We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a bad choice...”
Review of Caravos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caravos Hotel
Ranked #80 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“This is a bad choice...”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Old style location, old furniture, air conditioner is old and not completely efficient, breakfast is not featuring anything fresh beside industrial-bread. We've been changed the towels after the third day, only after complaining at the reception. They even changed the bed linen in one bed only, leaving the other with the old ones... The room was equipped with the oldest moquette i have ever seen: better not to mention about the several spots... Hot water not constant at the tap, you can experience a wonderful shower ranging from ice to hot... Wifi only in the main lobby, intermittently working.
The position is good, good beaches around the hotel especially Mandraki which is 15min far by walk, but Koukounaries is at the opposite side of the island respect to Skiathos town, put 30min bus in the budget to get to the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 915Rai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    9
    8
    26
See reviews for
11
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We had the unfortunate experience of staying in this resort for one night (too long) when our flight was delayed. On arrival we entered reception and was greater by a foul smell a mixture of damp, sewage and dead bodies. When we entered our room again the smell was beyond foul and I spent the night feeling sick. The carpet in the room was coming away and the socket for the tv was hanging from the wall. The bathroom was disgusting and god knows what germs were lurking. I ended up with a bed bug/flea bite which grew and grew and resulted in a trip to my gp on my return to England and a blister which lasted two weeks and more likely a scar which will take a long time to fade. I would not allow an animal to stay in this place never mind a human being. Do not under any circumstance stay in this resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Skiathos hotels

Athens, Attiki, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Everything was amazing. I shell definitlly go there again next year. swimming pool is very clean, and enough big and worm to slim. we were there every day (we did not go at see at all) only one time. Restaurant is very good. i take 2 kilos for ten days, and my housbant 5 kilos. you can eat chinesse food and indian food. everything is very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Georgia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

it is our fifth time in koukounaries area first time in Caravos hotel .... perfect location, nice simple clean rooms with great view, huge pool,the new look in taverna and Chinese restaurant is not just a trick, both chef's are triple A, just the best food in koukounaries area,cocktails at the Stamelos Bar are amazing. Caravos hotel is the place to relax and enjoy your holidays we will be back soon

Room Tip: don't miss the sea food
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank anna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHAMPTON
Level Contributor
151 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The Caravos Resort (hotel plus apartments) is a 2euro bus ride about 11 k. down the coast road from Skiathos town to Koukounaries beach. Buses run this route about every twenty minutes in either direction.The walk to the long Koukounaries beach takes 15 minutes along a flat road going westwards from bus stop 23 to 26,or slightly longer walking eastwards, uphill to bus stop 22 then down a long flight of steps. Other beaches like Banana beach and Little Banana beach are the same 15 minute walk plus another 12 minutes or so up and down a steep hill-track. The walk to Mandraki or Elias beaches is easier and takes about 25 minutes starting at the side road immediately to the right of the hotel entrance as you face the road, and is a very pretty forest walk, with no hill-climbing, at least not until you reach the descent to the actual beach.Nudists can go to the south end of Banana beach or to Little Banana beach (sunbeds for hire) or to Mandraki or Elias beaches (sunbeds only for the clothed).Thus the hotel is ideally located for beach access and for cheap transport into town. Close by there are a number of restaurants and bars and a very convenient supermarket.The hotel reception and dining areas are spacious and cool. For breakfast the buffet selection gives a choice of Full English (very good omelettes) or continental (excellent Greek yogurt). The only fault here is that the orange juice is so diluted that it struggles to take away the taste of the coffee. The reception lady was especially welcoming and friendly, and had good English, but was only able to offer mild and reassuring excuses to explain the lack of airconditioning in my room. I hope as the temperature rises through the season that the aircon can be made to work.The only other problem was the influx of mosquitos, which seemed to enter the room through the ventilation grills. They could be chased and killed, but there was always one elusive enough to keep me company through the night. The TV had two (Greek) channels and no remote, which TV fans might find rather annoying. The room had a good balcony and a comfortable bed: fresh sheet/s and towels were provided every day. If you don't mind a very warm room and have plenty of insect repellent, staying at the Caravos would be very enjoyable, especially if you enjoy walking forest trails and a choice of beautiful beaches.

Room Tip: Ask politely whether the air conditioning works or not.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank obsSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Compulsory leaking Greek shower in the wetroom but who cares, this place is clean, comfortable and friendly with a great taverna. Daily maid service. A bit tired but this is Greece, and you will probably only be in to sleep and shower. Lukewarm breakfast but plenty of it and the chef this year is great. Traditional fayre plus specials and the bbq/buffet is excellent. Bar is also very good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dazzzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skopelos, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

ive just left skiathos and caravos hotel and i must say that this holiday wase one of my best
great island green a lot on beach to choose from not too loud beeng the beginning of the season koukounaries area the best spot in the island
caravos hotel in the right spot clean, great buffet , helpful staff ,great bar we sorry we did not try the oriental restaurand it will open next week from what we find out but we will be back for shure
we defenetly recomend this hotel and island to any one try mandraki beach the way to it is just out side from the hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ANTONIOS18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.3 mi away
Maistrali Studios
Maistrali Studios
#7 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Studios
Lake Studios
#11 of 11 in Koukounaries
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#78 of 84 in Skiathos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#5 of 84 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
3.0 mi away
Plaza Skiathos Hotel
Plaza Skiathos Hotel
#54 of 84 in Skiathos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravos Hotel

Property: Caravos Hotel
Address: | Koukounaries, Skiathos, 37002, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caravos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caravos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravos Hotel Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing