We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Julie and colin”
Review of Hotel Alkyon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alkyon
Ranked #45 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Well i prepared myself to be dissapointed but im pleasantly surprised ! I have been coming back and for to skiathos for 30 years i love the place, i like to stay in town its got everything , position wise the alkyon is in a superb location its overlooking the harbour, staff were all very helpful, our room was spotless, sheets and towels regularly changed, we were in room 321 brand new re furbished bathroom and all new bedding ! Cant fault it, pool clean and gardens well tended, breakfast a bit same old but its not five star and for the money its alright, i would definately stay in the alkyon again xx

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alkyon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

To return to my recurring theme - the staff should establish a hotel's star rating - at the Alkyon they are 5*. In a great location overlooking and close to the New Port of Skiathos town and only metres from the Limanaki, of which more later. The public areas are spacious and comfortable and arranged over two floors with a bar, outside lounge area and a swimming pool in a sheltered spot. The top floor terrace and dining room enjoy lovely views. My bedroom was clean and basic with a side facing balcony but with a modern, well fitted and fully tiled shower room. Aircon and Flat screen TV of course. Owing to the huge range of Tavernas and Restaurants, many within easy walking distance the majority of guests stay on a B&B basis, if you choose to stay put there is an extensive light meal and snack menu available virtually all day.
I really enjoyed my fortnight's stay and when returning to Skiathos it will be to the Alkyon which I believe gives great value for money

Room Tip: Ideally to the front of the hotel, overlooking the sea
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BirthdayBoy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks in September, which is towards the season,so the town and the hotel were not at full capacity.All the better for that. The hotel does not claim to be5× but what it provides it does well.The staff are welcoming ,friendly and knowledgeable about the island.The public areas are smart and pleasantly air conditioned.The rooms are light and airy with a broad balcony overlooking the well tended gardens. However the bathroom left a lot to be desired,it appeared to be the original from the hotel's early days. The tiles are partly missing the bath is broken and rusted there was 1plug for all 3 items. In England it would be condemned:such a shame for such a popular hotel.Nevertheless I would still return, if only to see if things have changed.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank Jeffery B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

stayed at the alkyon in September, found the staff at the hotel very friendly and helpful,, our room was on the top floor with side sea view, was very clean and recently refurbished, towels changed daily, rooms on the ground floor are very dark and not yet refurbished, breakfast is rather boring,people complained as no toaster. would stay here again on a visit to skiathos as very convenient for every thing.

Room Tip: ask for upper floor.side sea view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christopher w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We we're put in a room on the side same floor as reception. Bathroom old and stained but you could tell it was cleaned but the room smelled of sewage. We had to pay 120 euros to upgrade to next floor sea view, not a good start to holiday. Upgrade room was fine but be warned if you book package holiday you don't get a sea view without paying upgrade no matter what travel company says. Breakfasts exactly same every day except it alternates between little sausages or bacon, rest the same, and fruit with yoghurt is tinned fruit cocktail...not. Dry appetising. Small pool nice and clean but music played quite loud all day. Not a problem to us as we went out all day and only came back at night. Hotel is kept very clean, staff ok although would not say massively friendly. Cleaning staff were friendly. Location excellent, if they upgraded the rest of their rooms and tried a bit more with breakfast this place would be a gold mine. That aside if you want a holiday with beautiful beaches lovely places to eat (especially in the old port area) and a nice relax go to skiathos...just don't book into the alkyon. If it helps go to Avis and hire a quad bike travel round the ore side of the island where you will find loads of uncluttered beaches and great little tavernas. If you like beaches with music etc the regular bus service will drop off several along the route. Skiathos is a great place to relax.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at the Alkyon from 25th September to 2nd October. We arrived and were greeted
by the staff with smiles and they turned out to be great during our stay. The ladies on reception could not do enough for us, giving us information of what and where things were and other help. This was our first, but not our last visit to Skiathos. We are coming back for two weeks next year and hope to see all the friendly staff once more. See you all next year at the Alkyon.

Room Tip: e-mail before you go what room you would like.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lumlugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We return to this hotel every time now, having being coming to Skiathos for 13 years and staying in various places on the island until we stayed at the Alkyon 3 years ago for the first time. Since then we stay every June and September at the Alkyon. There is no better place to stay for the friendliest staff, best position on the island, great roof top dining area, so convenient to the shops, bus station, busy town center and lovely bars and restaurants, as well as the old and new port. It is so easy to get to the lovely beaches, by water taxi or bus, and we found that when we used to stay near a lovely beach we were always wanting to come into Skiathos town centre. So the position of the hotel is perfect! All the local people we have met have been so friendly and nice wherever we have stayed but the family that own the Alkyon and their staff are absolutely the lovliest people you can imagine. People don't tend to stay in their hotel room much when on holiday, only sleeping, and the beds are really comfortable with the softest white sheets ever. The rooms are cleaned every day and lovely new towels daily as well. The two barmen were great at making cocktails. and were always so helpful, and always making us laugh. We have made some really good friends by staying at the Alkyon. The evening meals, buffet style, and as much as you want were also excellent. There is a well stocked library where guests can leave their books which they have read, and take another etc and the swimming pool is just the right size. From the receptionist, bar staff, waiters, laundry staff, chef, and chamber maids, you couldn't wish for more happy and helpful people.

Room Tip: We find each room or floor has its own benifits, so we do not mind which room we get.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#13 of 13 in Skiathos Town
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
500 reviews
2.2 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#78 of 84 in Skiathos
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#1 of 1 in Katsarou
713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#12 of 13 in Skiathos Town
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Australia
Hotel Australia
#7 of 13 in Skiathos Town
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alkyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alkyon

Address: Skiathos Island, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Price Range: £32 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alkyon 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alkyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing