We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer Bliss”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Apollon Skiathos
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Certificate of Excellence
york
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Sheer Bliss”
Reviewed 10 July 2008

Just returned with my wife from a one week stay at the Apollon. Third stay there in consecutive years. The whole place has been decorated in the close season and now they have put in all rooms wonderful beds that are so comfortable and must be the best in Greece!! You wake up with no back aches etc but sometimes you are inclined to fall back to sleep for another hour, they are so relaxing. Rooms are cleaned everyday except Sunday, linen and towels twice per week. You are supplied with both hand and bath towels. The cushioned sunbeds with headrests also come with your own large towel. It is the personal touches that to us, makes the Apollon so special. The tea and coffee in your room on arrival together with complimentary bottle of wine. The air conditioning,safety deposit box. The consistency of the food, the pride and passion shown in its creation says a lot about the place.
All the rooms we have stayed in are of adequate size. No problems as with some people to the size of the bathroom. The rooms come with stunning views.
Food is exceptional and big and i mean big portions!
Captain.Dounia and their staff make their home your home in your stay and deserve all the praise given by people.
We spent a few late nights chatting with the Captain about 'life' what a character he is!!
You will find on your first visit that you meet as strangers and definitely leave as friends

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank KeithYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    36
    11
    19
    3
See reviews for
129
230
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

The location is perfect you are ale to get to both the town and beaches from the bus stop which is very close by. The view from the hotewl is simply amazing

The only downside for the location of this hotel lies in the fact that it is hilly and may be difficult for those not able to walk much.

The rooms are kept clean and well equipped to cook in, although there is not much space, for chopping etc, so cooking anything complex is not recommended.

The hosts; Captain is extremely helpful and always willing to accomodate, Dounia can be helpful providing she likes you, isn't stressed and doesn't need to go out of her way. Some simple requests were often met with a sense of obligation.

The only major complaint is that the toilet and shower are very close together, some rooms are better then others but most of them have this problem.

  • Liked — location and view
  • Disliked — toilet
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank hdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2008

We spent almost 2 weeks on Skiathos in June (with a weekend on the mainland in the middle). We had only planned to spend a week at Villa Apollon but after a few days away, the boomerang effect kicked in and we called back to see if we could return for another week. The apartments are located on a hill over Achladies Beach which is about 5 mins drive outside of Skiathos town. There is a water taxi that goes into town from the beach (probably the nicest way to go) and there are very regular buses and taxis from outside the door (the bus goes into town in one direction and around the island stopping at various beaches in other direction). Our room was really comfortable - airconditioned, well laid out, great bed and plenty of space for our things. We didn't do any cooking as we were way too lazy (30 degree heat), but it was well equipped if you wanted to. Coming up from the beach in the afternoon, the pool is a great spot to relax on soft leather beds under giant parasols, and the setting is gorgeous as it looks over the bay. The best thing about Villa Apollon is undoubtedly its owners, the wonderfully cranky "Captain" and our adopted Greek mamma, Dounia. They are more like solicitous hosts than hotel owners. They really take care of their guests and will go out of their way to make peoples' stay special. The food they prepare is always incredibly tasty (never thought I could get so excited over a salad) and so much effort goes into it. We loved sitting up at the poolside bar sipping Mythos or Greek sized gin and tonics. lots of people seem to be going back there for years and its easy to see why. Can't believe people are there right now while we're back home working...

Emma and Colin in Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2008

Well what can I say, my first time to Skiathos and what a tiny island!! The journey in the taxi took about 10 minutes which was nice and quick and we had a lovely warm welcome by Dounia and Captain and a welcome drink at the bar. I was travelling with my partner and we are both 22. We spent 2 weeks at villa apollon, from my partners point of view it was slightly too long because there wasn't much to do, but for me it was perfect.

There is only about 16 apartments in total so its nice and quiet by the pool and no need to fight for sunbeds!! Although they did need some sort of shower before you get into the pool, to get rid of some of your suncream!
The apartments all have gorgeous views over the sea and they are regularly cleaned and nicely kept. A small compact little kitchen, plenty of storage, a tv and more importantly air conditioning which was definately needed!! (all have good size balconies).
The food that is provided by both Dounia and Captain was fantastic and of large quantity which suited both of us with large appetites! The fish is definately a MUST! and the steaks were massive....a whole plate!
Unfortunately the food out in Skiathos wasn't as cheap as we were expecting, probably partly due to the exchange rate being bad at moment but you would be looking to spend the same on a meal and drinks as you would in the UK, maybe just slightly less. We tried eating out once but the food wasn't that great so we stuck to Captains amazing food instead!

Local shops are a short 5 minute walk, and the beach is about 10 minutes. Lovely local beach which was well kept with some restaurants on the seafront. Be aware there are hills in skiathos and its a bit of a treck when your carrying lots of water back up to the apartments again!
There is a bus service that runs roughly every 10 minutes, bus stop right near the apartments and its a short 10 minute ride into skiathos main town. There you hire scooters, buggies or cars really cheap! That is def a must to explore the island and some of the gorgeous beaches. We hired a buggie for a whole day and it cost 30euros. There are plenty of restaurants as well. A real must is a catamaran day out (you visit a gorgeous beach where you can go snorkelling in the crystal clear sea and explore the coral reefs.....lots of lovely fish!!)

All in all the holiday was a perfect way to re-charge your batteries and just relax. There is not a huge amount to do on the island because it is so small but there are trips where you can visit other islands if you want to.
The weather was very very hot, we had 37degrees for the whole of the 2 weeks, and that was only in june!!
The only thing i would say that i didnt really like was that you couldn't put toilet paper down the toilet!! And the only reason we wouldn't go back would be because we'd done and seen everything on the island and there wasn't much else to do.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location, weather!!
  • Disliked — Not bein able to put toilet paper down the toilet!! No shower by the pool
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank --PThel--
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
3.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#1 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,016 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Esperides
Hotel Esperides
#1 of 1 in Achladias
638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
917 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#1 of 1 in Katsarou
697 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Apollon Skiathos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Apollon Skiathos

Property: Villa Apollon Skiathos
Address: Achladies, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Skiathos
#8 Best Value Hotel in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 3.5 kms from Skiathos town and 4.5 kms from Skiathos airport at one of the best beaches of the island named Achladies where you can find water-sports, tavernas, bars, restaurants, water taxi to town and supermarkets. Bus stop no 9 is 50 meters from the gate of the Villa. The most important characteristic of Villa Apollon is the feeling of comfort and relaxation.PRICE INCLUDES WELCOME DRINK, BABY COT,WI-FI CONNECTION, PARKING.STUDIOS (2 PERSONS) double bed or two single beds.STUDIOS (3 PERSONS) one double bed and one single bed.ONE BEDROOM APARTMENT(2-4 PERSONS) one double bed (bedroom)and two single beds at the living area.TWO BEDROOM APARTMENT(2-5PERSONS) Two bedrooms one with double bed and one with two single beds can sleep up to five-six (5-6) persons adding one or two single beds at the living area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Apollon Skiathos Hotel Skiathos
Apollon Hotel Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing