We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely great”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Apollon Skiathos
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2011

If you want to stay at a lovely place with lovely people look no further, it is not 5 stars in the way of accommodation but the friendliness of the captain and Dounia and the food more than make up for any shortfalls. They were really helpful and great company. Our only regret was not eating enough meals at the hotel. We went out most nights to try many different restaurants but only one (The Windmill) topped the food we had here. Everyone there seemed to be regular visitors but it was in no way cliquey and we still had our privacy. The water taxi is a five minute walk down the hill and runs hourly into Skiathos town and you will not wait more than 5 minutes outside for a taxi (about 6 euros into town). We are definitely going back. Sorry there was one other regret, only staying a week!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Villa Apollon Skiathos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2011

Another lovely holiday at Villa Apollon. A very warm welcome by the owners who do all
they can to make your stay special. Can't beat having breakfast by the pool overlooking
the fabulous views of the bay. Very pleasant eating at the Villa if you've had a hectic day on a boat or plenty of tavernas to choose from in Skiathos town. Not had a bad meal in Skiathos yet. Skiathos has everything you could wish for on a holiday, lovely beaches,
beautiful views, boat trips and cobbled back streets to explore in the town. Will be definitely going again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annepotter90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

My 12 year old daughter, my cousin & I have just enjoyed the most perfect week thanks to Dounia & Captain, this fantastic hotel in an idyllic location on the best Greek island I've had the pleasure to visit so far (and there have been many). Dounia and Captain could not have been more kind, fun and helpful and are a rare find.

Not much to add to that and what's said below. The steps to Achladies beach would be difficult for the less mobile but as Mike below says, the bus stop really close by allows easy access to a number of excellent beaches including Koukounaries only 15 mins or so away. Also bear in mind that the steps take you through the Achladies Apartments amazing gardens where there's an aviary and turtle protection reserve - you may even get to encounter the effervescent Pauline (not vastly unlike Donna in Mamma Mia LOL) and hear about the escaped iguana :-)

One word of warning - the trip to Skopelos (Mamma Mia tour) from Skiathos town on "Poseidon" advertises 3 stops on its boards at the old port. In fact it only stops twice (Skopelos town & another which allows 30 min bus transfer to THE church), missing out the beach the boards clearly state you'll stop at. They wouldn't entertain even a partial refund on the basis that it was impossible to do 3 stops in the time ... so why advertise it?! This was the one and only negative experience of the entire week, and returning home to Captain & Dounia and a carafe of their finest white soon wiped out the disgruntledness! :-)

Room Tip: Rooms 5 to 8 poolside
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItalyLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Just returned from a week at Villa Apollon. Dounia and the Captain are perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them. We stayed in the 2 bed apartment, which was very clean and comfortable. The view from the balcony, and the quality of service more than make up for the basic bathroom facilities.

The villa is some way above Achladies beach - it is only a short walk, but does include 89 steps - more of a problem on the way back than going to the beach in the morning! However the nearest bus stop is very close to the gate and there are many fantastic beaches which are easily accessed from the bus route. Buses run every 15 minutes and there is also an hourly water taxi to Skiathos town. The round the island boat trip (from Skiathos Town - 20Euros, but negotiable - we paid only 15 per head) is a great way to see all the beaches at one go, and then to decide where to spend other days.

A very relaxing holiday. Not sure how quiet it would be in high season but at this time of year it is hard to think of a better place to go.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bickertonmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

What can I say, arrived home yesterday and completely gutted to have to leave this beautiful island, and even more so to come away from the Villa Apolon and the excellent hospitality of the Captain and Dounia.

A stay here is like a stay with family and friends, you are made to feel so welcome. We just love it and so do our children.

The rooms are lovely and cleaned every day, breakfast is now included in your stay and is a buffet with a choice for everyone; bacon, eggs, sausage, toast, ham, cheese, yoghurt, cereal, tea and coffee, juices, croissants and fresh fruits.

Evening meals are available too and the captain (your host) is a genius with the grill, serving the most amazing steaks and if you want you can have fresh fish caught that day.


In short it hurts to me to tell people about this place as you simply want to keep it for yourself, but that would be cruel.

All I can say is GO! and experience the most relaxing holiday with the most hospitable hosts.

Room Tip: all rooms have good views.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JH1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

This year was my fourth visit to Villa Apollon and, as on all previous visits, it was glorious. My first visit 5 years ago was a surprise appearance on the honeymoon of my daughter Hannah and her husband Darryl - sounds mad but that's just the sort of family we are! And this year it was another surprise appearance (for Hannah at least), along with other family members and godparents, at their fifth anniversary blessing.

Captain and Dounia, whom Darryl has known for about 12 years, played a huge part in the success of this event - arranging the blessing at the beautiful Evangelistria monastery and preparing the most delicious feast in the evening as well as keeping the secret for nearly a year.

Villa Apollon continues to have renovations to what was already marvellous and this year the pool and surrounding terrace have been upgraded and there are lovely comfortable sunbeds with fresh towels every morning. The rooms overlooking the pool are delightful and now have air conditioning although my preference is still to sleep with the doors open with lovely mediterranean breezes wafting in. And, although there is usually lots of conversation and sociable times around the bar, if you want to take a quiet moment and gaze at the view across Achladies bay you will feel restored.

The food prepared by Captain and Dounia is still amazing (and enormous!) and there were some new dishes this year including the king prawn on black rice - oh yeah! And Captain is still preparing the delicious antibiotics and, although there are many lovely place to eat on the island, the food and drink and hospitality at Villa Apollon are outstanding. You are always welcomed as a friend and it makes you feel truly cherished.

I love this place - it feels like my Greek home and Captain and Dounia feel like my Greek family - the highest praise I can give. May Villa Apollon continue to prosper and be filled with happy visitors for many yeears to come.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue_lawry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

After ariving yet again to this beautiful island we were all met with smiles and hugs from Dunia and Captain,the hosts of the Villa Apollon.From the moment the cases were unpacked we were ready for the hospitality these people offer when visting this beautifly located property on this sun drenched island.You can never get tired of the stunning views from your room or at the poolside.Relaxing by the poolside offers a great deal of real Greek life drinks and fantastic food not only during the day but into the evenings with the famous steaks, pork chops, and fresh fish all cooked to perfection on the grill by the Captain.Many people return to this place year in year out as we do and come away with wonderful memories of nights meeting new people who become freinds in such a short time of your stay .Resturants on the island are plentyful and finding new ones to vist after being to Skiathos for many years is not hard to do, 1901 ,Skilthri, Infinity Blue, to name but a few.We will definitley return to this wonderful island and to these wonderful people to enjoy yet another fantastic holiday!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHEEKYLITTLETHING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
1.5 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
959 reviews
3.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#1 of 1 in Katsarou
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Esperides
Hotel Esperides
#1 of 1 in Achladias
674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
1.6 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Apollon Skiathos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Apollon Skiathos

Address: Achladies, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Skiathos
Price Range: £35 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 3.5 kms from Skiathos town and 4.5 kms from Skiathos airport at one of the best beaches of the island named Achladies where you can find water-sports, tavernas, bars, restaurants, water taxi to town and supermarkets. Bus stop no 9 is 50 meters from the gate of the Villa. The most important characteristic of Villa Apollon is the feeling of comfort and relaxation.PRICE INCLUDES WELCOME DRINK, BABY COT,WI-FI CONNECTION, PARKING.STUDIOS (2 PERSONS) double bed or two single beds.STUDIOS (3 PERSONS) one double bed and one single bed.ONE BEDROOM APARTMENT(2-4 PERSONS) one double bed (bedroom)and two single beds at the living area.TWO BEDROOM APARTMENT(2-5PERSONS) Two bedrooms one with double bed and one with two single beds can sleep up to five-six (5-6) persons adding one or two single beds at the living area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Apollon Skiathos Hotel Skiathos
Apollon Hotel Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing