We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites
Ranked #68 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Reviewed 8 September 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a fantastic 11 night stay at this hotel. This was our 4th visit to Skiathos, 2nd visit to the Kanapitsa area and 1st visit to the Cape Kanapitsa Hotel. What an excellent choice we made!

Having previously stayed in the Kanapitsa area, we had an idea of the location of this particular hotel and knew that the view would be pretty good as described in other travel reviews. However, we were unprepared for just how amazing it actually is!!

We had pre-booked direct with the hotel for a 'superior deluxe double room' particularly for the use of a jacuzzi bath and the added little extras. However, we began to get a little apprehensive about our booking having read some of the negative reviews posted.

We need not have worried. Upon our arrival we received a warm and welcome reception and had a quick check in to our allocated room. We then had a few minor complaints such as our door fob didn't work, no robes left in our room etc. as described but these issues were resolved within minutes.

We were more than pleased with our room until we discovered that our jacuzzi bath (main reason for booking this particular room) didn't work. We reported this to reception and an engineer was sent but was unable to resolve the fault. We were then offered an alternative room which was actually a two bedroomed apartment with even better views and from three different balconies! The apartment was of the same standard if not better than our original room and had 2 bathrooms one which had a jacuzzi bath as per our original request and one with a very large and powerful shower. The apartment also had a very spacious lounge which was furnished to a high standard.

As previous comments, the breakfast can become a little mundane but was always fresh serving soft breads, boiled eggs, cereals, fresh fruits, preservatives, yoghurt, hams, cheeses, rolled omelette's, bacon and small continental sausages. At all times the breakfast was extremely well presented and there was plenty. It was a pleasant surprise to have a variety of jams and marmalades in sealed individual pots rather than the typical large glass bowls that are often re-served day in and day out (attracting wasps, flies etc.) as in many hotels. Also to have butter rather than the usual margarine!

Whilst we didn't tend to use the pool as we like to be on the beach, what we saw of the pool did meet our expectations, it looked extremely inviting and was well maintained. I personally witnessed it being cleaned every morning.

The exterior public areas of the hotel were also cleaned daily and extremely well maintained. The cleaners were always visible, smartly dressed, extremely polite and friendly and always had a welcome smile. In terms of room cleanliness, we had no complaints, our room was cleaned daily with fresh towels and fresh sheets. If we had to be really fastidious in respect of cleaning, the only thing we could pick up on would be that the floors could possibly be mopped a little more often but that would be being really picky.

The beds were large and extremely comfortable by Greek standards. Both of the rooms that we stayed in were also equiped with very efficient air conditioning. We are aware that there are a variety of room standards to choose from at the hotel and unable to comment in regards to the standard rooms but certainly with respect to both the deluxe rooms and the apartment we stayed in, we considered that a lot of effort and expense has been put in to make these of high standard.

Our regards to all the management and staff for a truly wonderful and memorable holiday. Our stay at the Cape Kanapitsa is definately the best holiday we've had in Skiathos and we wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flo20450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear Flo20450,
It was a pleasure meeting you and we are happy that you enjoyed your vacation with us.
On behalf of the management and staff of Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2011

Just returned from a wonderful 10 day stay in one of the hotel's 2 bed / 2 bath apartments with views which simply took my breath away..

This was our first visit to Skiathos and with an overwhelming choice of hotels to choose we were happy to take the recommendation from Visons of Greece..thanks to all there for making our trip so straightforward! I travel widely for work and stay in many well known (and expensive !) hotels but this hidden gem was indeed a fabulous find. Good honest value for money with superb levels of service and warmth from all the staff with 'nothing being a problem..' Of course there are always aspects which could be improved and it was exciting to speak with the owners, Ilias and Leni and hear their plans for the future.. with their passion and energy I believe that anything is possible!
Skiathos is a mere 8 miles long and if you want the buzz of the port with its clubs, bars, flashy yachts and numerous restaurants then it is all there for the taking within a 10 minute (sometimes hairy!) taxi ride..our preferred option was the 7.30 pm water taxi from the jetty beneath the hotel .. the chilled option! We did the Skiathos town experience on a couple of evenings but were more than happy to eat locally and enjoy the vibe of the Blu Bar in the very capable hands of Cedo and Ledi.. .the bar commonly stays open until 3am but is considerate of other residents so noise was never an issue. On our last evening which happened to coincide with a full moon we decided to stay locally and were wonderfully looked after by the team..a simple but perfect meal on the terrace overlooking the sea by candlelight with sea beneath and the moon above..the pictures say it all..

Thanks once again to all at Cape Kanapitsa and we hope to see you again! Best wishes Helen, David, Greg & Jess

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaneh61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2011

Dear Helen, David, Greg & Jess
Thank you for choosing our hotel; we are glad that you had a good time. We also look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel for another great vacation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

If you want your vacations to become a nightmare go to Cape Canapitsa Suites. It is the worst hotel I have ever visited. No cleaning service, Stained and dirty sheets, very poor breakfast, The answer to every query is negative. You might end up spending the night in a standard room even if you have paid for a suite.
The guests in this hotel are treated like enemies If you claim white they will automatically say black. Visiting this hotel is like buing a good summer headache.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ninos_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear guest,
I apologize for my late reply. It makes us unhappy to read such reviews but as I have mentioned many times, hiding behind anonymity and making such comments does not add any value. If as you claim, you stayed in our unit and none of the services you received (let alone the room you were assigned) were not up to your standards, why did you not report it to the reception staff or the hotel manager on duty to be resolved on the spot? Being that I myself am also a traveler for both business as pleasure reasons, if I have issues with the services that are offered to me being below par, I report it and make sure they are resolved; I would not spend my stay at a hotel that I not happy with and go on-line hiding behind anonymity to just make bad publicity for the hotel.
I have stressed in many occasions that constructive criticism is encouraged for all establishments of Kanapitsa Hotels Group as it is an additional means of getting feedback for our guests about their stay.
We at Kanapitsa Hotels take very seriously the constructive thoughts, suggestions of our guests that help us improve our offered services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We spent 10 days in this hotel. Recently renovated with ver good and spacious rooms. The breakfast was very good, the personnel gentle and willing.
Close to 2 nice beaches
The most important thing: this hotel is located in the most picturesque place of the island.
Sitting in its balcony the sea view is extremely amazing!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yurikos02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2011

Dear Yurikos02,
It was a pleasure having you with us and we are glad you enjoyed your vacation with us
We look forward to welcoming you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Just to say thankyou to all at Cape Kanapitsa. We had a wonderful holiday as always. We have visited every year for many years and are never disappointed. Thanks especially to Maya, who booked our latest stay. She gave us a good price and was very efficient as always. Well done. The position is of course is fabulous with easy access to beaches and tavernas. We can highly recommend this hotel as staff are always obliging and helpful. Nothing is to much trouble. We hope to be able to return in 2011 and are already looking forward to our next visit ! Graham and Miriam.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirsuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear guests,
I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the delay in my answer and thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your summer vacation in Skiathos. Since your stay we have made numerous additions/adjustments/improvements to make your next stay even more memorable.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

YES, the location is somewhat unique!

After having spent 3 nights in a Deluxe room with astonishing view over the Kanapitsa bay and Tzaneria beach I feel free to recommend this hotel to any traveler seeking a relaxed stay in Skiathos island.

The room was clean as it should be and offered ample space, not a common feature in most hotels worldwide. The bathroom was also spacious hosting both a bathtub and shower as well as two sinks (cool huh?!!). The balcony provides cool shade most of the day.

All in all, friendly service and staff. Fabulous breakfast terrace by the pool. Breakfast itself offers a wide selection of stuff although I personally felt it lacks a little bit of “character” maybe..? Can’t really define this – sorry - nonetheless it is still a rich breakfast that will keep you full. The utterly important fact is they offer excellent cappuccino freddo, an absolute rarity when it comes to hotel bars!
The surrounding area offers two – pretty quiet – sandy beaches, both in walking distance where also quality Greek food and water sports can be found. The scenery road following all the way round the coastal line of Kalamaki peninsula is an enjoyment to hike or just drive.

Most of the rest beaches of the island – except some of the northern ones – as well as the city of Skiathos and the airport are then a 5-15 min drive away.

If you are willing to pamper yourself with tranquility, killer views and easy access to a selection of wonderful beaches, either on foot or by car/motor, Cape Kanapitsa should definitely be lying amongst your favorite options. Going for a Deluxe room will offer you this extra dose of luxury and is well worth the extra cost.

Then walk yourself down the 5min path from the breakfast area to the Tzaneria beach for an early morning swim…!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gxaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear guests,
I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the delay in my answer and thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your summer vacation in Skiathos.
We are glad that you liked the "extra features-2 sinks!!". During the last 2 years we have made various improvements to make your summer vacation stay even more relaxing.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

I booked Kanapitsa cape over the phone and credit card.
i arrived late as i had informed the reception.

when i arrived there was no double room as per my reservation but only twin rooms.

reception apologised and advised there were double rooms available but at a higher rate. she then called the manager (and owner i understand) who without showing any sign of apology asked me to either take it or leave it, and if i didnt like the deal i could just leave the hotel.

I ended up leaving at 23:00 looking for a hotel in the night.

i resorted to the hotel next door Kanapitsa mare, who i found out afterwards is owned by the same person.

i was initially shown a room that in the next morning i was asked to vacate because it was of a higher rate than the one offered when i arrived.

the spa and massage advertised also didnt work and during the night water came in the room due to a leak in the corridor.

i left the area completely and stayed at atrium hotel down the road which was an oasis compared with the dodgy feel of these two hotels.

i wouldnt like anyone clueless as i was to end up in the same situation of having to choose integrity or looking for a hotel at night

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MISTERP1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2010

In regards to the review posted by this visitor we would like to inform all about the following sequence of events;

1. The guests were on the boat when they booked and as per the guests request a double room was reserved (first available was a twin as the reservation took place very late in the day)

2. Upon the guests arrival they were shown the room and an argument took place in the reception as the guests demanded a double room (while booking at no time did they mention such a request)-the receptionist and the manager advised them that they could be moved the next morning to standard room with a double bed AT NO EXTRA CHARGE. They continued to argue and then they left.

3. In regards to Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa; the guests came asking for a room with a double bed and were given at approximately 23.30 in the evening the only room available which was a suite, in an effort to help them relax,as they seemed quite tired. In the morning after breakfast they were advised that they would need to be moved to another room in the same floor at no extra charge because the room was a suite and other guests were expected to arrive-the response was that the guests told the receptionist on duty that this was unacceptable, that they would leave immediately, that if they knew that the owner was the same person they would never have comed to the hotel and that they would post a negative review at tripadvisor for the hotel.

I have to say on behalf of the hotel that we were very surprised with the attitude of these guests since they booked a few hours prior to arrival, the staff in both hotels tried to accomodate in the best way possible and the response from the guests was to post a negative review.

We believe at Kanapitsa Hotels Group that after approximately 40 years in the business of hospitality and tourism, the ever growing number of repeat customers that honor the hotels with their continued confidence for memorable vacations in Skiathos is the best sign of the quality services that we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.2 mi away
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
#54 of 84 in Skiathos
308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#77 of 84 in Skiathos
59 reviews
1.2 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vassilias Beach Hotel
Vassilias Beach Hotel
#70 of 84 in Skiathos
11 reviews
2.8 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,160 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites

Address: Kanapitsa | Kalamaki, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Skiathos
Price Range: £60 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sapphire waters, emerald pine trees and topaz blue skies surround Hotel Suites Cape Kanapitsa of Skiathos. Placed on a private peninsula of 8-acre property overlooking the Aegean and the magnificent Bay of Kanapitsa, Hotel-Suites Cape Kanapitsa occupies what is undoubtedly one of the best positions on the island. Built high on a headland between two wide bays in the grounds of the pretty Hotel Suites Cape Kanapitsa, they are set in abundant semi-tropical gardens with an attractive seawater swimming pool and bar overlooking the Aegean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Kanapitsa Hotel And Suites
Cape Kanapitsa Hotel Skiathos
Cape Kanapitsa Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing