We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average equates to middle of the road...”
Review of Hotel Villa Orsa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Villa Orsa
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Average equates to middle of the road B&B. Did not inform us but cash only, which could be inconvenient.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hobietim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2010

Hard to locate, found by a friend.Steps up to hotel (37) very steep ,uneven ,not recomended if unfit.Toilet seat broken and not repaired (room4) shower head needed to be replaced.Beds comfortable for greece pillows ok.Staff very helpful when airport firecrews went on strike and we could not fly home, let us stay and helped with phonecalls etc.Holiday overall brilliant, but steps were hard work in the heat of the day.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jktimms2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We had booked the Hotel Orsa based on the pictures/views on the website and we were not disappointed. Lovely 2 star hotel (some reviews seem to expect 5 star facilities and miss the point re the star rating system) - clean spacious rooms, views were fantastic and only 50 metres from Skiathos old port. Breakfasts were simple and tasty and served on a beautiful terrace. The staff were great - friendly, helpful and couldn't be faulted. Would certainly go again

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jancarBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

This is our second visit to Skiathos in a year . The reason being is that we have chosen this beautiful island to be the venue of out wedding next month. It was on our first visit ,whilst sitting at the Plakes Taverna (our wedding venue A MUST) ,that we spotted the beautiful balconies of the ORSA with the most stunning view of the sea and the little islands. So we booked it for our second visit ! On our arrival we went through a beautiful garden upstairs to our room . A room was lovely ,rather than a modern characteless room , it had the feel of a Greek island room! . And then the view .....Breathtaking !

We loved sitting on the vine covered terrace for breakfast ,overlooking the sea ! And on our terrace at dusk with a bottle of wine ,before heading out !

It not only has the best view but also a superb location .Unlike our last hotel which was out of Skiathos town ,this is literally 5 Minutes down the steps , from the habour with all its lovely classy bars and taverns. Last year , when we stayed out of town ,everytime we wanted to go out in town we had to take a taxi ,which was expensive and not that easy ! Also you are 5 minutes from the water taxis which will in less than 10 minutes take you to lots of lovely beaches!

So we have recommend this to our wedding guests and we are staying in the honeymoon suite!! Can't wait to go back next month !!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taylor046London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

I booked this ¨¨Hotel¨¨ on the strength of its views too and requested a higher floor. When we arrived we too were met by the surly receptionist who told us that there were no rooms with balconies available(even although we had paid for one) until our second week and that the rooms on the top floor were for the hotels exclusive use and not for travel agency bookings!
Left with no choice we were put in room 8 on the first floor which did have a lovely sea view but no balcony.
We couldn´t believe it when all we could hear was a dog barking early every morning and don´t even think about a siesta as it continued to bark all evening too and it seems that no one knew how to close a door quietly as all you heard was slamming doors at all times.
The bathroom was falling to bits as was the shower head,after two days of walking about in a pool of water as the drainage was useless we had to dry it up using our used towels.However when we asked for fresh towels(on a sunday) we were told tomorrow,she relented when she saw my face and gave us towels which incidentally are ancient and it feels like you are rubbing yourself down with sandpaper.When we had a storm one night and it was quite chilly we stupidly used the blankets and next day were covered in flea bites.
When we complained to both the reception and our travel agency they sent the cleaner up to clean the room but the receptionist didnt even know what fleas were and tried to say it was caused by the greenery outside the hotel.Absolute rubbish ,the bed had dust bunnies under it the whole week we were in room 8.
After staying out as often as we could(rather than going for an afternoon rest) we were finally moved after a week to room 7 with a ¨¨balcony¨ if you can call it that it must have been about 2 feet long and was right in the corner of the hotel with a sea view if you leant out and looked left(see photos)I am sure she gave us the worst room in the ¨hotel ¨because we had complained to our travel agency.We heard other people asking to be moved and getting the standard reply about not being available for the travel agency bookings.
This dump of a ¨hotel¨is antiquated, shabby, rundown ,with staff who were just wanting to get the season finished.We were to have our cases picked up at 6pm but when we went out there was a note pinned on the wall(she was never there at reception)saying the hotel would be closing at 4pm so we had to then go along to the travel agency and advise them so they could pick them up earlier.
All in all not a good experience and i would not recommend anyone to book this place.Horrible ,Horrible Place ,the only thing it has going for it is the views but believe me you wouldnt want to spend anytime in your room looking at it!
I agree with the previous poster that Skiathos was much nicer the last time we visited before the ¨¨Mamma Mia ¨¨ hype which has only increased the prices of everything.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiosdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We have been to skiathos mnay times and had often wlaked past the Hotel Orsa and admired the beautiful old building and the brilliant location. So this year we booked a roo there for one week and specially requested a sea view. When we arrived we were shown our room and were very disappointed to be taken to a small room which - although having a sea view - was without a balcony. The receptionist - a very frosty young girl called Irania - showed us another room which was better - both larger and with a very large balcony - but then proceeded to tell us that it would be an extra 20 euros per night if we wanted it. We asked to speak with the manager to negotiate this amount but he works from a different office (heliotrope down by the port) so we ended up asking Irania to see if a reduction was possible. and took the bigger room. Surprise surprise he said no.
We really wanted to love this hotel - but the surly and rude Irania - who seemed to take a dislike to us from that point on - left us vowing never to return. Yes the breakfasts are boring - but we could have lived with that because the setting was gorgeous. Yes the beds are hard - but they are clean although when they "forgot" to give us clean sheets and towels ( and our neighbours too) Irania claimed not to know where the laundry cupboard keys were - (rubbish)
Finally - she insisted we pay her the day before checkout - as if hinting we might do a runner and then tried to give us no receipt (wonder why!!) and when we insisted gave us a hand printed - unreadable slip of paper.
Alongside all of this - Skaithos is not the same island it was 5 years ago. The plague of comercialism from Mama Mia and the poor euro rate means that you now pay west end prices for a thirld world product and I don't think we will be going back for a very long time.
Also - dont go the last week in Sept. All you will get is the island dismantling around you and a very lacklustre level of service all round.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frandevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Orsa is a basic hotel which is very clean and comfortable (I personally like a firm bed). I agree that a number of hotels in the town also have great views but generally these are interrupted by other buildings or are on the new harbour and do get some noise disturbance. Orsa is right on the cliff side of the Plakes, has (steep) steps down to the water and uninterrupted views of the sea and the two islands just outside the old harbour.

The room we stopped in (number 5) has a small balcony and a lovely view whilst lying in (the twin) bed(s), fully functioning (at no extra cost!) air conditioning, a fridge (for that all important cold Mythos after coming off the beach) and the usual hand held shower arrangement in the bathroom. We were there for a week and we had two linen and towel changes (knowing Greece we never expected that!) and the room was kept spotless.

The breakfast admittedly is limited but they provide more than enough to start the day (tea/coffee - they make a good frappe, cereal, cheese and ham, bread and sometimes fruit and or yoghurt) and let's be honest if you have travelled to Greece more than once at this level of accommodation you know not to expect a banquet!

In all honesty eating breakfast on the patio with that view is a great start to any day.

We loved the feel of the place, the location in the old town and it's proximity to the harbour. Yes, the steps are fairly steep but they are wide and not at all precarious and as someone else points out if you turn left just before the steps (and the Argo pension) and then take two rights you can walk down a less steep cobbled street, past a couple of good tavernas (Anemos and Kontiki) before arriving in the church square just above the Rock n Roll bar - straight into the nightlife and the shopping.

This was a great place for us to re charge and an excellent base for heading off down the island to the beaches (we hired a quad bike which was fun to ride, navigating the old streets to be able to park outside the hotel). I used to live on the island and had no complaints about the hotel (even in comparison with some of the newer 'boutique' type builds) and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to fellow grecophiles.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank salop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.3 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#13 of 14 in Skiathos Town
55 reviews
1.4 mi away
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
#27 of 84 in Skiathos
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Theodora Studios
Theodora Studios
#1 of 5 in Kolios
163 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 12 in Koukounaries
393 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
#53 of 84 in Skiathos
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Orsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Orsa

Address: 37002, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Price Range: £55 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Orsa 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Orsa is a traditional hotel and a family business. Located in the old part of Skiathos town*, idyllically situated above the sea in the beautiful and quiet area of ''Plakes''. The decoration is dominated by high quality wood and marble influenced by Greek and local traditions. From 2012 Villa Orsa is under a new management, in a familial environment. *The old part of Skiathos town is inaccessible to cars and because of the cobbled streets it might be an issue for guests with special mobility needs. The hotel is reachable by bikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Villa Orsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orsa Hotel Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing