We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better”
Review of Hotel Alkyon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alkyon
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Mirfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Even better”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have just returned from our second stay at the alkyon hotel and was very pleased to see that the hotel has been modernised to a high standard the rooms are large with good storage space they are cleaned daily and towels changed daily the bathrooms are now lovely and modern a little strange that there is a lovey bath but no bath plug but that is our only complaint and easily remedied by a visit to the plumbers merchants the location is excellent as is situated at the end of the harbour and within easy reach of all the restaurants shops and the bus stop that enables easy access to the rest of the island the breakfast is very good with a choice of cooked or cold food and the icing on the cake is the view from the breakfast terrace which is lovely you can of course book a room at the front of the hotel for an extra charge that shares that lovely view yes we would recommend this hotel and will defiantly be back

Room Tip: If you want to spoil yourself book a room at the front the views are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    136
    88
    40
    41
See reviews for
52
234
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Lovely hotel representing very good value for money. Amazing views of the harbour from the roof terrace restaurant . Large spotlessly clean room with brand new fitted bathroom suite and lashings of hot water. Fresh crisp white sheets changed daily. Lovely sitting room and bar area. Very nice pool area . Smashing friendly staff. Looking forward to a return visit next year . Cant wait!!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the harbour view. It's well worth it. However the hotel is so well planned and sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

this is the second time I've stayed at the Alkyon September 2013 & May 2014 I recommend this hotel for the location being so near the bus stop for the numerous beaches all of which are worth exploring. The hotel staff are very helpful if you need advise on directions around the island. Don't worry about some of the reports about the bathrooms I've stayed on the third & fouth floor and all are new and spotless the even provide a hairdryer. There is plenty of space for all your holiday clothes all rooms have a big wardrobe and fridge. The breakfast is plenty to keep you going alternating between either sausages or bacon, the view from the breakfast area is stunning over looking the harbour. I love this hotel for the location being in the town is a plus

Room Tip: Stayed on the fourth floor room 420 overlooking apartments but you got the sun on the balcony at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Well i prepared myself to be dissapointed but im pleasantly surprised ! I have been coming back and for to skiathos for 30 years i love the place, i like to stay in town its got everything , position wise the alkyon is in a superb location its overlooking the harbour, staff were all very helpful, our room was spotless, sheets and towels regularly changed, we were in room 321 brand new re furbished bathroom and all new bedding ! Cant fault it, pool clean and gardens well tended, breakfast a bit same old but its not five star and for the money its alright, i would definately stay in the alkyon again xx

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

To return to my recurring theme - the staff should establish a hotel's star rating - at the Alkyon they are 5*. In a great location overlooking and close to the New Port of Skiathos town and only metres from the Limanaki, of which more later. The public areas are spacious and comfortable and arranged over two floors with a bar, outside lounge area and a swimming pool in a sheltered spot. The top floor terrace and dining room enjoy lovely views. My bedroom was clean and basic with a side facing balcony but with a modern, well fitted and fully tiled shower room. Aircon and Flat screen TV of course. Owing to the huge range of Tavernas and Restaurants, many within easy walking distance the majority of guests stay on a B&B basis, if you choose to stay put there is an extensive light meal and snack menu available virtually all day.
I really enjoyed my fortnight's stay and when returning to Skiathos it will be to the Alkyon which I believe gives great value for money

Room Tip: Ideally to the front of the hotel, overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BirthdayBoy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Osyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks in September, which is towards the season,so the town and the hotel were not at full capacity.All the better for that. The hotel does not claim to be5× but what it provides it does well.The staff are welcoming ,friendly and knowledgeable about the island.The public areas are smart and pleasantly air conditioned.The rooms are light and airy with a broad balcony overlooking the well tended gardens. However the bathroom left a lot to be desired,it appeared to be the original from the hotel's early days. The tiles are partly missing the bath is broken and rusted there was 1plug for all 3 items. In England it would be condemned:such a shame for such a popular hotel.Nevertheless I would still return, if only to see if things have changed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeffery B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

stayed at the alkyon in September, found the staff at the hotel very friendly and helpful,, our room was on the top floor with side sea view, was very clean and recently refurbished, towels changed daily, rooms on the ground floor are very dark and not yet refurbished, breakfast is rather boring,people complained as no toaster. would stay here again on a visit to skiathos as very convenient for every thing.

Room Tip: ask for upper floor.side sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christopher w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.4 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Orsa
Hotel Villa Orsa
#32 of 84 in Skiathos
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thymi's Home Hotel
Thymi's Home Hotel
#6 of 13 in Skiathos Town
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#78 of 84 in Skiathos
37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#13 of 13 in Skiathos Town
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meltemi
Hotel Meltemi
#79 of 84 in Skiathos
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alkyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alkyon

Property: Hotel Alkyon
Address: Skiathos Island, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alkyon 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alkyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing