We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Apollon”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Apollon Skiathos
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Lovely views and loved Skiathos. I'm afraid to say I agree with Bolton J reviews about Appollo and the treatment off the staff and think it is a fair review as we too were not in the "in crowd" after perilously complaining about mouldy cheese left in the fridge and an unclean bathroom when we first arrived.

However, despite this, we did enjoy our time in Skiathos.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LornajsJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Villa Apollon Skiathos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

Firstly BIG thank you to Dounia, Captain and her staff for making our stay everything we could have hoped.
We travelled with our teenage daughters and stayed in a 1 bedroom for the first 2 nights and then moved to a 2 bedroom for the rest of our stay. Both the apartments were spotlessly clean and comfortable. The balconies are HUGE with table and chairs and drying space for towels etc I have read a few comments about the size of the apartments being small, but I feel the outside space more than makes up for the size of the 1 bedroomed apartment. The 2 bedroomed we stayed in No.1 was enormous. I also viewed the studios at the poolside and they were lovely too.
Everything everyone has stated about the friendliness and family atmosphere is true. The food and drinks are all over generous and the breakfast was lovely.
I worked in travel for many years and used to travel to view accommodation many times a year (and get paid for it) ha ha Dounia provides everything you could need in the apartments and works hard as does Captain to ensure you enjoy your stay. This is not just a business to them it is their life and they love it...and so do we

Room Tip: 1 bedroomed had a dividing wall as opposed to a door in ours, so enquire if you need more privacy. A...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siliqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We have just returned from yet another fabulous two weeks at the Villa Apollon, our twelth visit in thirteen years of holidaying in Skiathos. Once again Dounia and Thermistokles have gone overboard to make all the guests feel welcome whether it was their first trip or like us repeat visitors. New this year embroidered beach towels for the guests to use a simple thing but so appreciated.
The food again was wonderful and on 15th August, holy mothers day our genial hosts really pushed the boat out with a fantastic spread for all, spit roast goat, calves liver done on the BBQ, a huge piece of pork with wonderful crackling, meatballs loads of different salads tsarsiki garlic bread and Dounias fantastic Walnut cake made with nuts grown on the property.
You can read all the reviews you like on the Villa Apollon but the best advice I can give you is go there and see for yourself you will not be disapointed your hosts will bend over backwards to ensure you have a brilliant stay.
Every review has to have a counter and an earlier one refers to Dounia as medusa what a gross insult, obviously the person who wrote it never made any effort to talk to Dounia or mix with the other guests at the bar probably sat sniping away at folk having a great time when they obviously do not know how to. My suggestion to them? easy take a saga holiday and be tucked up in bed at ten with a cup of horlicks!!!! Roll on 2013 cannot wait to go back
Yorky spike

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkyspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This was our 3rd vist to the Villa Apollon and again we were overjoyed by the quality of service and food.
The Captain and Dounia are delightful hosts, welcoming you into their home.
The villa is situated on bus stop 9, 10 minutes from airport by taxi and 5 mins walk to the beautiful , safe Acladies beach where the water taxi will take you into town.
The Captain has replaced his sunbeds with comfortable ,classy wooden beds !
The accomadation continues to be clean, comfortable and typically greek.( The beds are so, so comfortable and room and beach towels are also incuded which is a great bonus)
There is no charge for safe,air con and a wonderful daily breakfast which again is a big bonus, as most hotels charge extra.
Our hosts were kind, funny and hard working and will try to accomadate everyones needs and wishes. They will even cook on request, its like having your own personal chef.
We will certainly return to Villa Apollon.
Thank you to Dounia and Catain again for making our holiday special x

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetotravelwedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Went on holiday in June this year with my girlfriend for our first holiday away together, and we just wanted somewhere quiet where we could relax, and with a mix of recommendation from friends, and also that my girlfriend loves the film Mama Mia , we decided to look at Skiathos. The same friends who recommended the island also told us how they had enjoyed their stay at Apollo, so I did some research on Trip Advisor and it seemed to be everything they had said it was. I mailed the Villa and explained dates we were looking at to come over, and got a very prompt reply saying that it was no problem and to just confirm to them when our flights were booked. With that, flights booked and mailed them back, and within a few hours got a mail back saying that we were confirmed and that they looked forward to seeing us.

We arrived in Skiathos to lovely sunny weather and walked straight out of the terminal and got in a cab immediately, and less than 10 minutes later we pulled up at the gates. Got a lovely welcome from the owners, Dounia and Captain, and my first taste of Mythos (wasn't the last !) as they gave us a welcome drink and told us to relax. We sat at the bar taking in the amazing view over the bay which they told us was Achladies Bay, and before we knew it were chatting with others there, a lot of who told us they were regulars and that they came back year after year. However, there was another couple and family there who, like us, were first time visitors who had been there a few days already and they seemed to love it to.

We got shown to our room and it was small, but was clean, had a really nice bed, aircon, small kitchen area with toaster, microwave, kettle, fridge, electric hobs and all the pots and pans you would need if you wanted to cook. We only really used the kettle and the fridge as breakfast was included in the price, and we'd already decided we were on holiday so we didn't want to be cooking. There was a safe in the room too which we did use for things like passports etc, but to be honest the whole time we were at Apollo we didn't think we needed it.

We ate at Apollo the first night and 2 more times, including the last night - food was great - big portions (the Greek Salad is for 2 people), and one night I ignored the advice of some of the regulars and ordered the mixed grill all for myself, having been told it feeds 2, and it was HUGE. Didn't go to waste though as Dounia wrapped what was left in foil and back to our room and into the fridge and we had it for lunch next day ,It was so nice to sit looking over the moonlit bay, and one night we were lucky enough to see "the silver path" coming across the water towards the shore. We tried a couple of other places in town,which were suggested to us by other guests, and can say we never had a bad meal on the island, but have to admit that the food at Apollo would have been more than good enough for us to eat there every night, but we wanted to get into Skiathos Town and look around. Speaking of the town, definately the best way to get into town is by the water-taxi from the beach below Apollo - but would recommend getting bus or taxi back, so much easier than the walk back up from the beach when you've had something to eat and more than a little wine or beer. Getting the water taxi in was really nice, seeing the coast as we traveled to town, nice breeze, the blue sea right next to us and then chugging into the harbour and seeing it's bustle - quite magical really. Had breakfast every day at Apollo, with eggs, bacon, cocktail sausages, beans, toast, and continental style breakfast items, along with cereal and coffee/tea/juices available and it really set us up for the whole day - normally meant at best we'd share a shack during the day until dinner. Sundays Dounia did her special breakfast with champagne cocktails, lots of lovely pastries and cakes and breads as well as the normal breakfast menu.

Went to the cinema while we were there (at the girlfriends insistance - Mama Mia was showing) and it was so nice to sit in the open air watching a film - wouldn't want to try it at home though - really don't think we have the weather for it. Apparently it used to have a roof on it but one winter the snow caused it to collapse (we didn't believe they had snow there until Dounia pulled out an album of pictures showing their swimming pool full of snow !) and the Greeks just did the practical thing and decided to have it as an open-air one. The films are in English with Greek subtitles, so no need to worry about that.

The beaches on the island were really nice, went down to Achladies a couple of times and also to Mystique which was down at the end of the island - took a bus down and then a walk up and over the hill - Dounia had recommended it and it was just what we wanted, relaxed, secluded enough and the sea was lovely. We found it fun getting on the bus to and from the beach - they should get the Guiness Book of Records to the island - I'm sure they'd win the category of "cram the most people on a bus at once".

We had a lovely time - the island was perfect for us, the beaches wonderful, good food, nice evenings, but what really made it for us was where we'd chosen to stay. We've read the reviews since our stay, including one which left us totally confused by the criticism of Dounia, which in our experience was so far off the mark it's not true, but also, was nasty and personal, and no need for that. We found Apollo to be clean, comfortable, and well equipped for a self catering/ bed & breakfast. It was nice to sit on the balcony and relax before getting ready in the evening, and the bed was lovely and comfortable and the aircon was great, made the room lovely and cool. But we weren't there to spend our holiday in the room, it was perfect for what we wanted, to sleep, shower, and change and chill, it was the people who were at Apollo that made it for us, and especially Dounia and Captain. I read what one person wrote about Dounia not accepting money immediately when you ordered something - how can you complain about that - we felt it showed a huge amount of trust in us, especially as we were first time guests. And whenever I wanted to know how much we owed, Dounia would pull the bill out of her bra (the famous Dounia "bra-bill") and let me know, and then would break it down for me if I asked (I only did that once - I realised after that there was no need to worry about being ripped off). It was nice not having to carry money by the pool if we were lazing out - speaking of which we never had a problem getting a sunbed, nobody "hogged" them. It was nice to find we were given towels to use by the pool and on the beach, if only we'd known before we went then could have left ours at home.

Anyway - think you get the idea - we loved it there - Dounia was lovely and helpul to everyone in the time we were there, and she worked very hard (we asked her once what time she started and she got up at 6am every morning to get breakfast ready and would go to bed about 1am, often without break during the day) to make us welcome and help us if we needed it. Captain was larger than life and real fun - and has mastered the art of being a "blokes bloke" with the men and a smoothy with the ladies - if you go ask him for an afternoon anti-biotic and do try his cooking - what everyone has said about the spatchcock is true, and one night we had fish and it was tremendous ( if you want fish you ask Captain or Dounia and they go and get it from the fish market for you). Speaking of fish - we compared the prices for fish at Apollo to what they charge in town - in town the same piece of fish was about 300 % more expensive !

They are lovely, as were their staff, and the Apollo was just what we needed - we came back recharged and feeling like we'd been going there for years, which we probably will do - in fact we're seeing if we can get out there before the season ends to tide us through the winter.

Thank you Captain and Dounia for making us feel so at ease and not in the least like strangers and making our holiday so good - we hope to see you again soon

Room Tip: Every room has a sea view, and if it's busy with families imagine the rooms in the block of 8 ro...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank burnside1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I've been to beautiful Skiathos 6 times over the last 12 years, the Greeks are genuinely welcoming but Dounia and Captain ( real name Themistocles I think ) are quite extraordinary. Villa Apollon is extremely well situated, easy to get to by bus or taxi and all sevices are inclusive - breakfast, air-conditioning, iron, TV, pool recliners. Dounia accomodated my akward split booking with charming grace and left me with the feeling that I had shared their home rather than simply stayed in an apartment, which, by the way was spotless and extremely comfortable. Recent reviewers ( August 2012) have spoken of the wonderful meals and generous proportions, I'll add that the drinks are just as generous. Both Dounia and Captain are cultured, hard-working, ever-present hosts with a full command of English and a genuine desire to offer up their very best. Oh yes, and the views from rooms and poolside are breathtaking. Half the quests I met were multiple returners to Villa Apollon which I think says a lot. If you are in Skiathos Town on a Friday afternoon wander along, past the boats, to the start of the airport runway, planes come in at about 50 ft over your head - extraordinary and a rare treat if you like that sort of thing.

Room Tip: Trust Dounia's advice.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnBMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This was our 8th visit to Greece but our first time in Skiathos. Villa Apollon by far offers the best service we have experienced compared to any other accommodation we have stayed at in Greece. It was very easy to get a taxi on arrival at Skiathos Airport and in 5 minutes we were at our accommodation, where we received a very warm greeting from Dounia.Throughout the holiday Captain and Dounia were wonderful hosts. They work so hard to look after their guests, are so helpful and attentive and nothing is too much trouble. Our room was cleaned every day and had wonderful views of the sea even though it was on the ground floor. The breakfasts are excellent, offering a huge variety of food including English cooked breakfast, cold meats, cheese, cereals and Dounia's delicious home made jams and chocolate spread. Great evening meals are also available, portions are massive: the largest steak I have ever had, cooked by Captain on the barbeque. Skiathos has many beautiful beaches and it was well worth hiring a jeep for a few days to discover the island. Achladies itself has a lovely beach and a few local tavernas which were all really good. The only drawback in the holiday was the busy road which you need to walk along to get to the resorts amenities. Otherwise we could not fault Skiathos and would highly recommend Villa Apollon to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sar-16-ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
1.5 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
960 reviews
3.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Esperides
Hotel Esperides
#1 of 1 in Achladias
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#1 of 1 in Katsarou
713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
1.6 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Apollon Skiathos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Apollon Skiathos

Address: Achladies, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Skiathos
Price Range: £35 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 3.5 kms from Skiathos town and 4.5 kms from Skiathos airport at one of the best beaches of the island named Achladies where you can find water-sports, tavernas, bars, restaurants, water taxi to town and supermarkets. Bus stop no 9 is 50 meters from the gate of the Villa. The most important characteristic of Villa Apollon is the feeling of comfort and relaxation.PRICE INCLUDES WELCOME DRINK, BABY COT,WI-FI CONNECTION, PARKING.STUDIOS (2 PERSONS) double bed or two single beds.STUDIOS (3 PERSONS) one double bed and one single bed.ONE BEDROOM APARTMENT(2-4 PERSONS) one double bed (bedroom)and two single beds at the living area.TWO BEDROOM APARTMENT(2-5PERSONS) Two bedrooms one with double bed and one with two single beds can sleep up to five-six (5-6) persons adding one or two single beds at the living area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Apollon Skiathos Hotel Skiathos
Apollon Hotel Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing