We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stressless heaven!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skiathos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Achladies Apartments
Ranked #51 of 191 Speciality Lodging in Skiathos
cumbria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stressless heaven!”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

If you're looking for a 'smart' place to stay with all the fripperies of modern life & living then Achladies Apartments aren't for you!
We will be returning to Achladies apartments in July for probably the 25th year - we don't visit every year, but everywhere else we go - other Greek islands and the rest of the world - we almost always say, 'we should have gone to Skiathos!' I guess you have to travel to other places to appreciate the simple, natural & relaxing atmosphere here. With no TV, Wi-Fi, internet, or humming air-con, this is a very relaxing place where you can take time to catch your breath, sleep, read, walk, eat great food and drink good wine, in beautiful natural surroundings, a truly laid back experience, no 'dressing for dinner' or worrying about styling your hair, in fact if you take your posh frock here you will be out of place! For tasty traditional home cooking Paradise taverna at the end of the garden path by the beach is fantastic, the same owners & staff for many years, then the beach just a couple of metres from here with lots of sunbeds & shade, fabulous clear blue sea, local water taxi, friendly skipper, regular trips to town & back, a relaxing way to travel, to the cosmopolitan hub of the island, lots of excellent tavernas, restaurants, bars & shops - Aisha Bresan is my favourite, she paints beach pebbles & driftwood beautifully, I buy something every visit!
The bus runs regularly from the top of the hill - steps and roadside walking not for the faint hearted or infirm - but access from this to the many beautiful island beaches, most with tavernas serving simple traditional fare, is a must, the bus can be really crowded at peak times, so prepare to be squashed, though the conductor somehow manages to get everybody on & off safely and with good humor!
Take time to appreciate the simplicity of these apartments and island and you will return from holiday relaxed & refreshed, and may take a different view on your own style of living! We almost always meet people here seen in previous years, and if you speak to people on the boat taxi into town, most have stayed here and on the island more than once, if you're not hooked after your visit, then try somewhere else - you'll soon be back!!

Room Tip: If you want a fabulous sea view, request a high floor room, though the lower floor garden view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suejCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Wth had two weeks in Achladies apartments in June this year and enjoyed it so much we returned on 29th August for another week. Pavlina Karvounis is so welcoming and so are her family, most of whom are involved in the business. On our visit earlier in the year we had a one bedroomed apartment that has a view mainly of the garden but the sea is visible. The one bedroomed apartment is spacious and has everything you need, a good sized room with ample clothes storage, a separate kitchen and bathroom. The rooms have fans and mosquito nets at the patio doors and windows, which we found very useful and allowed us to sleep with the patio doors open and allow the cool night breeze in, so there was no need for air-con, which I find uncomfortable, or the fan.On our recent visit, we had a two bedroomed apartment, which has a very large balcony and plenty of seating area. This room would be ideal for a larger family, as each bedrooom has access to the balcony. The beautiful gardens leading down to the beach, two minutes away, are always worth exploring, to see the fish ponds, bird aviary and many tortoises and turtles. There is also a barbecue area in the gardens for guest use. There is always one of the family around if anything is needed and nothing is too much trouble for them. We have now been to Achladies apartments for the past four years, twce this year and are very happy with our stays. We are already planning our next visit in 2013, looking forward to it.

Room Tip: The rooms numbered up to 6 have restricted sea views as they are lower down. If you want a magnifice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StokeyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberedw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Why do some people expect a Rolls Royce when they pay for a Mini? My wife and I first visited here in in 1997 with friends. We have since returned as a couple and with our now grown- up daughters on many occasions have enjoyed our stays more and more. The steps can be hard work but the views from the rooms are stunning to say the least. The short walk through the beautiful private gardens to the fantastic beach (two minutes from bed to beach) is a joy. The Paradise taverna and the friendly staff all help to make this the perfect holiday destination. Local connections both by regular bus service or water taxi make travel into town or to other beaches very simple. Pavlina and her family are delightful and we are privileged to have them as friends. Counting the days to 2013. Alvin, Lynda, Jenni.

Room Tip: Brave the steps and aim high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dogman260x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

we had a 2-bedroom apartment (no.9); the second bedroom had 2 twin-beds with one end of the large room devoted to the kitchen area. Each large room (one with a large cupboard, no drawers) had a large balcony with amazing views of the sea, one furnished with large table, the other with clothes drying rack; both with ordinary plastic chairs, no cushions. Pavlina, the American owner, hastens to say the apartment is self-catering – BUT it is very minimally equipped. Is it possible that no guest has ever left a little salt? Or a little olive oil? Or perhaps some dish washing liquid? One roll of loo paper is provided – “as a starter” says Pavlina but as though this is not the norm. There is a fridge, 2 electric plates, an electric kettle and an old counter top oven – plus a minimal assortment of plates, cutlery and glasses. There is no tea nor coffee maker; no jug, no cutting board, no tray…..the shower has no bathmat nor a curtain but it is possible to take a shower and create a pool in the bathroom: Pavlina provides a mop! Perhaps other guests (whom Pavlina claims return often, thus she needs no advertising) arrive in their own cars with all their own culinary needs……The house is built into the top of the hillside; the gardens are unusual and really a delight, the walk down (and up from) to the beach is not difficult; the local taverna (Paradise Bar and Restaurant), at the bottom of the garden, is very pleasant, reasonably priced and reasonably good. Local bus stops are very convenient, as is the water taxi to Skiathos town. Pavlina will provide all kinds of information if you have time to listen – she talks rapidly and far too much……She is a character!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToulouseorNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stayed in Skiathos last May for a week with my girlfriend at the ACHLADIES APARTMENTS.
We found out about this place from TripAdvisor.Everything was great,clean rooms with a nice sea view and the most friendly owners.The weather was not that great but we enjoyed Skiathos town late at night and most of enjoyed a glass of wine or 2 by our balcony.
Kindest Regards Dexter

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dexter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed at Achladies studios in August, the place is very nice, the beach nearby and a taxi boat to the city very very useful.
We have found good things and bad things:
beautiful things: the apartment was very nice, large terrace and beautiful location, quiet
Bad things: pretty dirty, the cleaning was done but brief and very afst, dishes and pots really dirty! the bed was uncomfortable and our apartment without mosquito nets, so the child was always focused and we had to buy a mosquito net for cot.
You should ask apartments with mosquito net.
Don't give toilet paper, no soap or anything and I think the august price... could be given.
Keep in mind that there are many stairs and is not comfortable with the stroller.
There are shops nearby but they buy only the necessary,because are very expensive.. should go to the supermarket in town.
Very good tavern near, good fish and good prices, among the best in town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaLizbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Do not expect luxury air conditioned accommodation. Instead, clean, functional, comfortable apartments in the very best location on the beach. It is right that there are steps up but this is because the hotel is right on the beach and the rooms are located in an elevated position overlooking the bay. The very short walk is through lovely gardens and ends with the Paradise Restaurant that offers really wonderful food, all cooked on the premises. The water taxi is 100 yards away. As for Pavlina and her daughter in law who helps with cleaning etc, they are real one offs for whom nothing is too much trouble. We (two families with teenage children who loved the watersports) have booked already for August 2012. Fantastic value for money!

Room Tip: Get a room that is high up if you want good views but don't mind steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank topperm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Esperides
Hotel Esperides
#1 of 1 in Achladias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.5 mi away
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
#46 of 84 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vontzos
Hotel Vontzos
#81 of 84 in Skiathos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
#51 of 84 in Skiathos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa TeoZenia
Villa TeoZenia
#33 of 191 in Skiathos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Kim
Villa Kim
#31 of 191 in Skiathos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achladies Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achladies Apartments

Property: Achladies Apartments
Address: Achladies Bay | PO Box 24, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 191 Speciality Lodging in Skiathos
Also Known As:
Achladies Apartments Hotel Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing