We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Apollon Skiathos
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a gem”
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Just back from a week in Villa Apollon and it was definitely was not long enough. Captain and Dounia are so welcoming, friendly and kind, there is a lovely atmosphere about the place. Food is fantastic. We went to a couple of tavernas in town but the best food we had all week was the fish Captain cooked for us on the last night, he also does a mean Greek salad. Apart from the food being fantastic the rooms were immaculately clean and the beds extremely comfortable, infact I've already booked two weeks for next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandaGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    36
    11
    19
    3
See reviews for
129
230
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We have just arrived back from a week's stay at the Villa Apollon in Skiathos.
Fantastic!! After an arduous 15 minute journey from the Island's Airport by taxi, we were greeted by our host Dounia and Captain together with a very welcome drink.
Having spent the last 25 years holidaying on various Greek Islands, this was by far the most pleasant start to our holiday that we have ever received.
The studio we stayed in was very nice, it had a small kitchen area, a bathroom which if I’m honest could have done with been a little larger, and a bedroom which held the most comfortable double bed in the whole of Greece, together with TV and free air conditioning. The balcony had a wonderful view overlooking the clear blue waters of Achlaides Bay which at night with a warm breeze and silver moon takes on a very romantic atmosphere.
The location of Villa Apollon is by bus stop number 9 which makes it very easy getting transport in or out of town. The cost of the local bus is €1.40 per person for a one way trip and a taxi fare around €7 total.
There is also a water taxi from Achlaides beach for €2.50.
Dounia and Captain are fantastic hosts and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. We ate at the villa Apollon a couple of evenings and found the food excellent. You must try the Captains steaks they just melt in your mouth. Skiathos town is a fascinating place with a maze of tiny cobbled streets. The number of shops and tavernas which it holds is truly amazing and it is great fun trying to find again the place you ate the night before.
All in all our holiday in Skiathos was brilliant and I believe this was due to our location in the Villa Apollon with its wonderful hosts Captain and Dounia. Without doubt I can highly recommend the villa Apollon and all that goes with it. We will certainly go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ej_march
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

A fantastic holiday with fantastic hosts. Captain & Dounia could not do enough for you. The food is out of this world. Try the black rice and prawns.
Beautiful pool, apartments, company and weather.
A wonderful day by the pool or sea bak to the bar for ouzo or black wine or maybe aglass of rrrrrrrrred or rrrrrrrrrose.
Can't wait to go back.
Met so any lovely people who have been going for years and I can see why

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Just back from another idyllic 2 weeks in Skiathos - and once again we stayed at Apollo. Since our last stay in June 2009 there has been lots of work done - the pool area totally refurbished and looks fantastic, and the new cover over the pool meant that the water was always nice and warm even first thing in the morning, and the steps into the pool rather are a lot easier than ladders (when you're not hurling yourself into the water at the deep end that is!).
As usual Dounia and Captain made all the difference - and when people say they do anything that can to help it's true - it was our 5th anniversary and with us having spent our honeymoon at Apollo I wanted to organise a surprise for my wife - so with the help of Dounia and Captain we arranged for my wife's family and godparents to be there at the same time, and also Dounia and Captain went to Pan Evangalistra monastary and arranged for us to have a blessing there for our 5th anniversary, and even came along to join us for the service to help us through it. It was a really emotional and special day, and thanks to both of them for organising it - and then for the feast they put on for us in the evening where Captain cooked a whole lamb and Dounia presented the most amazing accompaniments - my father-in-law and my wife's godfather were like little children being shown by Captain how to prepare the lamb for cooking - a special day made all the more special by these special people !.
As ever the rooms are clean and excellently appointed, with free aircon/safe etc , and microwave/ironing board and iron and hair dryer (not something I need but for those of you with hair one less thing you need to pack !).The beds are amazingly comfortable and they also have wi-fi available for the guests. We were shown the new 2 bedroom apartment and told the plans for the upgrades to the accomodation to be ready for next years season - Captain and Dounia were justifiably proud of what they have done so far and I have no doubt they will be just as pleased with the way the other changes will be received.
The food, as ever, is magnificent, and even though we do enjoy eating elsewhere, somehow it's never quite as good as the food we get at Apollo, not only in flavour, but also in portion size and value - and add to that the lovely view you have over Achladies bay - priceless !
Eric and Eileen, the staff, were great - with Eric always ready with a smile and a "how are you" - 2 gems and we were pleased to hear they will be staying. The dogs are lovely, especially my special girl, Dhionera - was a shame we couldn't see more of them but we were just too busy with our plans and arrangements - they really do add to the "home" feel about Apollo and are so wonderfully good natured - and the kids love them !
We love Skiathos - it really is our "paradise", but we actually found ourselves wondering what we'd do if (heaven forbid) Dounia and Captain were ever to leave, or if we couldn't stay at Apollo. We decided that no matter how much we love the island, somehow the thought of Skiathos without Apollo, Dounia and Captain, was unimaginable, and we honestly think it just wouldn't be the same slice of heaven it is for us now. We're already booked for next year and counting down the days.....is it time to go to Apollo yet?

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmorvanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2010

After many holidays on Skiathos spanning 19 years - Villa Apollon continues to be the best place we've stayed on the island.

We have stayed at other places - Only because previously we've left it too late and Villa Apollon has been full.

This year we were lucky and managed to get booked for a fortnight in August ( Hot - High 30s Low 40s )

Dounia & Captain made us welcome from the minute we arrived till the minute we left - fantastic hosts - Nothing is a bother to them.

By day the new pool and recently tiled surrounding area is always clean and tidy and in the evening makes a fantastic setting for dinner overlooking the Aegean.

The food at Villa Apollon is always a talking point amongst guests - The Steaks are the size of the plate - The Pork Chops are bigger than the plate and The Mixed Grill could feed a family for a week ! - probably the best value meals on the island.

Rooms at the hotel are basic but very well equipped and all have a fantastic view, The room was cleaned daily and our towels regularly changed.

Most pepole we've met at Villa Apollon return year after year, that in itself is surely the best recomendation.

We'll definately be back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor-Stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2010

A great find. If you go -you will meet people there who have been coming back for years. Easy to see why after just few hours. Dounia and Captain (and Eric) make you very welcome from the start. Expect to meet Brits,Greek, Italian - people from everywhere have found out about Villa Apollon and why it is - just a great place. Our room was perfect, the view was astounding, the bed was very comfortable, the aircon worked perfectly etc etc etc etc. No faults, no niggles, just no problem... We were only there a week, we'd have been happy with a month ! Food was always excellent - we ate there 5 of the 7 nights. And Captain will stay up with you as long as you need to to enjoy his interesting bar (and people). Captain has a wonder of stories to tell, take the time to listen. And one night, after a few beers with just a couple of the "gents" left enjoying the early morning chat, I mentioned I was feeling peckish as one sometimes does after a few beers and he produced a wonderful marble board of great greek "tapas" like delights. No fuss or bother. Places like this, especially when run by the likes of Dounia and Captain, are a real treat.

As to the rest - if you want to go into Skiathos town (hot and busy) then take the water taxi there (€2.50 each) and the taxi back (€7) - it saves you one heck of a steep walk back !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeandJuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Returned this year with my partner on our honeymoon and had a fantastic time with Dounia & Captain.
The apartments have magical views of the sea and enjoy a view of the bay below.
All of the guests are very friendly and Dounia & Captain are there day and night to help their guests.
The food provided is still amazing and is great if you just fancy a relaxing evening by the pool.
The nightlife of the town is only 10 mins away , along with the shops and nice evening walks.
We will be back next year without a doubt!
Villa Apollon is so relaxing and chilled out and everyone is just charming!
Well done Dounia & Captain. Thanks for making me and David so welcome.

Stuart&David Thacker.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnybanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
3.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#1 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,012 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Esperides
Hotel Esperides
#1 of 1 in Achladias
637 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
916 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#1 of 1 in Katsarou
696 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Apollon Skiathos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Apollon Skiathos

Property: Villa Apollon Skiathos
Address: Achladies, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Skiathos
#7 Best Value Hotel in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 3.5 kms from Skiathos town and 4.5 kms from Skiathos airport at one of the best beaches of the island named Achladies where you can find water-sports, tavernas, bars, restaurants, water taxi to town and supermarkets. Bus stop no 9 is 50 meters from the gate of the Villa. The most important characteristic of Villa Apollon is the feeling of comfort and relaxation.PRICE INCLUDES WELCOME DRINK, BABY COT,WI-FI CONNECTION, PARKING.STUDIOS (2 PERSONS) double bed or two single beds.STUDIOS (3 PERSONS) one double bed and one single bed.ONE BEDROOM APARTMENT(2-4 PERSONS) one double bed (bedroom)and two single beds at the living area.TWO BEDROOM APARTMENT(2-5PERSONS) Two bedrooms one with double bed and one with two single beds can sleep up to five-six (5-6) persons adding one or two single beds at the living area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Apollon Skiathos Hotel Skiathos
Apollon Hotel Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing