virtually had the place to ourselves with another few couples.The Greek family owners?? live on site who run the complex and THEY ARGUE VERY LOUDLY especially the sister to the one who runs the site!!!..which got to be a problem... We felt we were in the way and they didn't want us there. The breakfast dwindled to just toast and cereal (Rice Krispies only) by the end of the fortnight and had to ask all the time for eggs and fruit . The apartments were very clean and furnished really well. You really need a car because it's a long walk up the hill every day in the heat from the bus stop.We loved the beaches and the restaurants are really good...
We felt the customer service left a lot to be desired on the site .. we would go back to Skiathos though so would try somewhere else to stay

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank julesathome53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Location of this extra-ordinary accomodation is perfect! So nice, so quiet, so friendly, so relaxing, so green pine forest arround....so many superlative so!
Truly, you will need some transportation (car, bike - very cheap rental rate!!!) 'cause Villa is a 900m from main road and bus station, but that peace of your soul and mind in Villa Christina is priceless. However, Villa Christina has access (approx. 400-500 m) to three beaches (Vromolimnos, Kanapitsa or Nostos and small beach Diamanti). Milto and Maria - thanks for your warm hospitality and help.
Apartments are very spacious, clean, with private balcon, well equiped kitchen. I saw a deluxe double aparments which are very exclusive.
Villa Christina - highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Aparments in separate small houses are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BelgradeSale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Stayed 2 weeks in a 2 bedroom appartment at Villa Christina and loved it. The location is beautiful, surrounded by pine forest but still having a sea view. It is very peaceful and quiet with well maintained gardens. The pool is big and very clean with enough sun beds and umbrellas. There are 2 beaches very close but the paths are quite steep and rough so you need to be fit. There is a supermarket (which delivers your shopping to your appartment), restaurants and the bus stop within walking distance as long as you do not have any mobility problems. The bus is often full when it arrives especially in the evening so I would advise hiring a car to make life easier. It also means you can get to the beautiful beaches on the north coast of the island which are not accessible by public transport. Elias beach was our favourite. Skiathos Town is really lovely at night and the atmosphere is very greek - not a MacDonalds or Starbucks in sight which is so refreshing! I would recommend Skiathos and especially Villa Christina to anyone looking for a really relaxing holiday in a beautiful environment with friendly and welcoming owners and staff.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jane301257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgrade
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

Great service and accomodation, beautifull villa with large swimming pool and more beautifull garden, landscape that hold your breath and most important excelent hospitality from the owner... no words to say and describe how wonderfull vacation me and my fiance had this july!! This is deffinitelly the place we wont to visit again, and I hope it will happen as soon as possible.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pcelicamaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
1.7 mi away
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
#45 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plaza Skiathos Hotel
Plaza Skiathos Hotel
#53 of 88 in Skiathos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Skiathos Blu Hotel
Skiathos Blu Hotel
#3 of 14 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.0 mi away
Magic Hotel
Magic Hotel
#3 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Miltos
Villa Miltos
#5 of 18 in Kolios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Christina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Christina

Property: Villa Christina
Address: Vromolimnos, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Christina 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Christina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing