We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing holiday at Kapanitsa Mare..........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
Ranked #51 of 88 Hotels in Skiathos
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“relaxing holiday at Kapanitsa Mare..........”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

we recently spent a week at this hotel having booked the holiday with another couple. our room was very decent with everything we needed and was cleaned daily. we had a wonderful view of the bay from our 2nd floor. Breakfast was basic but there was plenty of it and the staff were always friendly and attentive. Reception staff also friendly, helpful and professional. Generally we lazed by the pool during the day or wondered down to the nearby beach for a swim. the pool area was clean and a bar very close by providing refreshments and snacks. Friendly staff always on hand to attend and wait on you and nothing was ever too much trouble. Marius the bar tender was a great person and really made our holiday. Everything from welcome drinks to farewell drinks and much more in-between. Very friendly, funny and there daily from 3pm till late into the night. The only suggestion we would make is that a restaurant be opened. The elevated terrace with wonderful views would be an ideal place to relax well into the evening. And maybe a weekly bbq with Marius on hand to tend to the thirsty guests. With these additional facilities there would be no need to leave the hotel. Thank you for our holiday.

Room Tip: the higher your room then the more elevated you are for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 66Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guests
We are glad that you had a good and relaxing holiday in our property; the management and staff of the hotel work hard to meet the needs of each guest in order to make their holiday a memorable experience. In terms of the "restaurant" , we are making additions to our snack bar menu in order to make more lunch-early dinner options available to our guests.
Once again thank you for spending your holidays with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    99
    37
    27
    27
See reviews for
49
167
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We found out that we were staying at the Kanapitsa Mare Hotel 14 hours before we were due to leave the UK. Apparently Cosmos/Monarch had overbooked our original choice at the Sunset Hotel/Koukennaries, even though our holiday had been booked as far back as October 2013.....anyway I digress.

We didn't have time to change our plans, so went ahead with some in trepidation as the reviews on tripadvisor were somewhat varied in respect of the hotel.

On arrival George, the hotel manager greeted us and left us with the hotels receptionist, who was very efficient. We were given a superior room (509) located on the fifth floor, with breakfast included. This was part of Cosmos/Monarchs way of compensating us for changing our holiday at late notice.

Room 509 was lovely and spacious, the bed was huge and the mattress was better than any other we had experienced in Greece. However the pillows were small and flat and very uncomfortable, and by the end of the holiday my husband had four to himself. The view from our room was truly spectacular, with wide views across the bay.

The air conditioning was quiet and effective. The room was equipped with a fridge and TV. The bathroom was reasonably large and it was a pleasure having a bath with a shower AND a shower curtain, which we are not used to in Greece. There was also a built in hair dryer which was very powerful.

Towels were changed daily and the bed was made up on a daily basis. The rooms were kept reasonably clean, and although I watch the programme 'Four in a Bed' I did not feel compelled to check out bath/ shower plug holes for pubic hair like some of our fellow holidayers!

Breakfast was included and fairly basic (omelette, sausages, bacon, croissants, Greek yoghurt, fruit). The coffee was often tepid, but Angela who not only cooked, prepared breakfast was very happy to replace if you let her know. She is very sweet and very keen to improve her English, so please take the time to chat to her.

Marius the barman makes a wicked Mojito as mentioned in previous reviews and I tried them most evenings just to make sure. 'Happy Hour' lasts as long as he deems fit. The drinks are very reasonably priced at 5 euros, cheapest we've ever paid in Greece.

The bar and pool area are impressive but under used. There is a spectacular view over the ocean and beach at Nostos. A few brightly coloured sun umbrellas wouldn't go amiss as the area did not have enough shaded areas. It's a shame that the hotel don't take advantage of this magnificent space as it would suit a weekly Greek themed BBQ night, as there are no other hotels or tavernas offering this locally.

Overall we had a very relaxing holiday, but it was not a hotel we would have chosen as we love typically Greek small family run establishments. But saying that we had a great holiday and met some lovely people.

Skiathos is a beautiful island with some of the best beaches I have seen in Greece or the Greek Islands.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank happyhols_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guests
It was a pleasure having you with us and thank you for your kind words. Reading through your review I believe that you have covered all angles! :) As for the pool area we are planning additional changes and your thoughts have been noted.
Once again thank you for staying with us; PS: best regards from Panos, the hotel manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel has fantastic views and great building, rooms and open spaces, but and it's a big but, it's so not cared for. With a good gardener, some decent catering and attention to all the maintenance this place could be brilliant. As an example, our room was big, clean and had great view but the bathroom had a broken grate in the floor, the towel rail was falling off, the shower fitting had sharp edges on that cut you and the towels were often rock hard and full of holes. The balcony had a planter on the front that had a couple of dead plants in it as did the planters around the dining patio. our air con didn't work and was eventually replaced with a 2nd hand unit that could just about blow as hard as me, the day before we left. This involved the wall in our room being chisseled out at 7pm at night just when we wanted to get ready to go out. At breakfast we had to eat of trays, apparently so we didn't dirty the table cloth. The food was very poor quality, sugar water for orange juice, stewed coffee and a very poor selection of hot food. The chairs all had the bottoms hanging out as did most of the chairs around the pool. The owner could have a fantastic hotel if he put a bit of effort into it's maintenance. He always has an answer and a good reason why things are not right but does not have the solutions. don't get me wrong, we enjoyed our stay and the staff especially Delores were great. This place just needs e really enthusiastic manager.

Room Tip: need to have sea view on 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limOsteers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear guests
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your thoughts but I have to admit that I am a bit surprised by your thoughts which you did not mention while at the hotel. You mentioned some issues about the bathroom and the terrace and about the a/c function; as for the room issues, anything that you reported at the reception was dealt with promptly and with professionalism. As for the a/c, machines do happen to break unfortunately and on behalf of the hotel I apologized for the inconvenience and offered to change you rooms to a higher floor which you rejected and preferred to stay in the same room; you requested a fan which we provided immediately. As I explained to your husband we requested another unit to come from Volos to replace the broken one and the unit received was a refurbished one which is quality tested.
That being said, regarding your room thoughts, I believe that we did give you alternatives to ensure that your holiday was joyful (deluxe room on the 6th floor) but you chose not to move.
I would like to stress that as I explained to your husband new machines come from the mainland and we made every effort to speed things up.
You mention that one "should not get you wrong and you had a good time"; I honestly can't help but wonder what you would say about the hotel if you did not have a good time.
We at Kanapitsa Hotels Group ask and encourage our guests to share their constructive criticism and thoughts about their experience in our hotels; we are always happy to read and feel with our guests their happiness and at the same time we build on and improve based on the constructive criticism of the people that make use of our services.
The hotel manager (myself) is always at the disposal of all guests to hall make their stay relaxing and pleasant; if you feel after your stay with us, that the manager "just had explanations" and did not offer solutions (although he offered a room change at a better room) I apologize for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Nice hotel for the price. However it's a bit " tired " and needs a bit of investment here and there. But it has a fab location and we really enjoyed the pool and the view is amazing . The staff are very friendly and try to please you as much as possible. I only have one complaint and made the manager aware of this, the staff at breakfast spend too much time being nice to guests and not enough time replenishing foodstuffs and cutlery ect. One day we ran out of dishes bacon coffee and cutlery all at once. None the less we enjoyed our stay and it is a very friendly and relaxing place. Would return and recommend .

Room Tip: We think the second floor with sea view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulandSue499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear guests
Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your thoughts. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay; please note that we values your comments-suggestions on the improvement of our services and have made arrangements so that so shortage of cutlery happens again.
Once again thank you for your choice and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have just come back to soggy Britain after spending two weeks at Kanapitsa Mare...and we cannot thank Panos and his wonderful staff enough for an absolutely fantastic time.
We visited Kanapitsa for the first time in 2012 and fell in love with it - the area, the hotel, the staff, the whole package, so much so we returned this year for two weeks. Next year, if we can it will be three weeks - that is how much we totally recommend Kanapitsa Mare...
Fantastic location, good food, very helpful staff, what more do you need? Thank you Kanapitsa Mare - really missing you...

Room Tip: Don't have a room on the ground floor, rather dark as they don't get the sun for long. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear guests
Thank you for your kind words; it always makes us happy to see our guests enjoying their holidays and returning each year happier. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Have stayed here twice & both times had a brilliant stay. Rooms always clean and comfortable, air con really is good. Breakfast is always good and staff very friendly and helpful. Owner makes personal visit at breakfast & greets all guests nice touch. Been visiting skiathos since 2001 brilliant island.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 2764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear guests
It gives us happiness and pride to see our guests enjoying their stay with us.
We thank you for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We have visited Skiathos 10 times, or more, but this was the first time we'd stayed at this hotel. The hotel is not MODERN but that's not a bad thing because it means it offers rather grand, very spacious common areas (e.g. reception, lounge, pool/bar) and especially the bedroom; certainly the largest we've ever stayed in in Skiathos! It was spotlessly clean, really nicely decorated - very traditional/classic.

Breakfasts can be monotonous in Skiathos, but not the case at the Kanapitsa Mare Hotel, and the breakfast area was inside and out, which is just glorious.

Location's terrific - off the main road, but close enough to walk 5 minutes to catch the bus. I walked around the Kanapitsa peninsular every morning (1/2 hour) which was delightful.

I'd not hesitate to recommend this hotel. My only, teeny-weeny issue, was that the pool area was a bit dull.

Hotel owners ... you could really make something better of this area because it's a huge pool, the surrounding area is big and the view is fantastic. More bright brollies, comfy beds etc would really make this area SOMETHING SPECIAL.

Room Tip: Top floor, far left as you look at the hotel, at the front (with sea view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKandUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear guests
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your thoughts from your holiday in Skiathos. We have noted your suggestions for the pool area and have scheduled a number of changes to make the area more attractive.
We look forward to seeing you again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Plaza Skiathos Hotel
Plaza Skiathos Hotel
#53 of 88 in Skiathos
237 reviews
2.6 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#7 of 88 in Skiathos
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
1.2 mi away
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
#45 of 88 in Skiathos
82 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa

Property: Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
Address: Tzaneria Skiathos | PO Box155, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 88 Hotels in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel And Spa
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel Skiathos
Kanapitsa Mare Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing