We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Apollon Skiathos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Apollon Skiathos
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Skiathos
Certificate of Excellence
Sileby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and at home. Dounias and Captain are the most hospitable people I have ever meet. The accomodation was very well equipped should you wish to self cater but with Dounias's cooking there was no way or need to cook. Everywhere is kept immaculatley clean by the lovely Donna and ever smiling Jack. The beach is a two min walk but it is very difficult to drag yourself from the lovely pool area and Captain's special Anitibiotic Frappe. In the two weeks we only ate out twice. Dounia's cooking is probably the best on the island and her Greek Salad is to die for. The veiw from our apartment was just amazing. The other people we met whilst staying here were mainly return visitor's and needless to say we will be joining the list of people who go back year after year. After all you cant improve on perfection. PS Dounia makes the best Orange Marmalade we have ever tasted.

Room Tip: Lovely veiws fro room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elaine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    35
    10
    19
    3
See reviews for
127
221
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Just returned from another perfect week with Dounia & Captain in the best possible accommodation on Skiathos. We ate in more this time and the specially ordered in lobster on our last night was just gorgeous. Breakfasts are fabulous and include parma ham and smoked salmon on a Sunday. We had a bigger two bed apartment this time and it was perfect, as was the upkeep of the rooms and facilities by Donna & Jack. Brutus & Tulip (the bulldogs) were as stunning to behold as the views over Achladies and Kanapitsa (the discovery of Taverna Kanapitsa this year was another big bonus). Negatives? It rained for 5 minutes one day (sunny either side of it though!) if that counts. Already booked for next year - this could run and run :-)

Room Tip: 4 poolside (5 is the two bedroom one), 4 on the 2nd floor and about another twelve just off to the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItalyLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Bit slow in writing this review sorry Captain and Dounia, just been thinking of holidays again.
We went in August 2011 as a family, me, my wife and 3 young daughters, and had an amazing time. We were made to feel very, very welcome, and the views over breakfast or a late afternoon drink by the pool are second to none.....so relaxing! There is a real family feel about the Villa Apollon, and as this was the first time we had been, and seen all the reviews our hopes were high, and definitely not disappointed.
The accomodation was very clean, and kept that way every day by maid service. Air con worked well, and we even had the pleasure of 2 families of Swallow's taking flight for the first time from chicks right outside the apartment which was great for the girls. No noise I would haten to add for us inside! Skiathos is an amazing island and we really fell in love with it, made perfect by our stay
at Villa Apollon.
Many thanks Captain and Dounia for making our holiday so amazing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We visited Villa Apollon in September 2011 after finding it on trip advisor. We were not disappointed. For us, the location of Villa Apollon, along with the spectacular views, were what made it a near perfect holiday. Sitting in the bar, drink in hand and looking at the sea view was simply breath taking! We ate 'in' a couple of evenings and the food was really good (especially the spatchcock chicken!!) and great value for money. The breakfasts which were included were also good with eggs, bacon, small sausages, toast, fruit, yoghurt, etc etc.

We loved Skiathos too - lots of fabulous beaches, good restaurants and a cheap and regular bus service taking us anywhere on the island.

If you are looking for 5 star luxurious accommodation then this place probably isn't for you. Don't get me wrong, the accommodation is perfectly adequate but is very Greek (especially the bathrooms!). But if you are the type of person who goes on holiday to stay in your room and watch tv, then this place isn't for you anyway! We try not to visit the same place twice as there are so many places in the world to try, but we have both said we would love to return to Skiathos and would not consider staying anywhere other than Villa Apollon!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lea020109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Wow! What a vacation!! We found our villa thru trip advisor where they were ranked no. 2, I'd like to see any place beat this. When you look at the pics and see these views and ask yourself can this be real?.....it is!!! When we arrived at Apollan Villas we were greeted by the owners Themis and Dunia, they made the place feel like a home away from home, in far away Greece. We stayed in a spotlessly clean 2 bedroom, that slept seven..even though we were only 4. It had a small kitchenette which I used for lunch and snacks for my family. I didn't need or want to cook because as a guest I had the ultimate pleasure of outstanding meals poolside with endless views of the Aegean, prepared by the owners(see pics.) Their prices were extremely reasonable for the high quality of food we received. Our kids loved the pool ( which also had an auto-cover, so no danger of accidently falling in) as well as the beach being a mere stones throw away. Another thing we noticed was the other guests were lovely and most of them were repeat visitors...like we will be!! We also chartered a big sailboat named Tutiboni, it came with Peter, the English captain. We sailed to the (Mama Mia) island of Skopelos. We stopped to snorkel several places as well as a lunch stop at a landmark Taverna...the food was excellent and we got to watch a cat do his own fishing at the waters edge..never seen that before!! I totally recommend this..sooo worth the money!! Our kids are 9 and 11 and finally able to help and appreciate the adventures we like to go on!! Hope this helps the next traveler. Dunia and Themis would do anything to make your stay ammenable and memorable!! Yassou Themi and Dunia.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skipton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We've been visiting Villa Apollon for the past 7 years and never, ever get tired of the place. Normally if you re-visit the same place its never the same but at Villa Apollon every year is always just as good, if not better, than the previous year. Waking up to the fabulous views and this years addition of the wonderful breakfast with bucks fizz, caviar and smoked salmon on Sundays, makes the start to the day just heaven ! Dounia and Captain are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are cleaned daily, the pool area is spotless, and all the little extras such as towels on the sunbeds, hair dryer, safe, ironing board and air conditioning in the rooms all make for a really comfortable stay. All we can do is confirm what everyone else has said about the great food that Captain cooks from the gigantic pork chops to the fish that he will go out and buy fresh especially for you and yes the Spatchcock chicken is to die for ! We'll be back again in 2012 because we just cant keep away !!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank thejovsskipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Once again, I have just returned from two weeks on holiday at Villa Apollon with the lovely owners Dounia and Captain. They give their guests a terrific welcome and all those who visit for the first time, invariable return year after year
I have been going out to them on holiday for the last sixteen years, yes sixteen years.
This time I travelled alone (husband decided to stay at home) and am 75 with arthritic knees and hip, walking with the aid of a stick

Although the studios and apartments (a total of 16) are self-catering, Dounia and Captain now provide breakfast for the guests. Photo of the breakfast spread is included in the review.
Each studio or apartment is equipped with a kettle, toaster, iron, ironing board and hairdryer. Together with air conditioning and a safe.

Skiathos is a super Greek Island and very safe for everyone, from teenager to “oldie

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaHeathfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.3 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
3.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#7 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
1.6 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.1 mi away
Angeliki Beach Hotel
Angeliki Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Megali Ammos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.5 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Apollon Skiathos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Apollon Skiathos

Property: Villa Apollon Skiathos
Address: Achladies, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 3.5 kms from Skiathos town and 4.5 kms from Skiathos airport at one of the best beaches of the island named Achladies where you can find water-sports, tavernas, bars, restaurants, water taxi to town and supermarkets. Bus stop no 9 is 50 meters from the gate of the Villa. The most important characteristic of Villa Apollon is the feeling of comfort and relaxation.PRICE INCLUDES WELCOME DRINK, BABY COT,WI-FI CONNECTION, PARKING.STUDIOS (2 PERSONS) double bed or two single beds.STUDIOS (3 PERSONS) one double bed and one single bed.ONE BEDROOM APARTMENT(2-4 PERSONS) one double bed (bedroom)and two single beds at the living area.TWO BEDROOM APARTMENT(2-5PERSONS) Two bedrooms one with double bed and one with two single beds can sleep up to five-six (5-6) persons adding one or two single beds at the living area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Apollon Skiathos Hotel Skiathos
Apollon Hotel Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing