We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay!!!!”
Review of Oasis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oasis
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We arrived before midday and after our meet and greet from Mike and welcome drink we were told our room was ready only to find it not to be, however I didn't have any issue with this as I wasnt really expecting it to be given how early we arrived. However we were given another drink and our two boys aged 7 and 4 were given an ice cream each all on the house.

Those leaving were very friendly and I think that about sums up the place that everyone staying there were really friendly. What also stood out was the number of people staying at other hotels who'd come and spend the day by the pool and the return on the night for a drink. And theres no need to worry as there are more than enough sunbeds for twice the number of guests. They are also top quality sunbeds with high quality thick cushioned covers that make them very comfortable. The umbrellas are also of a higher standard that you normally find in hotels of similar ratings.

Our room was a two bed apartment (C4) which was right opposite the pool which was ideal for us as we could let the two boys go backwards and forwards from the room whilst still keeping a close eye on them. The room itself had everything you need and although slightly smaller than other two bed apartments I've stayed it was very clean with the room cleaned everyday and it felt as if the bedlinen and towels were changed every other day.

I'd also point out that this room was as close as you can get to where the night time entertainment is held which is 3 times a week and I'd often be in bed before this finished and was never once troubled or heard any noise that was enough to stop you getting to sleep or waking you from sleep.

The bar staff were very friendly and always had a smile for you whilst also giving great service.

We only ate at the hotel once on a lunchtime, not because of the food mainly because we tend to eat quite lite during the day and then prefer to go out to a restaurant on an evening.
However I would add the meal we had at the hotel was of very high standard and the portions were massive. It was also finished off with complimentary mini dessert and fruit which was a nice touch.

The Oasis is a great place to stay as its only a short stroll into the port and the main part of town where you'll find some fantastic places to eat and some of the yachts in the harbour are astonishing to see!

The Internet room is a great touch and the number of books available is literally like a small library. Also, the free wifi is great and just about stretches to your balcony.

I would highly recommend The Oasis as a place to stay whether you like somewhere to use as a base and spend your days on the fantastic beaches or if you like to stay by the pool all day then this ticks all of the boxes.

If you haven't been to Skiathos before then you can see why people return year after year as it really is a stunning island with really friendly people, a massive range of high quality bars and restaurants and beaches that are like paradise!!!

Also, if you haven't done so already look at Skiathos airport on YouTube, you can get as close as you'll ever get to a plane landing on your head or blown away whilst standing behind one when they start their take off.

Thank you for a great holiday and a really lovely place to stay!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
6  Thank sandh1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeskiathos, Owner at Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

hi, thank you for the detailed review, it makes me proud that a senior reviewer like you have given us this score.
it also justifies my expenses when little things like the new umbrellas for our sunbeds are appreciated.
i know there are plenty to correct and fix, but in the current economic climate it is impossible and none can be perfect in Greece now days.
this is why i appreciate your words even more, they mean to me that you have shown us your patience and respect.
again a big thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed at Oasis in July 2012 and found it to be a lovely place, with really friendly staff. On arrival, Mike greeted us with a welcome drink and chatted to us about what to do and see. We were initially worried about being too far away from Skiathos Town to walk in but it actually only took us about 10 minutes to walk into the main action of the town, so that was absolutely fine for us.

We didn't spend much time around the pool at Oasis as we wanted to get out and about around the island but during the time we spent at the apartments, we found the place to be really relaxing and the staff couldn't do enough for us. We were given a room to shower in after we had checked out on our last day, which was really helpful and were helped with travel back to the airport.

The only slight downside was the fact that our apartment was below ground level so we didn't have a balcony as such, just a patio area that was dark as it was below the ground level and our room was also quite dark.

All in all, I'd really recommend Oasis and would visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenieveve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeskiathos, Owner at Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

thank you for your kind words, and high score,
you have done many reviews, so obviously you are an experienced traveler.
the particular rooms you stayed in are often requested from return guests as they are cool.
and larger than a normal studio.
this year in July we experienced a long heat wave, and these rooms have fans at no extra charge.
dont you agree that , views are just a subjective issue, for example i have good view from my balcony but almost never look at them, instead i am melting in the heat.....
anyway if you return, and not have a last minute booking like this time, i will be happy to place you upstairs, in a smaller room, with extra charge for the fan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

The Oasis and it's staff have got it all - they actually care about their guests and make sure you are having a belting holiday. They also have the added luxury of being on Skiathos. Mike is truely the master host - charming and generous to a fault.
You can't go wrong at the Oasis - food, rooms, bar - all superb - and it's a size where you can have a chat with other guests. If you like 600 room hotels where your known by a room number, stay away get yourself off to Tenerife.

The location is perfect just a 10min stroll to the town - ideal. Will and lol say hi.
Will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bravo468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeskiathos, Owner at Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

thank you, i love your style of writing, i wish i could put my thoughts like this!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Just arrived home from an excellent trip to Skiathos. Beautiful greenery everywhere. The Oasis is literally two minutes on the bus from the aiport. We had a wonderful welcome from Mike and his staff , welcoming drink and then shown to our room. Very basic but very clean---- remember you are in Greece. Happy hour and live band on a Saturday, quiz night and other entertainment, GREAT!!
Cleaners in every day, food and drinks at the bar served by very happy staff. The gardens were immaculate and the "attention to detail" of all was first class. There were enough sunbeds available for the whole Island let alone the Oasis.
Mike"s wife very kindly took us to see the Monastery in the mountains. Very much appreciated.
If you go to see the planes taking off down the road, it will be something you will never forget.

Room Tip: We stayed in D2, which was away from the pool and bar area (only 50 metres), and looking out onto a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank docmartin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeskiathos, Owner at Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

thank you for your kind words and score.
i remember you well, you got a nice tan, i regret i didn't make time, to go out with my boat, busy times, perhaps on your next visit?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Have had a wonderful time and can highly recommend the Oasis. The rooms were cleaned every day....plenty of clean towels and bedding changed regularly. Nothing is too much trouble for Mike and his wonderful family and staff. Even down to providing washing up liquid, dish cloth and scourer. There is a good varied menu and I can recommend the Oasis salad. Happy hour 3 times a week and entertainment. If you need anything or want advice Mike is always prepared to help. I really can't praise it enough. So thank you very much to Mike and everyone for making our stay so great...:-)..x

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelledaround26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeskiathos, Owner at Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

ευχαριστω! (thanks)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This was our first visit to the beautiful island of Skiathos and of course the Oasis. We had a superb 2 weeks, visiting many of the gorgeous beaches which we found easy to get to via bus or water taxi. The Oasis is a lovely relaxing environment and everyone is very friendly. Our studio was fine and the cleaners came in every day. And thank you Mike for taking us out on your boat and the delicious lunch – very much appreciated (I even forgot Flash was under the table!!!). We have no hesitation in recommending the Oasis and certainly hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeskiathos, Owner at Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

when you at first were in the car with flash the big doberman in the back seat, i bet you started getting nervous, i am relieved that in the end you enjoyed your day with my family, thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We visited Oasis again for the second time this summer and thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere again.Mike gave us the same apartment as last year which we had requested and again it was perfect and cleaned every single day.The staff are always happy and friendly and we fell in love with little Roxy (one of the new dogs).There does sometimes seem to be some kind of competition between some of the guests around the pool as to who has been there the most times but you obviously can't blame Mike for that as it just shows what a good job he does.The food is in very big portions and can easily be shared between 2 for an afternoon meal and is delicious.The only word of warning is buy a plug in mosquito repellant as we used spray and they had a feast on us,we only found out that the plug in ones are what you need by speaking to a German bar owner towards the end of our holiday!! We will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Ask to be put by the chickens and horses,its very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank picture1Tredegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeskiathos, Owner at Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

HAHAHAHAHA chickens and horses? and very quiet? i had a guest asking to borrow my shotgun for the cock!
.....now everyone thinks we have a farm......
thanks for the good score.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
3.7 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
797 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Piscine Art Hotel
La Piscine Art Hotel
#2 of 84 in Skiathos
723 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,159 reviews
3.6 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
977 reviews
1.1 mi away
Angeliki Beach Hotel
Angeliki Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Megali Ammos
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis

Address: Ammudia, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Skiathos
Price Range: £36 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Skiathos
Oasis Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing