We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Case for the defense.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Apollon Skiathos
Ranked #19 of 85 Hotels in Skiathos
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Case for the defense.”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed in June and had a wonderful 2 weeks. We have stayed with Captain and Dounia many times before and never received anything other than the warmest of welcomes. Trip advisor is intended as a forum for honest reviews, not scathing character assassinations. 3 years ago we were staying at the villa apollon, our daughter was staying in skiathos town. She was hit by a car and needed emergency medical attention. Dounia and captain were magnificent. They acted as interpreters,babysitters for my grandaughter, they ferried my wife and myself to and from the clinic where my daughter received over 60 stitches. They insisted my daughter and her 1year old child moved into our apartment, extra beds, bedding, cutlery, home cooked food,drinksetc. All free of charge. By the way, when Dounia babysat my grandaughter she did not turn to stone. Why not visit the villa apollon and make your own mind up.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    35
    10
    19
    3
See reviews for
127
221
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Having made the decision to holiday on Skiathos the next job was to find our accommodation for three adults having searched various web sites one place kept coming to the fore front with either very good or excellent reviews (Villa Apollon) apart from one particular review which rated the apollon poorly HOW WRONG were they.From the first communication with Dounia the co owner we found everything run to a very good standard . on our arrival we were greeted with a warm and genuine welcome from both Dounia and the Captain who while Dounia explained things supplied us with a free welcome drink at the bar which had several other guests chatting and having drinks.While the Captain and Dounia were dealing with some other new arrivals these guests struck up a conversation so no clicky groups around the pool or bar as stated in another review just friendly guests.
Okay our room was on the small size for three adults but we new this at the time of booking but it did have all the things you might need and as stated on the web site. It was cleaned every day by Maria who also helped out with the free breakfast everyday with champagne breakfast being served on Sundays which is taken next to the pool with a view that would be hard to beat on the island this is also where if you choose to eat in you will be seated so if your not impressed by the captains cooking (you will be) then no better place to have your evening meal and drinks.
The food and drink from the bar are priced fairly the same as what you might pay at any other bars on the island and are always served with a smile and any empty plates and glasses are cleared quickly by Jack who also helps out around the villa and keeps the pool area spotlessly clean.Any items from the bar can be paid for at the time or you can have a tab which is paid for at the end of the day or the next day your choise but all items are written down so you know what you need to pay for.The sun beds are for everyone's use and the captain will always move them for you if need be most have cushion and you will also get a beach towel to use around the pool or beach during your stay.
If you want to travel into town the bus can get very busy early evening so recommend get the sea bus which runs from the beach which is 7-8 minute walk from the Apollon beware it is uphill on the way back.
I could go on but i will only say we will go back because we found the villa Apollon perfect for us but next time I will book earlier to make sure we get the bigger room but you will find both the Captain and Dounia very good hosts and will make you fill most welcome in what is their home as well as their business

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iancatwinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I have just returned from villa apollon and had a lovely time there. I was a little worried having read a previous bad review which I thought was extremely personal at the time. Having now stayed at villa apollon and met the delightful owners I can only agree full-heartedly with arwiggy's review.(as below)
I cannot believe anybody could be so scathing and personal about Dounia . I found her to be helpful and welcoming.nothing was too much trouble and between them Dounia and Captain create a very nice relaxed atmosphere. Yes there are lots of guests who return year after year but that speaks for itself doesn't it. Everybody was friendly enough. We were out a lot of the time as we like to have a jeep and explore this lovely island and all the beaches but when we came back at the end of the day/night there were people to chat to, we didn't feel "out of place" . It's not 5 star luxury and doesn't pretend to be nor does it charge 5 star money. It is a laid back, easy type of place. The beds were really comfy and the food is really good. Dounia is a very good cook as is the captain and they work very hard to keep this place nice in extreme heat and they clearly enjoy seeing guests sitting around chatting/drinking and making new friends.
Greece can be a little bit basic but isnt that all part of the charm? If you like real top knotch luxury then you need to go elsewhere and pay a lot more. Would I go back? Yes

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patsyChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skiathos, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I have thought long and hard before penning this review. I am not a lover of Tripadvisor, as (1) one poor review can ruin a business (2) Business owners using a little stealth can write their own glowing reviews. (3) They can also elect friends etc to write reviews for them and (4) There does not seem to be enough checks and balances from Tripadvisor itself.

I and my family have been visiting Skiathos on holiday for very many years, mainly staying at Villa Apollon, I am fortunate enough to now live in Skiathos, but family and friends still stay with Dounia and Themistokles at this lovely hotel and have never heard a bad word said by any one of them

It is situated on the hillside with beautiful views of the bay of Achladies, all rooms have have a balcony with the same wonderful view, It is well appointed with all that you could need for your holiday, guests go back year after year. it speaks for itself.

On 24/7/12 Bolton_J_Practice wrote a review which I find quite extraordinary, he or she was obviously disgruntled about something which led him on to write this (to my mind) extremely untrue review. The paragraph titled ATMOSPHERE/HOSTS is quite scathing of Dounia (owner) this could not be further from the truth. She is the most helpful friendly person you could wish to meet. When my children were young she would babysit for us, if an accident happened or they were ill she would take them to the local clinic etc etc. These people work their socks off for almost 6 months of the year without 1 day off, so are entitled to have an off day once in a while, as we all do.

I am quite sure that the majority of sensible people take Tripadvisor for what it is, just a guide, look at all the good reviews before looking at the odd bad one and use common sense.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arwiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

we stayed at this wonderful place early last June (september was the earliest tripadvisor calendar would allow)- our first, but not last- visit to Skiathos. We chose it because it had so many excellent reviews and found they were well earned. The quality and the warm welcome from Captain and Dunia, made our stay a memorable experience.

Upon arrival Captain greeted us like old friends, showed us to our room and told us to come and have a drink. Of course, it had to be Mythos, and he placed a bowl of snacks on the table, pulled out the chairs and said, "ladies, take a seat, relax, you are now on holiday"... the views from pool bar over Achladies bay are breathtaking - as is the entire island.

We had studio for two with a kitchenette containing fridge, kettle and the all-important cork screw. It was spotlessly clean (as was the entire complex). The bathroom was small but with an excellent shower. Air con is included in the price. All the studios have a beautiful balcony with drying space. The kitchenette had all you needed to prepare a quick salad, not really suitable for gourmet cooking, but when Captain does just that why would you want to cook yourself? You don't even need to worry about breakfast as this is included in the price and was wonderful.

The maid came in every day, even doing our dishes and tidying our clothes on occasion when we had gone out in a hurry (thank you); the linen was changed twice a week. The pool area was kept spotlessly clean, tranquil, peaceful and perfect. In the afternoon if it was getting a bit hot Captain would put up our parasol and bring us a cooling drink. In the evening he would turn on the lights around the pool, set the tables for dinner and the area would become a perfect backdrop for a romantic meal for two or a supper with friends.

Captain will cook every night and keep the pool bar open just as long as guests are there. If guests get together and ask for a BBQ night he will take orders and go off to town to pick up fresh fish or meat. We had read about the giant pork chops but didn't believe it until we saw with our own eyes! Don't expect the food to be cheap, but this is real quality stuff and the portions are huge! Even if you don't order dessert Dunia will bring a plate of Greek yogurt, fruit and honey as treat. I have never tasted anything like this yogurt!

(Free :-D) breakfast consists of an array to suit every taste. Buffet style, hot and cold, a selection of cereal, bread, fruit, yogurt, honey and drinks. On Sunday mornings it gets a bit special and Dunia will pour you a champagne cocktail and there will be special cheeses and cold meats on offer too.

I have to mention Brutus and Tulip, two most adorable British Bulldogs, as full of character as their owner. The dogs are not allowed into the pool area but this doesn't stop them trying make a bid for escape as they know their guests love and spoil them.

Villa Apollon sits just back from the main road near bus stop no. 9. The beach can easily be reached by crossing the road and walking down a (quite a few) steps through beautiful gardens to the board walk and some lovely beach front tavernas. It's steep but worth every step to the beautiful golden beach of Achladies. (not suitable for pushchairs or wheelchairs but there are other ways to the beach).

One of the very best features for us was Nick's water taxi. The bus into town is frequent and costs 1.60E for any journey, but you can sit on the beach with a cocktail while you wait for the boat, (2E) which will then take you on a 15 minute ride into Skiathos town with its bustling abundance of tavernas, restaurants and shops which sell just about everything imaginable. The view as you round the peninsular into the harbour is beautiful. Pay a visit to the world-famous Rock and Roll bar and sit on the cushions out in the street, or find a fish restaurant, further back in a tiny alleyway, for a quieter experience.

All in all, our visit to Skiathos was fabulous enough to make us go back there this year(i have never been anywhere twice before) and the only reason we are not staying at Apollon this year is because we left it too late to book a flight! (The only problem this place left me with was, how do we find somewhere else this good?!?) As villa Apollon is not affiliated with any travel companies you cannot get a package, but this was out first 'DIY' holiday and it was excellent. Only a 20 minute, 14euro taxi transfer from the airport and you're there. Skiathos is so tiny you can walk or bus the entire island but there is still so much to see, so this year, we may well pop in and visit Captain and Dunia - we know'll be welcomed!

Room Tip: we didn't see any of the other rooms but all have fantastic views over Achladies bay and all hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katriana11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I would love to know exactly when Bolton_j_practice stayed at these villas as I am somewhat amazed at the review that this person left. We too stayed here in June and didn't experience any partying into the early hours however what we did experience was that each night wether we had eaten at the villa or in the town we returned to join an ambience of guests sitting and chatting at the poolside bar enjoying the moonlit sky and warm and pleasant surroundings. The welcoming warmth of the hosts and that of old and may i say new friends made on this holiday made this a time once again we will not forget. Although this person may class myself and my husband as one of the clique section that they witnessed during their stay may I say that there are not many places that you can go to having missed a few years due to terminal illness within your family and walk through the door to be welcomed like you have just returned home... This feeling may I add stayed with us until our time came to leave and once again it was like saying goodbye to a family member. This villa does not rate itself as 5* and yes perhaps doesn't offer a 5* package BUT do u expect 5* treatment and luxury everytime you visit a relative or do you just go to enjoy their company and hospitality. In closing these villas offer a fantastic holiday in beautiful surroundings but please note these are villas and it is not a hotel contracted to entertain its guests every night you are there. You make that yourself by meeting both old and new friends. To bolton_j_practice I would say watch a few programmes of a seies called cheers.. It's all about a bar where people go,where people's troubles are all the same, a place where everyone knows your name and a place where new people aren't strangers they are just friends they have not met yet!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobasco_claret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Really enjoyed our time in Skiathos staying at Villa Apollon. Dounia is a fantastic host very thoughtful and always attentive. We stayed for 1 week (wish it could have been longer!) We stayed here based on trip advisor reviews I had read , all of which were good, and they weren't wrong. Food fantastic and very plentiful! Captain is a fantastic chef on his bbq nightly, lots of guests used to come home late in evening and he would always be quite happy to make something for them to eat! Achladies Bay I think was an ideal place to stay as it had a beautiful beach and the water taxi service into Skiathos town was brilliant! Villa Apollon was just opposite bus stop no. 9 should you wish to venture by bus, (everytime I passed one they were jammed packed!) We choose to hire a quad bike which we thoroughly enjoyed for a couple of days and were able to access many beautiful beaches on the other side of the Island which we couldn't have done so by car. There was a hill to climb back to apartments but is no problem for any fit able bodied people. (Perhaps not so good for families with young children walking on edge of busy road) Skiathos town was lovely especially of an evening to sit in the Old Port and watch the world go by. Marilyns in the Old Port do fantastic cocktails for 6 euros well worth a visit. We ate out 5 nights in Skiathos Town and did not have a bad meal anywhere. Two nights we ate with Dounia and Captain and had his 'famous spatchcock chicken' and 'giant chops' beautiful!!
Would highly recommend Villa Apollon for views and friendly atmosphere and Skiathos as it is such a beautiful Island. Would love to return one day. Thanks again to Villa Apollon.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room with a balcony, on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sal028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
3.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#6 of 85 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
1.6 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Apollon Skiathos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Apollon Skiathos

Property: Villa Apollon Skiathos
Address: Achladies, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 3.5 kms from Skiathos town and 4.5 kms from Skiathos airport at one of the best beaches of the island named Achladies where you can find water-sports, tavernas, bars, restaurants, water taxi to town and supermarkets. Bus stop no 9 is 50 meters from the gate of the Villa. The most important characteristic of Villa Apollon is the feeling of comfort and relaxation.PRICE INCLUDES WELCOME DRINK, BABY COT,WI-FI CONNECTION, PARKING.STUDIOS (2 PERSONS) double bed or two single beds.STUDIOS (3 PERSONS) one double bed and one single bed.ONE BEDROOM APARTMENT(2-4 PERSONS) one double bed (bedroom)and two single beds at the living area.TWO BEDROOM APARTMENT(2-5PERSONS) Two bedrooms one with double bed and one with two single beds can sleep up to five-six (5-6) persons adding one or two single beds at the living area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Apollon Skiathos Hotel Skiathos
Apollon Hotel Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing