We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“have I been in a different hotel from the other people who have added reviews ?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alkyon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alkyon
Ranked #42 of 88 Hotels in Skiathos
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“have I been in a different hotel from the other people who have added reviews ?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

we were given a room down the dungeons of the hotel. There were high walls with no windows only 2 rows of glass tiles to give light.. It was like walking along the "green mile"

The room was very tired and needed upgraded. The bathroom was in great condition but the edge of the tiles hadnt been finished off,

There wa no balcony as such just a concrete area with 2 plastic chairs and an old table. There was a sunbed provided in addition but you didnt get any sun after lunchtime because of the high wall,

There was only on power point in the room and the telephone point had a paper hanky and tape over it so it would work.

You didnt need to switch your tv on as you could hear the one next door thro the paper thin walls.

There was also a strong smell from the drains in the morning and at night which we were told they were dealing with.

Breakfast was on the 4th floor and we waited an eternity for the lift which didnt come so we had to climb the stairs. With a fractured ankle that wasnt easy ! Dont know why i bothered as the breakfast was never that appealing.

As a result of the above most of our time was spent outside the hotel tho not at the postage stamp they called a swimming pool as the same people had their towels on the chairs at the crack of dawn.

I must say tho that the reception staff were always very approachable and helpful. I would never reccommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: make sure it is not in the alkyon hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank notahappychappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    134
    88
    40
    42
See reviews for
51
233
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We have just come back from 3 weeks staying at the wonderful Alkyon hotel, our 11th time!. It is unique in it's location,and family orientated approach to their guests. KiKi and Angela are beautiful people both in their hearts and appearance! They will do anything to ensure our holiday is the best it can be. The roof top restaurant with it's beautiful views is enhanced further by the excellent buffet dinners at incredibly good prices. Hotels usually are inclined to overcharge their guests for drinks and food etc, but here at the Alkyon with Kiki, Angela and Nikos, they will give rather than take. They really are immensely generous people who give me faith in the kindness of humanity! I cannot really find words efficient enough to praise this delightful and still very Greek establishment, with caring and helpful staff, and excellent cleanliness. We appreciate life and good people, and we thank the Alkyon again for giving us joy and love with all it provides. Thank you Agapimou, karthiamou enai to eethio. See you next year. XXXXX

Room Tip: Higher floors are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holiday186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seaside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

My husband and I spent a week at the beautiful Alkyon Hotel from the 19th June until the 26th.
Our holiday was magical from start to finish. I now understand the meaning of "halcyon days"
when the kingfisher laid eggs to calm the sea at winter solstice. As stated in previous reviews
the position of the hotel is perfect as is the view from the balcony at breakfast.
If there is a downside it's only that the town doesn't have it's own beach but take a water taxi
from the harbour or a local bus from just round the corner.
We didn't eat in the hotel apart from breakfast. However we heard that the evening meals were
good. Just turn left from the hotel to find fab restaurants on the waters edge where we never had a bad meal.
If I say too many nice things about the Alkyon we might not find vacancies for next year!!
I must mention the lovely Anthi who was always smiling and forever helpful. Thankyou so much
for you company. (trish) Thanks also go to Nikos the perfect gentleman who had the patience
to listen to my efforts at speaking Greek. Hope to return.
A mention also to Alex who was always smiling when serving drinks. Praise must also go to
the cleaning ladies who did a wonderful job in extreme heat.
We would like to send our best wishes for the remainder for the season. If I can find your E mail address will keep in touch.
Thanks again.

Room Tip: Not the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etchingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

There is much comment here about rooms in this hotel - the simple fact is that we would all like to have a room with a harbour view, well, that IS possible but the hotel will charge you 20 euros extra per day to have it. My advice is - if you want it, then pay for it because the experience of opening your patio or balcony doors and seeing that lovely view is worth it and you will have a different holiday experience as a result. Lets face it, they only have 8 or so rooms on the front so they are going to charge like everyone else does, e.g. extra legroom on the plane for £20 or £30! If you have one of these sea views then believe me you wont be so bothered about a restaurant with the same view so go further inland and get a better meal! Downside of course is that it tends to be a bit noisier especially as the youngsters walk by to the bars at midnight and stagger back a few hours later (some happy and some badtempered!). Breakfast basic but handy all the same. Mattresses are very hard. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Take plenty of cash - they don't like card payments at the moment....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We've just got back from staying at the Alkyon for a week. The first room we were put in wasn't very nice (bathroom). We were immediately changed to another. There is air conditioning which was very welcome. The reception/bar area is very nice, as is the swimming pool area. The only thing I would say about the swimming pool is that it's not suitable for small children unless they are with an adult - the shallow end is about 5 feet deep!! All the staff are friendly. Breakfast was simple - cereals, fruit, ham, cheese, scrambled egg, bacon, bread etc. This hotel is in such a good location, right next to tavernas along the waterside, 5 minute walk to more tavernas and shops, bus stop around the corner (very good bus service to all the beaches). All in all, a visit to Skiathos is a definite YES!! The only downside really, is the sewerage system (not very good) but ignore that!!! We would go back next week if we could :-D

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a new bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

what a view from the breakfast terrace, the staff are lovely, the pool is very welcoming in the skiathos heat, the bar snacks keep you going til dinner, the only thing we would say is the décor, spotlessly clean but a little tired, if you are going here and you like your early morning cuppa take a kettle, the only thing lacking from an otherwise good stay

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Probably the best located hotel in Skiathos Town, 10 mins transfer from airport & 2 mins from harbour, tavernas, shops etc. Spotlessly clean, reasonable bar prices & menu. 24hr reception (eyup Kiki) we've stayed in budget accommodation here (Blue Dolphin studios) and upmarket (La Piscine art) all were fine, but this is a great halfway house. If I had one criticism, it would be that breakfast needs some attention to detail, but it is served on the roof , which has fantastic views over the town & harbour and a troop of tame sparrows. Enjoyed our stay very much & we'll be back.

Room Tip: Top floor is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deano1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.4 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thymi's Home Hotel
Thymi's Home Hotel
#5 of 14 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Orsa
Hotel Villa Orsa
#34 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#13 of 14 in Skiathos Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#12 of 14 in Skiathos Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
#51 of 88 in Skiathos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alkyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alkyon

Property: Hotel Alkyon
Address: Skiathos Island, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 88 Hotels in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alkyon 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Alkyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing