We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good trip”
Review of Il Kastro

Il Kastro
Ranked #6 of 70 things to do in Skiathos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
lancashire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good trip”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Great to go and see and to climb brilliant view on ruins, good history ,if you make the climb, sheer determination for me it's worth it

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank happydougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    119
    23
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Stunning views and interesting local history”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I think we were expecting a bit of a ruin but were surprised to find the remains of an old fortified town with information helping us to understand what we were looking at. Fabulous location with stunning views and being there in May we enjoyed spring flowers, butterflies etc. Beautiful.
Car parking available quite a long way down the steep road but if you enjoy walking an enjoyable walk. Take water!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We drove our motorbike all the way (which we later realised, wasn't supposed to be done)... and then walked down the cliff and had the best swim ever... it's best enjoyed when the tourists leave by boat and you can have that lovely beach all to yourself!

Would I go again? Defo!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
500 reviews
356 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We hired a jeep as recommended on the Skiathos forum to tackle all the roads/tracks off the main bus route. We also bought a superb map showing all tracks and drove along most of them during our three days of exploring. Our first trip was to Kastro, unfortunately arriving at the same time as a trip boat but after an hour they had departed so we had the place to ourselves and could explore at our pace. We were probably there 2 hours exploring the four churches and looking at the views and with only two or three other couples up there, we enjoyed the peace it offered.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“early morning treat”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Kastro is the ancient Skiathos capital it is reached by either boat, organised coach trip, or by far the most pleasurable from a personal point of view by car either with invited friends or alone.
and early in the day .Why?around 9- 10 in the morning the sense of tranquility and quiet peace is almost touchable. There are 6 chapels all in perfect order and the remains of a Mosque, evidence of the Ottoman rule centuries before . It is not for the physically unpaired the hike up to the top of Kastro is not for the faint hearted but but for those able it is an early morning treat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Kastro also viewed

 

Been to Il Kastro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing