We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best apartments on Skiathos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites
Ranked #67 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best apartments on Skiathos”
Reviewed 1 January 2008

The Cape Kanapitsa Apartments are really lovely. It is not a hotel - though there is a reception area with safe deposit boxes to rent. It is an older building that is being done up bit by bit - and very tastefully too. We (5 adults) booked the more recently decorated 3-beds with 3 bathrooms for a week in September 2007. Breakfast by the pool was included - fine if you stick to the yoghurts, rolls and fruit. (No one in our party had the courage to try the awful looking scrambled eggs and streaky bacon that was meant to be an English breakfast!)

The complex had friendly staff with good English, a lovely hill top location with fabulous views, 2 nice beaches nearby and easy transport into Skiathos town by boat or bus. We loved the apartments - and we are a picky lot! But as other reviewers have already said, Cape Kanapitsa is not a place for children or teenagers - it would be far too quiet for them.

As for the island of Skiathos, it was much smaller than we realised -many nice beaches but only one town - Skiathos town itself. And only 2 monasteries - both of which are worth a visit. We took a boat trip around the island and lapped up the sun.

We had already spent a week on Skopelos - much bigger, much quieter, and much more authentically Greek than Skiathos. But I would sooner go back to Skiathos - because of the Cape Kanapitsa Apartments. It would be difficult to find better apartments or a more relaxing atmosphere anywhere.

  • Liked — The views from the hill-top location, the modern marble bathrooms and the boat taxi into Skiathos town
  • Disliked — The truly awful bacon and eggs for breakfast!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank DublinEvelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear guests,
I sincerely apologize for our delayed answer and wish to thank you very much for your stay. Regarding the eggs and bacon I must apologize if you were not happy with the "look" but the staff is always happy to offer alternatives if they are informed; they are at your disposal to make your vacation a great experience. Also please note that the breakfast in not "English", but "buffet". In any event your suggestions have been taken under serious consideration and have been included within the periodic updates and changes we make in our effort to keep improving and maintaining the highest possible level of services.
We are glad that your vacation with us was a pleasant experience and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    47
    16
    8
    23
See reviews for
45
74
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2007

I booked Cape Kanapitsa because it fulfilled many of our requirements for accomodation and location(specifically not on the main road, which cuts out many Skiathos hotels), but am pleased to say that our expectations were easily exceeded.

The location is excellent: on a small promentary between Kanapitsa and Tzaneria beach, with a 5 minute walk down to both (longer back up in the heat, and not paticularly suitable for. those with walking difficulities, but there was plenty of parking at the back of both beaches if you had a car) The view from our balcony across the bay to Skiathos town (and across to both beaches) was worthy of a 5 star hotel. It is about 10 minute walk to the main road, to the bus stop - from our apartment on the Kanapitsa Beach side, we experienced no road noise.

We had a 2 bedroom apartment, which was spacious and comfortable, with airconditioning in the bedrooms (one double and one twin). There were two bathrooms: one with shower over bath, and the other a walk in shower. Both were kept clean by the pleasant cleaning staff, who cleaned every day. The kitchen area was small but certainly adequate for a summer holiday: we used it to prepare lunch and breakfast and ate out every evening. There was also a large dining table and sitting area and a long shady balcony, which could be accessed from the living room and both bedrooms.

There are two pools on a lovely sun deck with, again, a fabulous view. This would be my only point of criticism: the pools are seawater, which isn't usually a concern to us in places with water shortages, but this seemed very, very concentrated. In the morning, the combination of chemicals and salt was quite painful without goggles, but it had usually eased by evening. There were comfortable wooden loungers with mattresses, but no parasols - ok, if you had the ones near the wall because that gave shade, but the ones on the main deck were for sun worshippers. I was told it was too windy for parasols, and I can believe it as there was usually a very welcome breeze. There was no silly lounger bagging with towels - we never had a problem finding one when we wanted, but we also took our stuff away when we weren't using it, as did everyone else.

We tended to spend the morning at the beach anyway. We preferred Kanapitsa beach, as we found the other to be a bit noisy from the road and from some intermittent building work. Kanapitsa beach is wide but not very deep, so there is only one row of parasols to hire,which makes it very peaceful. The water is wonderfully clear, and my daughter and I spent hours snorkelling. We did go onto the other beach for my daughter to have an introductory scuba diving lesson. She loved this - my husband who used to dive when younger went with her on the boat and was impressed by the tuition (Dolphin Diving Centre).

There was a snack bar by the pool which served breakfast to those in the hotel rooms, drinks and lunch. Cape Kanapitsa is a mixture of apartments and hotel rooms but it is difficult to tell which is which from the outside. Every room seems to face either the beaches or out to sea and there are lots of plants and places to sit in the small gardens I would recommend our apartment's position overlooking the pool - we could see family members in the pool, but the gentle music from the bar wasn't annoying ( and finished relatively early).

In the evening, we either caught the water taxi from either beach (it goes from one and then goes to the other) into Skiathos town to eat or went to Kanapitsa Taverna on Kanapitsa beach or Jonny's behind (not on) Tzaneria beach. We thought the food and the friendly atmosphere was better at Jonny's, but the view and setting of the Kanapitsa Taverna was wonderful. The return time of the water taxi didn't always suit us, but the taxi back from town was only about 8 - 9 euros.For our breakfast and lunch shopping, there was a supermarket about 5 minutes steep walk down hill towards that main road that sold everything we needed.

We travelled from the UK through Simply Travel, who have now been taken over by Thomson and the prices seem to have gone up for next season (without the personal touches of the Simply Travel service). The reception staff are very friendly and professional all speak good English, so if you can arrange a flight I would consider booking direct - there is a good website for info, but I would feel confident about phoning..

Overall, we had a wonderful time - the atmosphere is low key and pleasantly civilised - a nice mixture of Italian, Spanish, English and American families and couples - my teenagers found others to talk to and the place felt very safe. It would not be the place for those looking for entertainment or nightlife on site - but some of the older teens found plenty to do in the clubs in Skiathos Town.

We would happily go back, but we like to try new places - my challenge from the family is to find somewhere as good for next year!

  • Liked — The location and view
  • Disliked — Super salty pool
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank valise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear guests,
I sincerely apologize for our delayed answer and wish to thank you very much for your stay and your kind words. It was a pleasure having you with and and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2007

Cape Kanapitsa is, quite simply, beautiful. But it's not the place for you if you're looking for (or planning to make) lots of noise, intend partying hard or like acres of tourist tat.

We had to pinch ourselves when we first saw the setting of the pool area (there are two of them, neither enormous or shallow but perfectly designed for keeping us and our two small children happy and cool). It's as minimalist, upmarket, whitewashed and gorgeous as those you see cunningly photographed and shown full page size in upmarket brochures (only to find there's actually a car park or similar just out of shot), except that it was real, inviting, peaceful - and there wasn't anything in the backdrop but a stunning panorama of the sea dotted with little islands and bobbing yachts. Pure bliss.

Our three-bedroom, three-shower-room self-catering apartment was bigger than many people's homes! It was also understated, chic and immaculately clean (albeit, for the sake of the pedantic, with the odd tiny rough edge in terms of decorative finish), with a grassy terrace and sea view from every room. The staff were friendly, professional and discreet and the pool bar was open day and night for drinks, ice creams and light meals.

A car genuinely isn't necessary as buses (5 minutes' walk away) run every 20 minutes until midnight and there's a reliable hourly water taxi to Skiathos Town from the small beaches on either side of Cape Kanapitsa (each with a taverna, and there are also a couple of other restaurants inland within minutes of the accommodation on foot - none spectacular in terms of cuisine but all very pleasant). In fact our car was almost a disadvantage because it's impossible to park near many of the paths to Skiathos' numerous beaches, so we often took the bus or boat instead.

My only criticism of Skiathos (if it is one) is that while it's actually not as over-developed or tacky as some travel books imply (albeit there are lots of touristy shops on the main street in the town but hey) it's no longer very, well... 'Greek'. We saw no elderly women in black dresses, heard no tinkling goats' bells on the beach (or anywhere else for that matter) and witnessed no groups of men lingering over Metaxa as they put the world to rights.

So if you're looking for something culturally authentic, opt for another island. But if you're hoping for a lovely place to chill out and enjoy a lazy beach or pool-based holiday in gorgeous, verdant surroundings, Skiathos - and Cape Kanapitsa in particular, should be at the top of your list.

And I'm a fussy, hypercritical old cow normally.

  • Liked — The location was amazingly beautiful
  • Disliked — The fact that it was only ours for a week
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank paulizizziloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear guests,
I sincerely apologize for our delayed answer and wish to thank you very much for your stay and your kind words.
Please note that "authentic Greek ladies with the black dresses" are still around-ask your receptionist to give you more details (few hidden blocks within Skiathos town!!). We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAMPSHIRE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2006

We stayed for two weeks in September at Cape Kanapitsa and had the most relaxing enjoyable holiday.

We booked through Sunvil holidays the flight going over had plenty of leg room but coming back there was less, and the disadvantage was having to stop off at Lemnos, this added an extra hour and half onto the return journey.

We upgraded to a Deluxe room which was well worth the extra money. A couple we met had a standard room and were disappointed. I saw the room and agree.

Our room was spacious and had a sofa,fridge, air conditioning and a free safe. The bathroom had a bath and walk in shower. We also had the most amazing view overlooking the bay. All rooms have a seaview . The only very slight disadvantage was you could hear road traffic slightly .

Breakfast was simple but more than adequate, and sitting overlooking the bay whilst eating was wonderful.

The pools are small and not heated, in September the water was cold so not very inviting and the sunbed mattress's could do with being renewed.

There are three taverna's nearby, was not particullaly fussed with Johnnies, food was good but service was very rushed, it was always busy though. My idea of having a meal is to feel relaxed and not see people rushing around.

There is a supermarket nearby and they will deliver free anything you purchase - very handy not to have to carry the water! The hotel is situated on a rocky headland so there are steep walks to get to and from the bus stop/tavernas. From the hotel there is a very scenic walk which takes about and hour and half and has the most amazing views.

Beaches are good, we liked Banana and Mandraki they are a trek but well worth it. Skiathos town is very nice, there is a water taxi from the bay next to the hotel which runs very frequently and makes a change from the bus

The bus service was an excellent way of getting around, there is only one road and all resorts are know by bus stop numbers!

I know there are negatives in this review but overall it is probably one of the best hotels on the island and we had a thoroughly lovely time. Usually ready to come home after two weeks but we could quite easily have done a third.

Helpful?
5 Thank CAROLKATRINA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear guests,
I sincerely apologize for our delayed answer and wish to thank you very much for your stay and your kind words. Constructive criticism such as the points within your review help us improve and offer higher quality vacation experiences. That is why since your stay many advances have been made (based on the suggestions we receive from "constructive reviews") and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2006

We were fortunate enough to stay in one of the newly refurbished apartments at the Cape Kanapitsa hotel...not only were we impressed with the hotels location (easy access via bus with two great QUIET beaches either side of the hotel) but also with the rooms cleanliness and the friendliness of the staff.

The hotel had Tzaneria beach on one side and kanapitsa on the other. Both had great tavernas and one had a diving centre. Despite our lack of knowledge we had a great diving trip with the team and truley a memorable experience.

The Sea Taxi was useful...a direct service into central Skiathos every hour.

The hotel's bar was open all day and although there was no restaurant the hotel did have a cafe where nice enough food was served. Breakfast was minimal but sufficient and the rooms were very comfortable and nicely laid out!

Thanks to all at the hotel for a fantastic trip!

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — no restaurant
  • Tips/Secrets — Go Diving and make use of watersports centre
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank Learoy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear guests,
I sincerely apologize for our delayed answer and wish to thank you very much for your stay and your kind words. Since your stay many advances have been made (an Italian style restaurant is in place, featuring hand made pizza) and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2005

We have just returned from our second trip to Skiathos. It was just as lovely as before. It was our first stay at the Cape and I have to say that I'm reluctant to share it with you guys out there. I have stayed in all grades of Greek accomadation but this was just idillic. Not luxurious like you might find in the cities of Europe but impressive for a mid range Greek hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean. The bathroom large with hot water 24/7 (not bad for Greece). Towels changed every day and staff that could not be more helpful.
The stunning setting and the views from the pool terrace were unbeatable. As I said, I had to pinch myself several times a day. Location fantastic if a little hilly for some. There are two lovely beaches within 5 minutes walk and several Tavernas close by. Transport to Skiathos town and the other beaches on the Island are easily reached by water taxi, local bus (cheap..if a little crowded) and friendly reliable Taxis. I know that some of you complain that this island has become expensive but I still you get much better value for money than in the UK. This includes good quality and friendly service. Try and explore the backstreets of Skiathos town if you want to avoid the premiums charged at the waterfront tavernas and bars. They pay a much larger rent than non-waterfront properties. Can't wait to go back next year.....in fact I shall probably go twice!!

Helpful?
21 Thank storm-in-a-D-cup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear guests,
I sincerely apologize for our delayed answer; on behalf of Kanapitsa Hotels Group I wish to thank you very much for your stay and your kind words. Since your stay many advances have been made and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2005

We just came back from having spent 5 days in Skiathos and are already planning a trip back. The Cape Kanapitsa hotel has wonderful big rooms with impeccable bathrooms, we especially enjoyed the terraces looking out over the sea.

The pool area is fabulous with a great terrace overlooking the sea, I cannot describe how wonderful it was.

The service was good and everyone very friendly. They will organise everything for you from scooter rentals to airline tickets if needed. We were made to feel very at home.

That the breakfast is simple, would be my only comment, but then again, I have no other hotel to compare it to, and as in Spain, they are not really big breakfast countries. On the other hand, the perfect location means you have 2 beaches within walking distance, with wonderful seaside restaurants on both!

I would also add that the clientele of the hotel is very civilised so you can relax by the pool or terrace without fearing boisterous tourists disturbing you.

I can't wait to get back to Cape Kanapitsa!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
33 Thank julrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiathosjsi, Manager at Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear guests,
I sincerely apologize for our delayed answer and wish to thank you very much for your stay and your kind words. Since your stay many advances have been made and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.2 mi away
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
#50 of 84 in Skiathos
286 reviews
2.8 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#6 of 84 in Skiathos
967 reviews
1.2 mi away
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
#48 of 84 in Skiathos
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Magic Hotel
Magic Hotel
#3 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
243 reviews
1.2 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
902 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites

Property: Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites
Address: Kanapitsa | Kalamaki, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sapphire waters, emerald pine trees and topaz blue skies surround Hotel Suites Cape Kanapitsa of Skiathos. Placed on a private peninsula of 8-acre property overlooking the Aegean and the magnificent Bay of Kanapitsa, Hotel-Suites Cape Kanapitsa occupies what is undoubtedly one of the best positions on the island. Built high on a headland between two wide bays in the grounds of the pretty Hotel Suites Cape Kanapitsa, they are set in abundant semi-tropical gardens with an attractive seawater swimming pool and bar overlooking the Aegean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Kanapitsa Hotel And Suites
Cape Kanapitsa Hotel Skiathos
Cape Kanapitsa Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing