We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“skiathos paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“skiathos paradise”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

we stayed at the kanapitsa mare the last two weeks in june with 11 friends to celebrate our 30th wed aniv and renew our wed vows . we found the hotel an excellent base to explore the island . the hotel is spotless the staff are great and breakfast good. the manager would come round most morning to check all was ok . while it need a few tweeks here and there i would have no hesitations in returning .great holiday .wonderfull island !!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear guests
Thank you for your kind words and your constructive suggestions. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    100
    38
    27
    27
See reviews for
51
168
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chania, Greece
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It is a basic-you get what you pay for- hotel. The rooms are ok, they can do with a better tv and newer air-conditioning systems (not so noisy). Basically it was clean, but on the first night our blankets had spots and they looked dirty, we didn't use them and the next day they were replaced with clean ones. It is close to Kanapitsa beach, which is clean and nice especially for families. Skiathos has a lot of nice beaches you can visit around the hotel. It is close to the city of Skiathos (approximately 10 minutes with the car) and there is a bus stop very close to the hotel if you are using public transportation.

The staff was very helpful, especially the cleaning lady and the italian girl in the reception and the breakfast was good.

There are a lot of place to relax in the lobby and around the pool.

All in all a value for money hotel in Skiathos!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eudoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guests
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

just visted kanapista mare..been at this hotel now for 5yrs and still the same 1great location 2very clean fantastic maids 3 tanie great bar man who really goes out of his way to help you and makes you the best cocktails and always smileing 4 ' panas the owner very help full in helping us out in makeing our wedding vows.what ever people say about the hotel or the staff or the owner go to this hotel and you will be happy and if you have any problems or doubts just speak to the reception staff or panus and they are soon be sorted.thank you panus and staff and especilly tanie or marius and see you in august for wedding vows for another great hoilday ....thanks to all of the staff as well...ps thank you to panus sister in law at the cape kanapistsa very help full

Room Tip: floor 5 or 6 fantastic rooms and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennisandlesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Dennis and Lesa
Not much to say; you said it all. Many returns to our hotel, wedding vows renewal in august!
We look forward to seeing you and having a great time in Skiathos!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is my second stay at the Kanapitsa Mare Hotel and Spa. It's easy to get to and from Skiathos Town as it is located near bus stop 12.

The reception area is bright and airy and all the staff are friendly and helpful. Checkin was swift with no hassles.

The room on the second floor I was allocated was of a good size and everything in good working order, in particular the AC was very effective. What is so special about this hotel is the view. During my 7-night stay I did not tire off looking across the bay.

Breakfast provided consisted of cheese and meats along with some fruit and cereals. I'm guilty of skipping on breakfast in favour of extra time in bed but it is adequate to start your day.

I would definitely return to this hotel for its ease, it's view and its location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guests
Reading through your review there is not much to say from our part than a big thank you.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

we recently spent a week at this hotel having booked the holiday with another couple. our room was very decent with everything we needed and was cleaned daily. we had a wonderful view of the bay from our 2nd floor. Breakfast was basic but there was plenty of it and the staff were always friendly and attentive. Reception staff also friendly, helpful and professional. Generally we lazed by the pool during the day or wondered down to the nearby beach for a swim. the pool area was clean and a bar very close by providing refreshments and snacks. Friendly staff always on hand to attend and wait on you and nothing was ever too much trouble. Marius the bar tender was a great person and really made our holiday. Everything from welcome drinks to farewell drinks and much more in-between. Very friendly, funny and there daily from 3pm till late into the night. The only suggestion we would make is that a restaurant be opened. The elevated terrace with wonderful views would be an ideal place to relax well into the evening. And maybe a weekly bbq with Marius on hand to tend to the thirsty guests. With these additional facilities there would be no need to leave the hotel. Thank you for our holiday.

Room Tip: the higher your room then the more elevated you are for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 66Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guests
We are glad that you had a good and relaxing holiday in our property; the management and staff of the hotel work hard to meet the needs of each guest in order to make their holiday a memorable experience. In terms of the "restaurant" , we are making additions to our snack bar menu in order to make more lunch-early dinner options available to our guests.
Once again thank you for spending your holidays with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We found out that we were staying at the Kanapitsa Mare Hotel 14 hours before we were due to leave the UK. Apparently Cosmos/Monarch had overbooked our original choice at the Sunset Hotel/Koukennaries, even though our holiday had been booked as far back as October 2013.....anyway I digress.

We didn't have time to change our plans, so went ahead with some in trepidation as the reviews on tripadvisor were somewhat varied in respect of the hotel.

On arrival George, the hotel manager greeted us and left us with the hotels receptionist, who was very efficient. We were given a superior room (509) located on the fifth floor, with breakfast included. This was part of Cosmos/Monarchs way of compensating us for changing our holiday at late notice.

Room 509 was lovely and spacious, the bed was huge and the mattress was better than any other we had experienced in Greece. However the pillows were small and flat and very uncomfortable, and by the end of the holiday my husband had four to himself. The view from our room was truly spectacular, with wide views across the bay.

The air conditioning was quiet and effective. The room was equipped with a fridge and TV. The bathroom was reasonably large and it was a pleasure having a bath with a shower AND a shower curtain, which we are not used to in Greece. There was also a built in hair dryer which was very powerful.

Towels were changed daily and the bed was made up on a daily basis. The rooms were kept reasonably clean, and although I watch the programme 'Four in a Bed' I did not feel compelled to check out bath/ shower plug holes for pubic hair like some of our fellow holidayers!

Breakfast was included and fairly basic (omelette, sausages, bacon, croissants, Greek yoghurt, fruit). The coffee was often tepid, but Angela who not only cooked, prepared breakfast was very happy to replace if you let her know. She is very sweet and very keen to improve her English, so please take the time to chat to her.

Marius the barman makes a wicked Mojito as mentioned in previous reviews and I tried them most evenings just to make sure. 'Happy Hour' lasts as long as he deems fit. The drinks are very reasonably priced at 5 euros, cheapest we've ever paid in Greece.

The bar and pool area are impressive but under used. There is a spectacular view over the ocean and beach at Nostos. A few brightly coloured sun umbrellas wouldn't go amiss as the area did not have enough shaded areas. It's a shame that the hotel don't take advantage of this magnificent space as it would suit a weekly Greek themed BBQ night, as there are no other hotels or tavernas offering this locally.

Overall we had a very relaxing holiday, but it was not a hotel we would have chosen as we love typically Greek small family run establishments. But saying that we had a great holiday and met some lovely people.

Skiathos is a beautiful island with some of the best beaches I have seen in Greece or the Greek Islands.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank happyhols_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guests
It was a pleasure having you with us and thank you for your kind words. Reading through your review I believe that you have covered all angles! :) As for the pool area we are planning additional changes and your thoughts have been noted.
Once again thank you for staying with us; PS: best regards from Panos, the hotel manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel has fantastic views and great building, rooms and open spaces, but and it's a big but, it's so not cared for. With a good gardener, some decent catering and attention to all the maintenance this place could be brilliant. As an example, our room was big, clean and had great view but the bathroom had a broken grate in the floor, the towel rail was falling off, the shower fitting had sharp edges on that cut you and the towels were often rock hard and full of holes. The balcony had a planter on the front that had a couple of dead plants in it as did the planters around the dining patio. our air con didn't work and was eventually replaced with a 2nd hand unit that could just about blow as hard as me, the day before we left. This involved the wall in our room being chisseled out at 7pm at night just when we wanted to get ready to go out. At breakfast we had to eat of trays, apparently so we didn't dirty the table cloth. The food was very poor quality, sugar water for orange juice, stewed coffee and a very poor selection of hot food. The chairs all had the bottoms hanging out as did most of the chairs around the pool. The owner could have a fantastic hotel if he put a bit of effort into it's maintenance. He always has an answer and a good reason why things are not right but does not have the solutions. don't get me wrong, we enjoyed our stay and the staff especially Delores were great. This place just needs e really enthusiastic manager.

Room Tip: need to have sea view on 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limOsteers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear guests
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your thoughts but I have to admit that I am a bit surprised by your thoughts which you did not mention while at the hotel. You mentioned some issues about the bathroom and the terrace and about the a/c function; as for the room issues, anything that you reported at the reception was dealt with promptly and with professionalism. As for the a/c, machines do happen to break unfortunately and on behalf of the hotel I apologized for the inconvenience and offered to change you rooms to a higher floor which you rejected and preferred to stay in the same room; you requested a fan which we provided immediately. As I explained to your husband we requested another unit to come from Volos to replace the broken one and the unit received was a refurbished one which is quality tested.
That being said, regarding your room thoughts, I believe that we did give you alternatives to ensure that your holiday was joyful (deluxe room on the 6th floor) but you chose not to move.
I would like to stress that as I explained to your husband new machines come from the mainland and we made every effort to speed things up.
You mention that one "should not get you wrong and you had a good time"; I honestly can't help but wonder what you would say about the hotel if you did not have a good time.
We at Kanapitsa Hotels Group ask and encourage our guests to share their constructive criticism and thoughts about their experience in our hotels; we are always happy to read and feel with our guests their happiness and at the same time we build on and improve based on the constructive criticism of the people that make use of our services.
The hotel manager (myself) is always at the disposal of all guests to hall make their stay relaxing and pleasant; if you feel after your stay with us, that the manager "just had explanations" and did not offer solutions (although he offered a room change at a better room) I apologize for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
#48 of 84 in Skiathos
82 reviews
2.6 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#5 of 84 in Skiathos
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Plaza Skiathos Hotel
Plaza Skiathos Hotel
#59 of 84 in Skiathos
241 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
1.0 mi away
Magic Hotel
Magic Hotel
#3 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa

Property: Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
Address: Tzaneria Skiathos | PO Box155, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel Skiathos
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel And Spa
Kanapitsa Mare Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing