We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! Could do that Again!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Apollon Skiathos
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2010

18th June - 2nd July
Our first real trip to "Greece". Oh boy - are we smitten! This place was all we'd hoped for and much more. The first hint that things were going to go well, was with the welcome we received. We were met by Dounia and Captain (our hosts for the holiday) and shown to our room/apartment which was clean, neat and functional - all you need on a holiday. Air conditioning was free, the fridge was brand new, lockable safe was free and bathroom more than adequate and a balcony with a fantastic view. Within minutes of arriving, in the pool bar area which has undergone a very extensive and modern refurbishment (padded free sun loungers and free towels!), we were "forced" to drink the first of many welcoming drinks (antibiotics still working well Captain!!). Here we met more new arrivals, most of whom had been there several times before (another hint that we'd chosen well). Our hosts were fantastic from the off, giving us hours of great conversation, expert knowledge of the island and surrounding area and many a happy evening was spent with them.
Captain's knowledge of how food should be and can be cooked is unique but bloomin marvellous, only to be surpassed by Dounia!! We ate in more often than out - although both of them encourage you to try other places to eat (and will advise you), it is difficult to find somewhere that produces the same quality and QUANTITY of food. Dounia (bank of bra!) is the brains behind this fantastic establishment but it wouldn't be the same without Captain, who is cook, host and chief bottle washer!! Smiling Eric and Eileen - handyman and chambermaid - are also definitely part of the family. Speaking of which, even when Dounia and Captain's family visit, you are not treated as a stranger - more like friends staying for a fortnight! (Hello Alex!).
The Villa is situated just 10 mins short bus ride from Skiathos town (2 mins in a taxi!!) just by bus stop no. 9. The nearest beach is only a 5 min stroll downhill, however, not such a stroll on the way back up! (very steep in places) - but this is more than compensated by the views you get from the villa. A water taxi from the beach (2.50 euros) will take you directly into Skiathos town centre, where there are many bars, restaurants and shops. The island is lush green (we were expecting it to be arid). Do not expect to find McDonalds or Burger King - you don't need them - they have their own version of fast food - Gyros/ Solvaki - which is 10 times better than any fast burger!
There were several occasions during the day when the other guests disappeared all over the island - we had the pool, bar and villa almost to ourselves - bliss! However, if you are a beach fan, there are so many wonderful beaches across the island, you'll be spoilt for choice.
We also took 2 sailing excursions, recommended by Captain. These were 2 of the best days we've ever had - thank you Dimitri (thank you Captain!).
And finally - there are 4 other permanent residents at Villa Apollon - the dogs. The stars of the show are no doubt Tulip and Brutus. Two of the ugliest, yet prettiest British Bulldogs you're ever likely to see! Their characters reflect their owners warmth, friendliness and relaxed manners.
Could do it all again next week - but will have to wait until next year!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maccaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2010

With all these recommendations you have to always take into account the value of what you receive, there are luxury 5 star hotels, we have stayed in a few previously, but what incredible value Villa Apollon gives. Where do I start? The rooms are cleaned immaculately every day, they have a choice of very nicely appointed larger multi roomed apartment type rooms and tidy, traditional, smaller, double rooms, and we stayed in the latter and were more than satisfied. The pool and terrace has just been rebuilt and are imaculate. I believe they are making furthur improvments next year and they obviously invest money back into the project on a regular basis.
The Proprietors look after your every need and go beyond what would be expected; the captain will stay up until you have finished your drink at night, when ever that might be! Gives all the advice to help you enjoy your holiday, cooks and prepares a great steak, will buy a special fish for you and makes an unbelievably marvellous Greek salad, which has to be the best we have ever eaten.
Dounia, the captains wife looks after all the office work, will book restaurants and taxis, indeed anything you might need, along side fixing your breakfast or cooking you steak in pepper sauce for dinner.
We normally always hire a holiday car, but the Apollon is in a good position for you not to need one, it is only 10 euros taxi from the airport and to get about you are directly at bus stop 9, which will take you to all the beaches / villages. On top of that and perhaps the best attraction for us, the water taxi costing 2.5 euros per person to Skiathos town being 5 minuets walk down to Esperides beach, where there are quite a few tavernas, sun beds, etc, it goes every half hour until 11pm and if, like us, you want to come back late, the taxi back from town is 7 euros.
We are foodies and the best restaurant by far, after taking the captains advise, is Lyhnari, its in town, cooks traditional but very varied cuisine, our favourite dish was a spicy cooked feta cheese, which comes in a foil papillote, mixed with peppers, tomato and cayenne pepper, delicious, the place is as busy as hell, so best to get Dounia to book for you, but if you go on your own and mention the Apollon, they really take care of you. Locally we liked the Rose Garden and the Paradise restaurant for during the day.
The taverna on Arcos Island is exceptionally great daytime food, has sun beds, although you need your own boat to get there, which you can hire for 70 euro a day from Stefanos ski school, just 5 mins away on Vassilas beach, or Stefanos will take you and bring you back for I think, 40. The other island opposite is Tsougriaki, which also has a taverna and beach beds, you get a ferry boat there for 5 euros pp each way, from the old port where the water taxi drops off in Skiathos town, both are worth the effort.
We Hope you have as good a time as we did, let us know. David & Sue White

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We have just returned from our second visit to Villa Apollon on Skithos. We never thought the place or the owners and staff could improve the wonderful feel the place has, but they have. The place is better than ever with a new pool area which is a dream. The accomodation is perfect, the bar and food are to die for. The location sitting at the bar looking down on the Agean is like something out of a movie. we will be back....

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spanishfly30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We stayed the last week in June and the first in July. Have travelled to quite a lot of the Greek islands over the years but Skiathos hits the spot and the Villa Apollon well what more can i say that already hasn't been said. From the moment we entered we were welcomed with open arms given a welcome drink and told by the captain "my home is your home" and this certainly was the case. The rooms had all the utensills you need for self catering and the free bottle of wine and water was a nice little touch. the views from the balcony's are amazing and the swimming pool and surrounding area were all refurbished last year and are spotless, the padded sun lounges are so comfy you can feel your eyes closing as your head sinks in. We ate out most nights in old town skiathos and didn't have a bad meal but the best food we ate was at the Apollon superb food and very reasonable and as always topping the night off with a chat around the pool with other residents all of which were very friendly. Brill holiday see you all next year cant wait to see Brutus and the adorable Tulip.......Mark & Laura x

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAB2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We have just returned from another two weeks at the Villa Apollon and still rate it as the best value holiday in Skiathos. We have eaten at many places on the island but you cannot beat the quality of food and the value for money provided onsite. Dunia and Captain take care of all their guests like they would family. We wouldn't stay anywhere else when we visit Skiathos which will be again next year. The perfect place to unwind.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiro1Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Villa Apollon is a nicely located hotel in the middle of the main (and only) road of Skiathos, 10 mins from town and 10mins from the other end, the dream beach of Koukounaries. Very warm people (it's a family hotel), very clean rooms, good value for money. Only one small complain, the pillows were to big and hard - though fantastic to watch tv..

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nikosgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

This is our 7th visit to the remarkable and outstanding Villa Apollon and you may say biased but each year the unique Captain & Dounia make this place better and better, not just their company and service but the improvements year after year, the pool area and bathrooms to name a couple this year, and more improvements planned, not because it is needed but because they strive to be consistantly the best
The rooms are fab, beds so comfortable, air con and room safe free, kitchen with all your essentials but who wants to cook when the food at the apollon is the best on the island, cooked with care and love and the best freshest ingredients
I know others have said it before but Dounia & Captain make this place, their humour, knowledge and love make you feel like their family
The staff are fantastic, Eric Captain sunshine a fab new member of the Villa Apollon family
Will just mention a couple of new Restaurants we tried this year, Oliveland, up in the hills , 10 mins away from the Villa, fab food and views and great wine, also a new Grill in town , in the old Harbour near 1901
We didn't notice too much hike up on prices but just be careful, as always on the front bars near Rock n Roll - 72 euros for 5 drinks but that was NOT the norm, and quite honestly stay in with Captain & Dounia, better food and any drinks you want and a lot cheaper
As always fantasic holiday and already booked for next year, what more can I say

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
1.5 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
976 reviews
3.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,159 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Piscine Art Hotel
La Piscine Art Hotel
#2 of 84 in Skiathos
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Esperides
Hotel Esperides
#1 of 1 in Achladias
680 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
512 reviews
1.1 mi away
Angeliki Beach Hotel
Angeliki Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Megali Ammos
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Apollon Skiathos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Apollon Skiathos

Address: Achladies, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Skiathos
Price Range: £35 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 3.5 kms from Skiathos town and 4.5 kms from Skiathos airport at one of the best beaches of the island named Achladies where you can find water-sports, tavernas, bars, restaurants, water taxi to town and supermarkets. Bus stop no 9 is 50 meters from the gate of the Villa. The most important characteristic of Villa Apollon is the feeling of comfort and relaxation.PRICE INCLUDES WELCOME DRINK, BABY COT,WI-FI CONNECTION, PARKING.STUDIOS (2 PERSONS) double bed or two single beds.STUDIOS (3 PERSONS) one double bed and one single bed.ONE BEDROOM APARTMENT(2-4 PERSONS) one double bed (bedroom)and two single beds at the living area.TWO BEDROOM APARTMENT(2-5PERSONS) Two bedrooms one with double bed and one with two single beds can sleep up to five-six (5-6) persons adding one or two single beds at the living area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Apollon Skiathos Hotel Skiathos
Apollon Hotel Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing