We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel run by the owner”
Review of Hotel Villa Orsa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Orsa
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This delightful hotel can be hard to find when you first arrive, so arrange to get picked up at the airport. They will get your bags from the point where the taxi stops to the hotel while you walk the rest of the way. Once in the hotel you will find it simple to get to and from the harbour. If you have a room with a veranda or balcony you will have a beautiful view of part of the harbour. The floors, stairway and bathrooms are made of marble! Orsa, whose family owns the hotel, was extremely helpful. With our arrivals and departures outside of normal hours she provided a room to change and use the toilet. Her sister Oriana who picked us up at the airport was also great. The breakfast garden under a grape vine bower is a marvellous spot to start the day.

You should be aware that beds in Greece are generally harder than one is accustomed to in North America.

We learned the first night that there are mosquitoes and midges in Greece. Close the windows at night and use the AC.

Exceptional value and service!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryKinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 14 night stay at the Hotel Orsa. We stayed in the room which is featured in the advert. The hotel was a traditional greek bed and breakfast hotel which is what we wanted. The rooms are basic but adequate. I found the shower, although hand held, had a really good pressure and a constant supply of hot water. The room was kept spotless and the sheets changed constantly. The staff were helpful and not intrusive. The view from the room was spectacular. The terrace for breakfast was pretty and was lovely having a morning coffee over looking the aegean sea in peaceful surroundings. The hotel was very near all amenities, although there are some steps to climb from the port. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel if you are looking for an authentic greek hotel in charming surroundings.

Room Tip: Request a room with a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We got a double room with one double bed , so small that really only two small adolescents who are extremely in love would maybe fit in. The room itself was too small to have us AND our two suit-cases ( very average size). It was extremely hot and the AC was not working,while trying to put it on it spilled water in one of our suitcases. The lady at the reception was a nervrack, hyding behind her desk.We never saw a manager , "he is busy".( but apparently not with his guests.) After a lot of turmoil we got a bigger and better room. My thanks to the Albanian lady cleaner who was our help and saviour in this place that I'll never visit again.
On checking out they look very surprised when you ask for a receipt....after paying several hundred Euros. Terrible mentality.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joostvandermeent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Stayed for a fortnight in July travelling with Sunvil Holidays. From the start the staff were very friendly and helpful and the flowers and champagne I'd arranged through the Heliotropio agency were there for us on arrival. We were in room 14 which had a small balcony but fantastic views over the islands and was a great place to spi a brandy and watch the boats come and go. The hotel itself is a fairly old building with few modern features so if you're looking for a Holiday Inn (and who would be?) then forget it. Breakfast simple but perfectly adequate and again with great views across to the islands.
Location was ideal, being only a five minute walk from the old port. Admittedly this was up some stairs but unless you've significant mobility issues then this shouldn't be a problem. Our luggage was dropped at the Heliotropio office at the harbour and they took it to the hotel for us. We also rented a scooter for the fortnight from Aegean Cars who are based in the Heliotropio offices. Cost around 200 euro for the fortnight and despite me manageing the break the brake handle I was only charged a very reasonable 15 euros to repair the damage.
Ate very well at Lo & La and the little fish restaurant next to the fish market in the old port. Also Scuna on the club strip was first class. Rarely paid more than 40 euro for two with wine.
Some great bars, including the piano bar (Norwegian with super live music) and Kentavros (quaint with the best music I've heard in a bar for a long time!). Avoid the Rock & Roll bar on the front unless you want to pay 7 euro for a small bottle of beer and also be told where you're allowed to sit. I think that some bars in Skiathos need to have a look at their prices!
Had a nice day on the yacht with Yiannis and his dog who can be found between the harbour and club strip.
I also have to praise Little Banana beach. Under no circumstances should this be confused with the seething noisey Big Banana. Albeit 90% nudist, the beach is lovely, peaceful and with a good little bar/taverna serving very reasonable food and drinks. To find, go onto Big Banana and turn right to scrabble over the rocks (not too difficult). It's about a 20 minute scooter ride but well worth it.
Finally a word about the shambles that is Viking Airways. Our flight from Manchester was delayed by something like 20 hours due to a technical fault. To be fair to Sunvil, they managed to get us on another flight going out just two hours later than the Viking flight. Coming back the Manchester flight was delayed/cancelled (still can't find out which) but again Sunvil managed to get us on the Bristol flight and then got us bussed up from Bristol resulting in a four hour delay. Motto: use Sunvil but not if they continue to use Viking for their flights!
Would certainly go back to Skiathos but perhaps a fortnight was bit too long and I'd probably do a week on Skopelos and a week on Skiathos next time!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shug358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Our extended family of eight stayed here because it was just around the corner from the relative we were visiting, a longtime Skiathos expat. We all liked it a lot. We found it to be very clean and extremely well maintained, with lots of marble fixtures. The one thing we did not like was the small open hand-held showers, which inevitably resulted in lots of water spilling onto the bathroom floor. But then, we are Americans unskilled in the art of showering at close quarters. We did not have balconies but had very nice views out over the water. It is a steep walk up from the harbor but that is what you have to pay for the views. It is just a short stroll down to the tavernas and a five minute walk back up. The hotel appears to be run by Germans. The reception lady, at any rate, was German. The breakfast was fine in a very nice outdoor setting overlooking the water. Cautions. No WiFi. No credit cards (I think, my father-in-law was paying) unless worked through your travel agent. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmgradon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I stayed at this pathetic "hostel" On Saturday on July 24th 2010. We came to Skiathos by boat and checked in at 10:00 pm. The reception was very unfriendly and the girl at the front desk did not even greet us. Anyways, we left our stuff at the room and went out to enjoy our night at the island. When we came back at the hotel at 3:00 and tried to make our bed (YES! there was only one sheet at the end of the bed) We discovered that the sheet was rough as SAND PAPER!!!!! On top of that it was filled with holes!!! ( I will provide pics in the next few days. Those sheets where at least 20 years old-undescribably rough and not even a DOG would sleep in them!
The next day, around 11am, we discovered that there was NO HOT WATER!
I called the forn desk and the lady spoke to me in broken greek, she said: "Let it run for 15 minutes"
After the 15 minutes passed, I called again and she said: "There is no hot water-The plummer is coming! I was stuned! She said there is nothing they can do about it....
After we checked out, I complained about the water and the sheets. HEr answer? "Thats how sheets are here!"
On top of all this we paid 80 EUROS for one night!!!
When we left, the woman at the front desk "Thanked" us in a cocky way! You draw your own conclusions...
Anyways, I am Greek and have travelled to most Greek Islands. Skiathos is a beautifull island but BY FAR THE WORST in services AND THE MOST EXPENSIVE ONE!!
People are horrible there and very unfriendly. Oh by the way, anyone feeling like paying 14 euros for a mojito on the beach???

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank satyros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Average equates to middle of the road B&B. Did not inform us but cash only, which could be inconvenient.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hobietim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.3 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#12 of 13 in Skiathos Town
55 reviews
3.0 mi away
Magic Hotel
Magic Hotel
#3 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lalaria
Hotel Lalaria
#65 of 84 in Skiathos
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Piscine Art Hotel
La Piscine Art Hotel
#2 of 84 in Skiathos
723 reviews
3.1 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Orsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Orsa

Address: 37002, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Price Range: £55 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Orsa 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Orsa is a traditional hotel and a family business. Located in the old part of Skiathos town*, idyllically situated above the sea in the beautiful and quiet area of ''Plakes''. The decoration is dominated by high quality wood and marble influenced by Greek and local traditions. From 2012 Villa Orsa is under a new management, in a familial environment. *The old part of Skiathos town is inaccessible to cars and because of the cobbled streets it might be an issue for guests with special mobility needs. The hotel is reachable by bikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Villa Orsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orsa Hotel Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing