We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day dream. Nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Day dream. Nightmare”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location. It sits at the back of a small cove fronted by an excellent beach for bathing and water sports. Although it looks a little industrial from the out side the interior of the hotel is excellent. In particular the indoor sitting area is light cool and welcoming when you need a break from the sun and an excellent place to relax in the evening.
We paid an up grade for a superior room although most of the rooms appeared to be of good quality. Our superior was large, well designed and very clean. It had an excellent view across both the large hotel pool and also across the bay to Skopelos. In many ways it was a day dream of a room.It was a t nighttime that the room became a mare. The so called air conditioning was useless. I have come across more powerful snail farts . Not only that but essentially puffed out warm air. We mentioned this at reception after our first sweaty sleepless night. The receptionist was keen to help and sent a member of the technical staff to help. Sadly the next night was even hotter (it measured 90 in the room). So we returned to reception to express our concern. This time the manager came out to see us. He is a big guy and his first tactic is to be loud and aggressive. However I am of good scouse Irish stock so he soon realized that this would not work. He then decided to behave like an ostrich and bury his head in the sand. He seemed to think that if he just denied every thing that we would just give up and go away. After a long discussion where we constantly reminded him that we were supposedly staying in a superior room he decided that we could have a fan in our room and made it clear we should be grateful for his help?
That night we slept with the fridge door open and the fan blowing the air from the fridge around the room. This was hugely better than the air conditioning. It was only sweltering. We complained again and asked to be moved. He lied and said there were no spare rooms. Eventually after a long argument he offered us another room. It was tiny and right at the back of the hotel. It had little of a view and obviously it was not acceptable. The technician eventually gave us a key so that the air conditioning would stay on all day. This worked to a limited extent but it then poured out soot and muck all over the floor and it meant we had to keep the doors and windows closed all day which defeats the object of being somewhere warm and sunny.
The staff at the hotel were excellent although clearly undermanned they were always willing and helpful.
Another criticism would have to be of the furniture around the pool and outside of the dining area. Much of it was old, damaged and in some cases dangerous. It is clear the manager does not like investing in his hotel unless absolutely necessary.
I was pleasantly surprised by the breakfast. Having read some of the reviews it seemed that they would be limited in quality and quantity. However I have to say that food was plentiful and of a good standard. Fresh fruit, meats, omelettes, breads, cheese, cake etc were all provided and regularly topped up by the hard working staff. Water could have been more plentiful ( I could not understand why it was served in a little jug that quickly was emptied. Fruit juice would have been nice instead of powdered concentrate.
The bar was good and bar man excellent fun and very goods at his job.
The beds around the pool were disgusting. The mats on them had obviously been there since the hotel opened and they have never been cleaned since. many of them were falling to pieces.. The pool however was well maintained by the technician who again was hard working and delightful. In fact the only person who wasn't hard working and delightful seemed to be the manager. On the day that we left he asked us to write in trip advisor about his hotel. We pointed out our complaints. He astonishingly said we should have come to him because he would have sorted us out. He obviously had so little concern for us that he didn't even know who we were and that we had complained to him!
I wouldn't tell people not to go to the Kanapitsa. It has many lovely aspects and is in a delightful location. But don't expect to get what it says on the package and be prepared to deal with stubborn ostrich if you raise queries about the quality of the product. Unless the manager gets his act together and begins managing and investing time and money in his business I believe that it will soon become a true night mare and fall into ruin. I hope he can find the motivation to do so as it would be a waste of a great facility.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank philipneale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for staying in our hotel, but I have to say I am a bit surprised with your direct comments and remarks about the manager (myself). You have raised some interesting points about myself in your review and in light of giving travellers an objective view it is wise to state the facts; you arrived at the hotel and yes you did upgrade to a deluxe room (not a superior room - different room category). We are glad that you liked the room and its views; regarding the a/c unit, yes it malfunctioned and tech support immediately came up and tried to resolve the problem. Despite your personal thoughts that the manager was not aware of the situation, the manager was fully aware of this and was already working on finding an alternative solution (tech support brought in a fan to ease the problem).
Reading on through your review, I was rather disappointed to read your rather aggressive words about myself and the way I do business; please note that whether you are irish, russian, english, etc, this makes no difference in how we treat our guests; it is wise for a man not to forget his tone when talking with the manager about the problem. Anyhow, since it seems that you are forgetting that you were advised that the hotel was full and there was no availability for a same room class change, we offered an alternative room class for your consideration which you dismissed.
Regarding the pool, all necessary upgrades have been planned for the next season.
As for the breakfast and bar, we are very happy that you enjoyed them dear guest.
Lastly, I am not sure why the surprise about asking you to write your thoughts on trip advisor; we at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa always ask our guests to share their thoughts positive and negative-we welcome criticism that helps us improve our business. Now about me not knowing who you are and about being stubborn and unaware of the problems, it is your purely subjective opinion which by all means you are welcome to share.
On the other hand, 40 years of continued presence and excellence in the Hospitality industry speak about the level of offered services and support we offer to all our guests.
I would like to thank you for visiting our hotel and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    101
    38
    27
    27
See reviews for
51
169
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We had our wedding here this year in early September and after a year planning with many emails to Panos we had our perfect day, the hotel staff were very helpful nothing to much trouble, Marios makes the best cocktails on the Island and alway happy to try something different. The hotel is located near bus stop 12, its so easy to get about either bus, taxi or water taxi a great place to explore. There are so many restuarants to choose from, we had our reception at Salt & Pepper in Troulos which was fantastic.
The veiws from the hotel are breath taking and the two beachs near have great taverners, our favourite is the Kanapitsa Taverna food was lovely.
A great big thank you to Panos and all the staff at Kanapitsa Mare for making our Wedding Day everything we wished for.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view as the Hotel is quite high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear guests
It was a pleasure having you with us and holding your wedding at our hotel. Organising the details over the winter together, it gives us great satisfaction and pleasure to see the wedding realised, and being a successful - romantic event.
I would like to thank you for your trust, wish you the best and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greece
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Nice Location but seriously overpriced, neglected and rather unclean.I have to agree with previous reviews that it is appears generally understaffed and any query or requirement seemed very hard to be dealt swiftly

Surprised by so many adamant reviews - If i was given the choice I would skip it

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madpan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear guests
It is rather sad to read such reviews with general statements about the hotel being "bad, understaffed, overpriced,etc". Reviews are meant to help other travellers form an objective opinion about the accommodation, attraction they wish to visit. In addition, they are meant to help the business improve by receiving meaningful suggestions - proposals about potential weaknesses in the offered services. It is easy hidden behind anonymity to try and make bad statements about a business.
That being said, we leave it to all readers and visitors of Skiathos and our hotel to judge the value and tone of your "review".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Skiathos hotels

midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

After staying at the hotel last year, we decided this was the perfect wedding location. The hotel has stunning sea views and we loved the peaceful location. We liked the fact that it was very quiet here on the evenings.
Whilst planning the wedding over the year, Panos was very helpful responding to my many email queries. Whilst at the hotel, all staff members that we met were extremely helpful. Our room was cleaned every day hence I'm surprised at some of the reviews I read earlier. Marios is a star and makes the best mojitos in town, he looked after us very well.
We had our evening reception at Johnny's restaurant which is opposite the hotel and definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear bride & groom
It was a great pleasure having you with us after our correspondence throughout the winter. We are all very happy and excited that the wedding turned out as you imagined it and everyone was with great big smiles!
On behalf of the management and staff of Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa I want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation and wedding and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Having read a number of mixed reviews before we travelled we went with an open mind and I'm pleased to say it was a wonderful holiday. Kanapitsa Mare is in a really great location and we couldn't believe how close we were to everything; beaches, tavernas, bus stop (12), water taxi and water sports! The hotel is really big and has a nice feel to it. We were in room 510 and had a lovely view and we had upgraded to a superior room which I would recommend. We had a lot of space and the bathroom with shower and separate jacuzzi bath was fantastic. Picking up on a number of previous comments the towels would be the only thing we would agree on needing improvement. They are hard and worn but this would by no means ruin your holiday! We also had lovely fluffy dressing gowns in the bathroom which helped. The hotel staff were really friendly and helped us when the mosquito screen needing repairing, they booked restaurants for us (which always had lovely sea views) and they kindly let us stay an extra hour in our room after check out time. Breakfast was fine, I don't know how much more variety people would want; there was breads, yoghurt, meats, egg, cereal and fruit! As per the other reviews, Mario's cocktails are fabulous and a great way to start the evening. All in all a great holiday spot that won't disappoint.

Local recommendations: Kanapitsa Taverna (lovely for lunch or dinner), Vromolimnos Beach, Infinity Blue Restaurant in Kolios, Final Step in Skiathos Town. Poseidon Boat tour to Skopelos. We hired a little boat for a few days from Nostos beach and it was great to get over to some of the little islands in the bay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbieT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear guests
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your vacation with us. We welcome and encourage guests reviews; it is your kind comments and suggestions that help us improve our services.
I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and thank you for your kind words; please note that your suggestion for the towels has been noted.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our hotel for a relaxing vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This was our first time visiting Skiathos and found the hotel to be everything we needed and expected. It is a 3 star rated hotel, so expect that, we got what we expected, good service, good hospitality and great location. 3 very good beaches and tavernas very close by, not far from the bus stop 12, which is about 10 minutes from town. Breakfast at the hotel is continental not full English, which is available in town, but we enjoyed the choices provided.
The views from the rooms were great overlooking the beach, rooms were clean and spacious, maybe a few more drawers, but no complaints.
There is a tennis court close by which is not advertised and not often used.
We were there for a friends wedding and the event went ahead with no problems at all, Panos, the manager was there to assist with photos and videos and really made the event special. Not forgetting Mario behind the bar, really made the drinks available when required.
Also many thanks to the Salt and Pepper restaurant for the wedding reception, again great food, great service, regards to George and Yannis.
We are enquiring about returning again next year, and would stay here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views, lower floors may access the wi-fi areas, not available through out the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobkeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear guests
It was a great pleasure meeting you in our hotel and taking part of the wedding service by the pool area. As far as the accommodation is concerned we try hard each year to maintain high standards of offered services throughout the facility to all guests. It makes us very happy to see our guests leaving with a smile and pleasant memories, especially this year that marks 40 yrs of excellence in the Hospitality industry of Skiathos, Greece.
As for the wedding, we worked hard throughout the winter to organise a romantic wedding service and judging from the smiles of the bride and groom (and of course all the guests) we succeeded!!!!
Once again thank you very much for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Very helpfull staff nothing is to much trouble even when we asked to change room due to loud neighbours we were upgraded with no charge excelent. Fantastic views and location to explore by bus or water taxi into town second time visiting this hotel thanks again to all that made this a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IW65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear guests
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your summer Skiathos Holidays. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
#48 of 84 in Skiathos
82 reviews
2.6 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#7 of 84 in Skiathos
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Plaza Skiathos Hotel
Plaza Skiathos Hotel
#59 of 84 in Skiathos
242 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
1.0 mi away
Magic Hotel
Magic Hotel
#3 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa

Property: Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
Address: Tzaneria Skiathos | PO Box155, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel Skiathos
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel And Spa
Kanapitsa Mare Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing