We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Beach and Beautiful Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Skiathos Hotel
Ranked #60 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed in Skiathos for the first time, Plaza was recommended to us and we were not disappointed. Our room was on the third floor at the front of the hotel with breathtaking views. The rooms are cleaned everyday, fresh towels and the hotel staff very friendly and helpful. The beach taverna is approx 100 metres walk, serves fabulous food and situated in an idyllic setting. The buffet breakfast offered a variety of choice and it was very nice, some people complained because it did not offer a full English ( you are in Greece remember). Wi Fi is 5€ for 90 minutes. A/c in room. Safe in reception at a cost. It is suitable for families with young children if you want a pool/beach holiday, not much else to entertain the little ones. The one point to mention is the 600m walk to the bus stop 12. Alternatively you can pick up the taxi boat from the beach to Skiathos town for 3€ each way, children travel free. Overall we would recommend staying here based on our experience and would definitely go back. We had a memorable happy holiday here.

Room Tip: Email the hotel before you go and request a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gizzies26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here towards the end of August into September for a week.
Hotel mini bus picks you up from the airport which is very handy.Hotel reception staff were pleasant and we got straight to our room..There is a lift if needed.We paid extra for balcony,a/c and sea view , and it was worth it.There is a block of rooms towards the back of the hotel but apparently they are basic so pay the extra few pounds to be at the front.
Rooms were nicely done and uncluttered. Good bathrooms and of course the balcony and view.
Fridge , tv as standard.
Breakfast is on the 4 th floor with a lovely view of the sea.Its a self serve situation but that works fine and you can make repeat visits to obtain more if you need it.
The rooms are serviced every day with towels changed daily and beds changed every couple of days
There is a restaurant on site which we tried and it was very good and at a good price.The staff are an asset to the hotel and people revisit this hotel many times.

If you walk out of the hotel and cross the quiet road in front of you it takes less than a few minutes to reach the sea.Plenty of sun loungers to rent and a lovely taverna for drinks and meals served all day. We had a couple of evening meals and they were good.The water laps right up just below your feet, making it very special
Water sports in the bay too.

The water taxi goes from here and it costs 3€ one way into Skiathos town. It takes about 20 mins but is a lovely way to get to the shops etc

it is about a 15 min walk to the main road to get the bus that goes along the coast.it is very cheap and a great way to get to other beaches.The stops are numbered 1-26 so its a good service to use even at night.There is a supermarket and another restaurant along the road as well.

I think to summarise .Although the hotel is only 3 stars it is in an ideal location with easy access to town via bus or water taxi.
Great beaches nearby.Everyone is very friendly on the island and of course the hotel staff.
Well worth a visit and I'm sure we will return.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view it only costs a few extra ££.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Plaza three years ago and wrote an excellent review on this hotel but what a difference this year. It's evident the hotel has not been maintained and looked tired. Although the location is great with beautiful views if you pay the extra for a sea view is wonderful.

For some reason they have put netting around the pool which spoils the pool area and the pool also had lime scale around the inside which put me off having a daily dip! What a shame as the hotel could be a real gem with a little tlc.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jo_howes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We had an amaizing time during this 8 day holiday at the Plaza Hotel.
The personal is friendly and the location is clean. The cleaning lady did a daily cleaning in room and the towels were changed twice.
The hotel is situated in a very quiet place near the Kanapitsa beach and near the city center and some of the best beaches. If you don't want to rent a car you have acces to a bus line that passes every 15 minutes. It is true that to acces the bus you have to take a walk of about 10 minutes.
Overall, if you want a quiet, relaxing holiday far from the city noises I totally recommend you this hotel.
Next year we are looking forward to have another holiday at The Plaza.
Thanks for the beaitiful days.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andreibetivu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

It was probably my mistake trusting Thomson (Neilson have always looked after us brilliantly) when they said this place would suit us especialluy as I explained that because my husband is blind we really needed a ground floor room. We are in our late forties with a teenage daughter & although we travel at a good standard a lot were willing to do a bit of a budget trip as we were visiting friends. Sadly Thomson did not let us know that there is only a small part of the hotel that has been recently re-furbished; we were in the block at the back which is 2 star AT BEST! Grotty, grotty bathroom with dribbly hand shower, common parts had filthy threadbare carpets; breakfast was inside on the top floor of the main block - more canteen than buffet or anything else - noisy with weak coffee, tinned fruit, greasy cooked stuff....
Pool is small and edges are surrounded in netting; WiFi is charged for (and did not work); no safe in room although there are saftey deposit boxes at reception (for a charge of course); beach is a mere strip & I can't imagine any family spending a whole day there. Only redeeming feature was that the taverna in front is reasonable. Best decision of the holiday was to check out ASAP and into a decent place (Kassandra Bay)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LauraH351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We first stayed at The Plaza 18 years ago and loved it then. We have been to Skiathos since and found we kept returning to Kanapitsa for the beach and scenery so we decided to try the Plaza again. So glad we did. This time we had children with us (13 and 10). We had adjoining rooms with a connecting door (311 and 311a). Booking directly with the hotel was simple and reception staff so helpful. Could understand that we are used to paying for the hotel before we went! Balance is paid on leaving. The rooms we had were a double and two singles with new wet room showers. The maid cleaned them daily, made the beds, changed towels etc. Breakfast was nice although some things like croissants stopped ariving towards the end of our stay. Resturant staff were very helpful especially Agela (such a lovely person). Pool and garden was spotless and poolf filters were thoroughly changed each evening. Bar staff Dana and Panos were superb!! and great with the kids. The evening meal we had here was amongst the best food we had, moussaka and mixed grill cooked by 'Shakira'.
Water taxi from beach opposite.
To sum up - lovely family hotel, great staff, great location and close to all facilities. What more do you want? We will definately return unless the hotel changes.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TH1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My husband snd I stayed once again in July at this lovely hotel. It is in a wonderful location - so tranquil, with wonderful views. We love visiting Skiathos and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and the transfer to and from the airport in the hotel minibus makes the journey very easy.
The hotel, rooms and grounds are kept immaculately clean and tidy and the rooms, although a little small, are well-appointed with efficient air-conditioning, fridge and tv. We once again had a room in the main block with wonderful sea views and an updated bathroom which had a walk in, powerful shower.
The rooftop breakfast room offers fantastic views of the bay and the food on offer was delicious. We particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit with greek yoghurt and honey.
We ate in the hotel taverna on one occasion and enjoyed our meal very much. We also enjoyed dining at the Kanapitsa taverna on the beach both lunchtime and in the evening (it is open until late). You can sit by candlelight about three feet from the sea and enjoy delicious traditional greek food. Again, the staff there are very pleasant and welcoming and the prices are very reasonable.
We took the water taxi from the beach into Skiathos town several times and it's lovely to wander about the streets of the old port, browsing the shops and deciding where to dine. You are spoilt for choice with some wonderful tavernas offering excellent food. We have some favourites which include Dionyssos (where live greek music is performed every night) and also the Windmill for the fabulous food and wonderful views. A special mention also for the Final step. Again, the food is outstanding and the restaurant has lovely views over the new port. We enjoyed it so much we dined there two nights in a row. Pam, who runs the restaurant, really cares about pleasing her customers, and the hospitality and quality of the food and service was excellent.
We usually get the water taxi back to the hotel, but if staying late in town the taxis are plentiful and fairly cheap. (We paid 12 euros).
I would highly recommend this hotel and we will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: A room on a high floor in the main block have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank holidaylover003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.3 mi away
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
#54 of 84 in Skiathos
308 reviews
2.9 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,160 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#12 of 13 in Skiathos Town
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
#28 of 84 in Skiathos
109 reviews
1.3 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
978 reviews
1.3 mi away
Magic Hotel
Magic Hotel
#3 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Skiathos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Skiathos Hotel

Address: Kanapitsa Bay, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Price Range: £38 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Skiathos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Plaza Skiathos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Skiathos
Skiathos Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing