We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Friendly Hotel”
Review of Oasis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oasis
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Certificate of Excellence
Preston
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Extremely Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We've been going abroad for over 30 years but we've never come across a place as
friendly as this, I'd read all the reviews before we booked, and thought this must be special, and it was, never before have we met such friendly staff, always cheerfull, polite
and chatty, nothing too much trouble, the hotel does not have a reception like most other
hotels, there's a little section at the end of the bar where Mike 'the owner' sits along with his computer, which is great because whenever you go to the bar, which is right next to the pool, you pass Mike, who is always there with a smile and offers any information you
may need. After having spoke to a lot of other guests, who had also read all the reviews,
it became apparent that they thought it was going to be a friendly place, which it was
therefore the place was full of friendly people, I took my guitar and we had a few sing songs accompanied by Mike (on guitar.....not singing !!) and had a few great nights, the food is as good as what the other guests have already said, the location is great, everything was great. I've read that quite a few people have been invited out for an
afternoon on Mike's boat, we were also lucky enough to be be invited out on a trip along
with two other guests and two of Mikes staff, this was not an arranged trip, it was a last
minute arrangement, it was like this.....we were sunbathing by the pool... Mike walked past and said he was going out on his boat, if we would like to come he'll meet us down
on the waterside in 10 mins......simple as that......we made it.....had a great afternoon,
but I can appreciate how busy he is and these kind of trips cannot be planned, if you're
lucky enough and around at the right time.....go for it, you'll enjoy it, but please don't expect it, he can't possibly do it for every guest, if you stay at the Oasis you'll know what
I mean when you see him always around, always talking to the guests and having a laugh, but at the same time he and his staff have to have a bit of quality time when it can fit in, and they usually share this precious time with the guests, anyway don't take my advise.......GO AND SEE FOR YOURSELF. You'll Love it !!

Donald Helm
(Chipbuttyman)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chipbuttyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    57
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
89
198
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Myself and my partner have just come back from a fabulous stay at Oasis Apartments as a treat for my partners 30th, This was our first visit, we had a fantastic holiday and will definately return.
Mike and Eleni made our stay wonderful, we met lots of lovely people at the apartments, guests and staff everyone is really friendly and happy!
I chose Oasis apartments because of all the wonderful feedback and reviews on here - so I wanted to add to them how fantastic it was.
The apartments are 15 minutes walk from the main town, 10 minutes to the excellent bus service which runs about every 15 minutes during the day.
Skiathos is a perfect little island, It was my first trip and I loved it. Cliff Richard, Goldie Hawn, Kurt Russell and Pierce Brosnan were all on the island at the time but we didnt see them :-(
Back to the apartments - Mike runs them to perfection, he has his little 'rules' but that is what makes them what they are, all the little 'extras' are such a nice touch too, drinks on arrival, bottle of water in your room on arrival, complimentary nibbles with your drinks and meals. The food was amazing, and HUGE - definately for sharing!
The pool area is relaxing and lovely, its not huge, just nice for a dip and a little swim to cool down. Lots of sunbeds and hammocks to relax in - the staff cant do enough for you and were relly friendly people. Free internet access, swap a book library, ping pong, gym, and volleyball
The rooms are clean and comfortable, typical greek apartment style, twin beds, open shower, balcony, kitchenette - all just what was needed.
As others have also mentioned on here, Mike took us out on his speedboat for the afternoon with a few others to Banana beach with his family which was really lovely of them as they didnt have to do it.
We had a FANTASTIC holiday - Thanks Oasis Team!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

I can genuinely say that I have never experienced hospitality like it ! We have just returned from the Oasis following a 2 week stay for a friends Wedding. We chose the Hotel having been given a first hand recommendation from the Bride & Groom (Keith 'n' Beth) along with the many other recommendatoins through Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed, - right from arriving at the Airport, Mike's now infamous hospitality sprung into action by picking us up at the Airport and taking us the short distance to the Hotel. The Hotel itself was very informal, with all the Staff being incredibly friendly and helpful. (Thanks Annie, Ivan and all :-) ) We immediately felt like we had known everybody for years even though that this was our first Trip. Mike's hospitality continued thoughout our stay, giving up his own time to ensure that we had a great time; - he even assisted with some of the wedding arrangements and taking the Bride to the Church no-less ! Nothing was too much trouble. We had no Issues whatsoever the whole time we stayed there. I'm sure that many Hoteliers could learn a great deal from Mike as in our opinion, - he definately has got it right. Needless to say that we have already pencilled in our trip next year.. Location wise, - it was perfect for the Town, all walking distance, but away from any noise. Great Food and Wine everywhere. Our local favourite 'Gyros' from 'No-Name' in the town was an excellent snack - a must for any visit. The Airport even though incredibly close was no Issue at all, - Planes were infrequent, but also a novelty to seen landing and taking off so close. Getting about was easy with a frequent cheap bus service or Taxi which offered the same service for not much more.... I could write all Day about this holiday. We have no hesitation in recommending Skiathos or in particular Mike's Oasis Hotel and Apartments and we will be there again next year.
Thanks again Mike, Elleni and all your Staff. See you next Year. !
Mick 'n' Jayne
Haxby, - York

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJW91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

What can I say? We stumbled on this hotel by accident, but have been every year for the last 10. The family who own the property are wonderful; friendly, helpful, kind etc.., I don't think they wouuld mind me saying that our children are friends and have spent many a summer playing together.

If you ask for something it will be done.

The staff are fantastic.

There are really nice touches such as fruit in the afternoon, complementary desert and nibbles.

The complex is really safe and gated so children can rome about. There are lots of activities, e.g. volley ball, table tennis, pool, board games, mini gym, evening entertainment. There is also an 'exchange book' library. and internet access. There are plenty of sunbeds and hammocks to relax in.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and have the facilities you need. There is a quite large supermarket nearby, and they will deliver for free if you wish.

The food at the Oasis is really good, even if the portion sizes are quite large (consider sharing if you are not too hungry). The snacks are also good value.

The main town is about 15 mins walk away. There is something for everyone. Pizza at the Medousa (before town), Dinos is really friendly and good value on Papadiamontis Street, and No Name is great for a snack. Here there really is something for everyone from a budget. to extragence.

The bus stop (no. 1) is nearby, from where you can reach all the beaches on Skiathos.

Airport transfer time is 5 mins, but there is no noise at night, and in the day it is not obtrusive, if not interesting!

I have really been there so often that I don't know what else people may wish to know, so please ask!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigal1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

This was a birthday treat for my wife, which she picked and it was spot on.
The welcome was the best we have ever had and Mike's hospitality continued throughout our stay. Nothing was too much for him or his staff. On the second day Mike invited us to a barbecue in the mountains with his Greek friends, which was wonderful and we will treasure forever. We hired a Jeep, which is a must if you want to see all the beaches although there is an excellent bus service to some of the beaches. Mike told us which ones to see.
May was a lovely time to visit as the island was quiet, but we were told by Mike and guests that in high season it is very busy and lively until the early hours, but we did stop up regularly until 1/2am ourselves as it was such a lovely atmosphere.
We met some lovely people who were repeat guests and first timers, but we have never laughed so much with other people.
We would certainly return ourselves and that should be soon. We could write much much more, but that would spoil the pleasure for people who have not been.

Mike if you read this thank you so much, especially for my wife's birthday, which was such a wonderful surprise.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattsolives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2009

This was our first visit to Oasis and we are already planning to return next year. We receved a marvelous welcome from Mike and his Family who escorted us to the villa in which we stayed. The villa was clean and really well equipped. The bedrooms were really comfortable which ensured a good nights sleep every night. The villas location can only be described as idyllic.
The food at Oasis was first class and plentiful (and I do mean PLENTIFUL)
The staff were excellent. They were all very friendly, helpful and courteous no matter how busy they were. Mike himself was the perfect host and contibuted immensely to the success of our holiday.
Days by the pool were comfortable and relaxing. The evenings were generally quiet affairs with background music playing at a sensible level so that we could speak without having to raise our voices Quiz nights and film shows were part of the entertainment. However there is plenty of night life in the town approx 5 minutes walk.
If you read this Mike thank you for a great holiday and we will see you next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matchlessg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Having just returned from staying at the oasis for the second tine this year i would just like to say we had a fantastic time.The food they served was the best in town the staff were very friendly and mike and elena went out of their way to look after you from taking us to the monastry to fishing trip with mike where the husband caught 2 20lb fish(so he says) .Our rooms overlooked the bar when entertainment was on it did not keep us awake and we are light sleepers.Cant wait to go back next year missing you all already

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloucesterButty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
4.9 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#1 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,006 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Piscine Art Hotel
La Piscine Art Hotel
#3 of 84 in Skiathos
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
913 reviews
3.7 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
746 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis

Property: Oasis
Address: Ammudia, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Skiathos
Oasis Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing