We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Second home :-)"”
Review of Oasis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oasis
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

It was our 5th visit to the oasis for our wedding with our family and friends and what an amazing time we have had :-) couldnt have wished for a better time!mike and his staff as always were amazing hosts and welcomed us all with open arms,mike even dressed his car up and drove me down to the bourtzi for our wedding ceremony what a great experience :-)he also took me and friends on his boat and were provided with water sports and mythos on the beach :-) we all made the most of happy hour which is put on 3 times a week with drinks buy one get one free and plenty of entertainment for everyone. it really is like a second home to us and will always come back to the oasis looking forward to coming back for our anniversary next year :-) thank you mike

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank rohanmyers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our second visit to the Oasis and not like returning to a hotel it's like visiting old friends!
Mike, Eleni and their family are wonderful hosts and one of my best memories of the holiday will be the afternoon spent at a beautiful beach with Mike, his daughter and her friend, Robert and his girlfriend. The bar staff Dave, Robert, Valentina and Elise all work really hard and are so friendly and welcoming. My wife and I were especially fond of Elise who was so friendly towards us and never seems to stop working, and what a lovely couple Dave and Valentina make. All the rest of the staff from cleaners to gardeners to the chef work hard to make the holiday a pleasure. It's like being part of an extended family, no wonder that most of the guests have been to the Oasis before.
The garden areas are lovely and the dogs, hens, birds, fish, goats and occasionally horses help to give the place the feel of a family home.
The food served in the bar is exceptionally good value and the very big meals come with starter dips, a small dessert, and fruit. My only slight criticism is that a bigger choice of menu would be nice.
We had live entertainment three nights each week and several "happy hours". The garden areas have hammocks as well as plenty of sunbeds. There is a volley ball court, table tennis, table football, pool table and computer room all at no extra cost!
Mike certainly knows the importance of giving customers good value and it shows in the number of returning guests. In 30yrs of holidaying in Greece we have stayed in some beautiful accomodation but non better than the Oasis!
David and Sandra 13th -27th June

Room Tip: Studios overlooking garden area quieter than rooms nearer bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robbo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Well run and friendly hotel. Our daughter has stayed here many times and decided to use it as a base for her wedding preparations. We all had a wonderful time and Mike and his staff could not have been more helpful. Mike even insisted on driving the bride to the Bourzi where the wedding was to take place, and Dave took some wonderful photos for us. Could not have been better!

Room Tip: The hotel is set in lovely gardens and has a small menagerie of hens, a cockerel, goats and sometime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Squirrell8505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I did not have the pleasure of being a resident here at Oasis but enjoyed being in the company of Mike and his FANTASTIC STAFF whilst attending one of the most amazing family weddings EVER.my daughter&i spent many evenings in the company of family and newly made friends around the bar and lounging areas outside.I must stress that Mike shows new arrivals on changeover day huge consideration to allow them a decent night's sleep,by insisting that everyone drinking at bar not allowed to make a tremendous amount of noise outside by requesting staying at the inside bar. He even insisted on driving my daughter&i back to our own hotel himself on a few occasions as he did not trust that the requested taxi would bother to turn up. Mikes studios are extremely popular with guests due to the pretty and tranquil location. The happy hours prove tremendously popular and great value too considering the superb quality of his cocktails.I am told by family that the food served here is excellent also. The studios are a great location,close to town centre and airport. They really appear to be a touch of paradise but close enough to everything you will need.

2  Thank paradisas_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We returned yesterday after having a two week stay. We usually stay in hotels and not self catering but we did enjoy this holiday very much and living the taverna lifestyle.

Lovely staff at this hotel and Dave is a gem and carried my case on arrival and also helped us when we left the Oasis. Much appreciated Dave. Mike ( owner) is a lovely chap and is down to earth and funny and is full of greek hospitality. Lots of little gestures make this a nice place to stay.

Our room was comfortable and overlooked the gardens, room U2, but they are all nicely situated rooms. Whilst we were there Mosquito nets were added to the doors and I felt this was a wonderful improvement. We hired a fan and thought it good value at 10 euro a week.

The entertainment on a night was varied. I especially liked the greek night with the lovely music. Not too keen on Kareoke but overall the entertainment was good and the music played by cds was varied. Would love to hear more Greek music though.

We ate down at the waterfront but also had some meals at Oasis and they are delicous and they fill you up, you will not leave the table hungry.

We made some lovely friends and found all the guests to be really friendly. A real nice bunch of people, when we were there.

Mike has some rules listed but these are 'good rules' they are to ensure everyone has a good time. All in all I would say the Oasis has the 'balance' right.

We would return to the Oasis without a doubt. We felt so at home there. Lovely place so a big well done to all the staff there.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank PHILIP079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeskiathos, Owner at Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

a gem? A GEM????
@$%#^&*!!!!!!!!
ask Valentina about that..... or better yet his parents....... or even better his younger brother......
hahahahaha just kidding , its my Greek humor you see.........
thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just had the most relaxing holiday with Mike and Elena at the Oasis, we booked this through email with Mike and was collected at the airport by Elena. We were allocated Villa 1 out the back which was everything we needed with lots of space in the garden to relax. Everyone made us so welcome and like part of the family especially Dave and his girlfriend. At the end of our two weeks we were taken to the airport by Dave, much appreciated. The weather was wonderful apart from two storms, but the beauty of Skiathos Town made up for that.
we would highly recommend oasis and Skiathos to everyone and we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: all rooms looked very good rooms round the back seemed quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We visited Skiathos on 3 June 2014. We arrived in the cold and rain at the Oasis Apartments and were greeted by David with a big umbrella which was a nice touch and we found him to be very helpful throughout our stay as were Mike, Robert, Valentina and Elise. We were taken in to the seating area inside where there are many comfortable sofas and offered a drink while Mike told us a few things about the Oasis and how to get to the seafront and supermarket. These are both in easy walking distance and even at night feel safe. Be aware there are stoney paths.
We booked a ‘two bed 2’ through Cosmos and were allocated a two bedroom apartment (C4) near to the pool and found this fairly comfortable. There was a double bed in one room and twin beds in the other. There was a wardrobe with 3 drawers and a dressing table in each room. There were plenty of hangers and a few toiletries in a basket plus slippers (you may need these as the floor was made of stone) and towels. There were hooks on the walls in all rooms which were useful.
In the kitchen/diner/lounge there was a fridge, coffee maker, kettle, toaster, a two ring hob and microwave. A tea towel, cloth and washing up liquid were supplied. . There is a table and chairs, small sofa, a TV and a full length mirror. You get a bottle of water and a toilet roll to see you through until you get to the shop. In case you are not aware you cannot put paper down the toilet in most places in Skiathos. We found nappy sacks very useful. The bathroom was up a couple of steps and the shower worked pretty well. There was shelving for toiletries and a well-lit mirror, plus shaving mirror.
Outside we had a covered terrace with two sofas, a coffee table and a clothes horse. It was nice sitting here in the morning with a cup of tea.
The bins were emptied and beds made 6 days out of 7 and we had a change of towels and bedding mid stay.
The apartment was pretty dark but not a big problem – we had lights! Don’t bring any candles!
Not all the apartments are the same. The one next to us was a different layout and had a full oven and 4 ring hob, plus a small freezer, but they did not have a sofa but had a bigger terrace.
There is a bar and they have a food menu but not actually a restaurant as such, meals were eaten on the coffee tables mostly. We had a couple of meals and toasted sandwiches, the curry was pretty good and when we ordered a burger we were given two each. They bring out extras like bread, dips and ice creams too. I would suggest you share if you are not a big eater! The breakfast looked good too. Beer is a reasonable price and served in nice cold iced glasses but cocktails were quite expensive. The bar is open late and there is happy hour 3 times a week between 10-11pm.
Entertainment was a quiz and karaoke which we do not like but that is just our taste. Some people do. We did get to see the F1 as there is Sky Sports and it should be good for when the world cup is on. Apart from TVs in the bar area there is a large screen by the pool. Music is played all day round the pool and can get on your nerves, especially when it keeps repeating the same songs over and over. There are loads of sunbeds and hammocks around the pool and large gardens.
Overall, this is a comfortable hotel with nice staff in a decent location but for me a bit rough round the edges. The grass needed cutting, and there were a few areas that looked very tatty and uncared for. This hotel gets good reviews as I think people don’t want to put anything bad on to upset Mike because he is nice, but just remember this is only a 3* hotel. The photos on TA are pretty much how it is. I am really trying not to be too negative as everyone works hard to make your holiday good. I do not regret going to this hotel and had a fantastic time in all.
Additional notes - nothing to do with Oasis directly.
We booked a private transfer through Cosmos but we still had to queue at the airport to see the rep who told us to go and see the lady near the taxi rank who then hailed a cab and paid them. This then took us to our hotel but dropped us up the top of the road (in the rain). On the way back our taxi was due at 2.35 and we waited up on the road in the sun and it did not turn up so we ended up getting on the coach half hour later. Some people were made to share. We did get our money refunded but that wasn’t really the point. Either get the coach or get your own taxi which will only cost about €7 each way.
We were very happy with our Morarch flights. You do stop on the way out at Kavala but direct on the way back.

.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeskiathos, Owner at Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

hey thanks for this... i appreciate all the good comments coming from an experienced reviewer like yourself.
the key word is "candle"
actually if i where you i would make many more comments regarding many issues , other than the Grass ......
my excuse is that after my wife returned from the Sunday visit to the church, and brought back the candle, which caused the fire in my house, almost daily all my staff have been working together with us trying to bring small order to the chaos the fire caused!........ i know this meant some discrepancies in our service, i hope that you understand.... hope to see you again. ( my kitchen is almost done now and the paint job finished, ) i just wish this happened in the winter months and not when we are all very busy,,,,,)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.6 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
513 reviews
4.9 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Piscine Art Hotel
La Piscine Art Hotel
#2 of 84 in Skiathos
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
974 reviews
3.7 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
795 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis

Address: Ammudia, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Price Range: £36 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Skiathos
Oasis Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing