We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just heaven”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Apollon Skiathos
Ranked #19 of 85 Hotels in Skiathos
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just heaven”
Reviewed 20 September 2010

A fantastic holiday with fantastic hosts. Captain & Dounia could not do enough for you. The food is out of this world. Try the black rice and prawns.
Beautiful pool, apartments, company and weather.
A wonderful day by the pool or sea bak to the bar for ouzo or black wine or maybe aglass of rrrrrrrrred or rrrrrrrrrose.
Can't wait to go back.
Met so any lovely people who have been going for years and I can see why

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    35
    10
    19
    3
See reviews for
127
222
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Just back from another idyllic 2 weeks in Skiathos - and once again we stayed at Apollo. Since our last stay in June 2009 there has been lots of work done - the pool area totally refurbished and looks fantastic, and the new cover over the pool meant that the water was always nice and warm even first thing in the morning, and the steps into the pool rather are a lot easier than ladders (when you're not hurling yourself into the water at the deep end that is!).
As usual Dounia and Captain made all the difference - and when people say they do anything that can to help it's true - it was our 5th anniversary and with us having spent our honeymoon at Apollo I wanted to organise a surprise for my wife - so with the help of Dounia and Captain we arranged for my wife's family and godparents to be there at the same time, and also Dounia and Captain went to Pan Evangalistra monastary and arranged for us to have a blessing there for our 5th anniversary, and even came along to join us for the service to help us through it. It was a really emotional and special day, and thanks to both of them for organising it - and then for the feast they put on for us in the evening where Captain cooked a whole lamb and Dounia presented the most amazing accompaniments - my father-in-law and my wife's godfather were like little children being shown by Captain how to prepare the lamb for cooking - a special day made all the more special by these special people !.
As ever the rooms are clean and excellently appointed, with free aircon/safe etc , and microwave/ironing board and iron and hair dryer (not something I need but for those of you with hair one less thing you need to pack !).The beds are amazingly comfortable and they also have wi-fi available for the guests. We were shown the new 2 bedroom apartment and told the plans for the upgrades to the accomodation to be ready for next years season - Captain and Dounia were justifiably proud of what they have done so far and I have no doubt they will be just as pleased with the way the other changes will be received.
The food, as ever, is magnificent, and even though we do enjoy eating elsewhere, somehow it's never quite as good as the food we get at Apollo, not only in flavour, but also in portion size and value - and add to that the lovely view you have over Achladies bay - priceless !
Eric and Eileen, the staff, were great - with Eric always ready with a smile and a "how are you" - 2 gems and we were pleased to hear they will be staying. The dogs are lovely, especially my special girl, Dhionera - was a shame we couldn't see more of them but we were just too busy with our plans and arrangements - they really do add to the "home" feel about Apollo and are so wonderfully good natured - and the kids love them !
We love Skiathos - it really is our "paradise", but we actually found ourselves wondering what we'd do if (heaven forbid) Dounia and Captain were ever to leave, or if we couldn't stay at Apollo. We decided that no matter how much we love the island, somehow the thought of Skiathos without Apollo, Dounia and Captain, was unimaginable, and we honestly think it just wouldn't be the same slice of heaven it is for us now. We're already booked for next year and counting down the days.....is it time to go to Apollo yet?

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmorvanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2010

After many holidays on Skiathos spanning 19 years - Villa Apollon continues to be the best place we've stayed on the island.

We have stayed at other places - Only because previously we've left it too late and Villa Apollon has been full.

This year we were lucky and managed to get booked for a fortnight in August ( Hot - High 30s Low 40s )

Dounia & Captain made us welcome from the minute we arrived till the minute we left - fantastic hosts - Nothing is a bother to them.

By day the new pool and recently tiled surrounding area is always clean and tidy and in the evening makes a fantastic setting for dinner overlooking the Aegean.

The food at Villa Apollon is always a talking point amongst guests - The Steaks are the size of the plate - The Pork Chops are bigger than the plate and The Mixed Grill could feed a family for a week ! - probably the best value meals on the island.

Rooms at the hotel are basic but very well equipped and all have a fantastic view, The room was cleaned daily and our towels regularly changed.

Most pepole we've met at Villa Apollon return year after year, that in itself is surely the best recomendation.

We'll definately be back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor-Stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2010

A great find. If you go -you will meet people there who have been coming back for years. Easy to see why after just few hours. Dounia and Captain (and Eric) make you very welcome from the start. Expect to meet Brits,Greek, Italian - people from everywhere have found out about Villa Apollon and why it is - just a great place. Our room was perfect, the view was astounding, the bed was very comfortable, the aircon worked perfectly etc etc etc etc. No faults, no niggles, just no problem... We were only there a week, we'd have been happy with a month ! Food was always excellent - we ate there 5 of the 7 nights. And Captain will stay up with you as long as you need to to enjoy his interesting bar (and people). Captain has a wonder of stories to tell, take the time to listen. And one night, after a few beers with just a couple of the "gents" left enjoying the early morning chat, I mentioned I was feeling peckish as one sometimes does after a few beers and he produced a wonderful marble board of great greek "tapas" like delights. No fuss or bother. Places like this, especially when run by the likes of Dounia and Captain, are a real treat.

As to the rest - if you want to go into Skiathos town (hot and busy) then take the water taxi there (€2.50 each) and the taxi back (€7) - it saves you one heck of a steep walk back !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeandJuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Returned this year with my partner on our honeymoon and had a fantastic time with Dounia & Captain.
The apartments have magical views of the sea and enjoy a view of the bay below.
All of the guests are very friendly and Dounia & Captain are there day and night to help their guests.
The food provided is still amazing and is great if you just fancy a relaxing evening by the pool.
The nightlife of the town is only 10 mins away , along with the shops and nice evening walks.
We will be back next year without a doubt!
Villa Apollon is so relaxing and chilled out and everyone is just charming!
Well done Dounia & Captain. Thanks for making me and David so welcome.

Stuart&David Thacker.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnybanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week in July and had an absolutely phenomenal time. Many of the reviews here cover certain points about the island but I won’t repeat them. This is about Villa Apollon and the fantastic hosts that are Dounia and Captain.
We read the reviews and yes, there were negative comments, but the overriding sense was that this was a superb place to relax and unwind-which is what we did, fully aided by the hosts and the location. I think in this day and age where anyone and their mother can write reviews of anything on the internet there are always going to be some happy and some unhappy customers; and with regard to Villa Apollon I am more likely to believe the 94 people (make that 95 with me) that rate it as ‘Excellent’ rather than 5 people who rate it as ‘Poor’.
Anyway, we were warmly welcomed by Captain and Dounia early evening and kindly offered an ice cold beer to cool down from the 30+ degree heat and sweaty but short cab ride from the airport. The studio we had was clean and remained that way all week, above and beyond what we expected. Towels and sheets were regularly changed and it felt very private and relaxed. The free air-conditioning was very welcome at certain points too.
The location of the villa allows for great views from any one of the private balconies that all rooms have, as well as up by the pool-which is in great condition, always clean and the sun loungers were very comfortable. As can, perhaps, be expected the island is relatively hilly so some may moan about steep walks but you then get a great view at the end of it all.
The food was very VERY good. From the massive Greek Salad to special requests (we asked Captain that if he went to the fish market could he pick us up something and surprise us. He duly delivered-) such as a huge lobster on spaghetti with an incredible sauce, which almost overshadowed the lobster in its taste. By the way, this was a lot cheaper than eating it anywhere else. It most definitely was not 60 Euros/kg as many of the restaurants in Skiathos were selling it for. Also, once or twice Captain and Dounia advised us on things they had just brought in such as dinosaur-sized steaks or some fish and we were never disappointed. This was all washed down with some very passable wine and a few Metaxa’s to cleanse the palate at the end of the evening.
However, as said in other reviews, Dounia and Captain encouraged us to eat out and about and we found a few nice places in Skiathos town.
Reading some of the negative opinions here does make me wonder what people expect from a relatively simple self-catering apartment in Greece. Ok, so the cooking space/facilities aren’t great or big (in the studios) but it served a purpose and there was plenty of room to prepare things like a poor version (compared to their one) of a Greek salad or to make some sandwiches for the day (and anyway who’d not want to eat the good value food that Captain and Dounia prepared?). Who cares if the bathroom is small? What do you do in there?! Our flight was scheduled to leave late in the day and we were allowed to keep our room for a few extra hours in the afternoon at no extra charge which made the final day very relaxing and enjoyable.
This is a lovely place with lovely hosts who are helped efficiently by Eric and Eileen. We were welcomed, looked after, well fed and watered, left alone when desired (except by the wasps!) and nothing was too much trouble. It was so relaxed that when we tried to pay for a meal and drinks one night Dounia said “Tomorrow or whenever...it’s GMT – Greek maybe time!” An excellent attitude to have when you’re on holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KENT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Not long returned from our second visit to Villa Apollon when we arrived we had a fantastic welcome from Dounia and Captain and felt like we had never left.
It is still a perfect place to be the rooms are clean and well equiped with tv iron etc ,
and free air con and safe are an added bonus.
They have a new pool / pool area which has improved the look even more .
The surrounding area has alovely beach and a few tavernas to enjoy some wine and relax in. A water taxi will take you in to town or you can hop on a bus just a few minutes away.
It was lovely to see the two Bulldogs Brutus and Tulip [how she has grown] again proper little characters.
The food is still wonderful and the greek salad is still the best we have tasted.The staff are great especially Eric sunshine with his big smile and sense of humour.
Thank you Captain and Dounia for another wonderful holiday a perfect place to relax
Kevin & Angie

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEV-ANGIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
3.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#6 of 85 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
1.6 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Apollon Skiathos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Apollon Skiathos

Property: Villa Apollon Skiathos
Address: Achladies, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 3.5 kms from Skiathos town and 4.5 kms from Skiathos airport at one of the best beaches of the island named Achladies where you can find water-sports, tavernas, bars, restaurants, water taxi to town and supermarkets. Bus stop no 9 is 50 meters from the gate of the Villa. The most important characteristic of Villa Apollon is the feeling of comfort and relaxation.PRICE INCLUDES WELCOME DRINK, BABY COT,WI-FI CONNECTION, PARKING.STUDIOS (2 PERSONS) double bed or two single beds.STUDIOS (3 PERSONS) one double bed and one single bed.ONE BEDROOM APARTMENT(2-4 PERSONS) one double bed (bedroom)and two single beds at the living area.TWO BEDROOM APARTMENT(2-5PERSONS) Two bedrooms one with double bed and one with two single beds can sleep up to five-six (5-6) persons adding one or two single beds at the living area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Apollon Skiathos Hotel Skiathos
Apollon Hotel Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing