We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but room 408!!!!!!”
Review of Hotel Alkyon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alkyon
Ranked #45 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Booked this last minute and we got a really bargain price as we have been to Skiathos before but stayed further along the island.We arrived at the hotel and first impressions are it as previous reviews a great location and a clean hotel with friendly staff.We were given room 408 and when we entered the room on the top floor to the side of the hotel it looked like a crime scene. The shower curtain was tatty and dirty and the shower unit only fit for a very small person when connected. There was a mix of different paint colours on the walls,telephone socket hanging off the wall and in all the room needed a complete refurbishment but the A/C was new and free. The breakfast was ok with coffee the usual paint stripper so bring your own as there is hot water and hot milk.The day rotates on small hot dog type sausages or fatty streaky bacon with scrambled eggs so bring some HP to mask the taste. Fresh bread,ham and cheese, croissants and jam look the better option or a good breakfast is 5 euro across the road.The hotel is near to the bus stop 1 and ideal to go to all the beaches on the island which we did as the hotel pool area is small and compact but you do go to Skiathos to see the beauty of its beaches and not to compare mosquito bites.There is noise at night from the nearby nightclubs which attract artists and this goes on till the early hours which you can hear in your room so if you are a light sleeper bring some ear plugs.We hope the development does not continue to the right of the hotel as more clubs will change this island and attract more of the younger party generation and not as it is currently a beautiful unspoilt haven. Restaurants there are plenty and great value with good food and we did not have a bad meal over the week so places like Sofia's and the Last Step in Skiathos Town worth a visit from our visit and other people we talked to. Overall we love the island and will be back as the beaches (Stop 10, Stop 15 with the two geese who come for bread,Stop 19 and Stop 24 then walk along the track through the forest to Mandraki) are superb and some of the best in the Greek islands. Would we stay at the Alkyon again well yes but hope its a different room but we only paid lest than £300 each for the week and it did the job we wanted it to do as a great base to see the island.

Room Tip: Avoid room 408
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CheshireVinoverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alkyon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hi all,
Back in our little paradise of a hotel again for the 4th time. Kiki once again excelled herself and arranged for the same room we had last year. Many thanks to her. Georgina on reception needs a special mention not only for her big smile but the pleasant way in which she and all of the staff treat their customers. Over the last few years the whole hotel has gone through a complete bathroom refurbishment from top to bottom. This hotel has got the best view by far in Skiathos town and continues as old as it is to go from strength to strength. We will now not even consider anywhere else to stay it is so convenient for every thing and we will be back there again next year that's for sure. A short walk across the road and there is the bus stop which will take you most places on the Island. All eating places are on your doorstep. 5 minutes walk and you are on the main Papadiamanti Street. Boats, Ferry Terminal, you are close to all of it.

Room Tip: E mail before you return visit, ask for a room on the 4th floor. Side sea view is good
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NormanR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just been to the Alkyon Hotel for one week.and completely fell in love with Skiathos
The hotel is in an excellent location on the edge of the town and we couldn't fault it in any way
The staff are so lovely and helpful especially Angeliki. It is right near the bus stop that takes you to 26 beautiful beaches for the price of 2 euros. 5 minutes walk to the town where there are lots of bars and restaurants. and 5 minutes to the harbour and lots of boat trips. we will definitely be back. we stayed on the 2nd floor, the same floor as the roof top restaurant which is to die for
The only thing wrong is that 7 days are not enough

Room Tip: we stayed in 410 which is overlooking the orchard with lemon and olive trees
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 408kathyk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just had another very enjoyable stay at the Alkyon Hotel Skiathos Town. Last year we stayed for two weeks at the end of August. This year we had two weeks from 4th June. We had room 402 on the top floor, it had a good side sea view and was just a short walk from the roof terrace, where breakfast can be enjoyed overlooking the harbour. The room was cleaned every day and the towels and bed linen were changed daily. As before all the staff provide a first class service,with a special mention to the very pleasant Kiki at the front desk, well done! Anyone interested in bar prices, a large Mythos is 3 euros, very good for a hotel. Hope to return next year.

Room Tip: Higher floors have best side sea view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank martynkhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just returned after 2 week stay at the Alkyon, and was pleasantly surprised after reading some reviews. This is a lovely hotel, very clean and all staff very pleasant, we did email before going asking to upgrade to a sea view room, this was 20 euros per night but well worth it. Our room was 306 and had plenty of wardrobe space, bathroom was absolutely fine clean towels every day, always lots of hot water.
Breakfast was more than adequate, with a choice of bacon or sausage, eggs, cheese etc yogurt with tinned fruit and honey. There is a lovely view from the breakfast terrace of the new Harbour.
The pool area though small is very clean and well cared for, plenty of beds chairs etc. there is wifi in the lounge, and bar area.
We will defiantly return, the only negative I could comment on was the loud thumping music played in the bar area at night, which stopped us from having a drink there when we came in . ( not the kind of music for the age group of the clientele )

Room Tip: Well worth the 20 euros for the sea view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanwManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

After a weeks stay at the alkyon Ihave certqainly fallen in love with Skiathos, The first room we were shown to was very tired and shabby , not at all what I expected, however we did pay another 1000 euros to be moved to a front terrace room , again tired but a lovely location , as the hotel was not even a quarter full I was saddened that they charged us so much to move rooms, on a positive note the hotel is in a pefect place in the old town the staff were delightful, and the food (ie pool snacks) could not be faulted, the ppol and sunbed area was very quiet, would we go back yes we would purely for the location and with different expectations, so close to the airport is great too as no time is wasted on transfers.

Room Tip: front room are fab for view over the sea and very green and lush
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobbimac19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We have just had a fantastic 2 week holiday at the Alkyon Hotel in Skiathos. Everything was perfect, the staff were always smiling, nothing was to much for them. The room was cleaned every day, with clean towels every day as well. We will be going back there again, hopefully will will get room 302 again as well

Room Tip: If anyone gets the chance, ask for room 302. It has the most fantastic view overlooking the new port
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#13 of 13 in Skiathos Town
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
497 reviews
2.2 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#78 of 84 in Skiathos
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thymi's Home Hotel
Thymi's Home Hotel
#8 of 13 in Skiathos Town
91 reviews
1.7 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#1 of 1 in Katsarou
712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#12 of 13 in Skiathos Town
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alkyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alkyon

Address: Skiathos Island, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Price Range: £32 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alkyon 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alkyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing