We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Filokalia Skiathos second time”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Filokalia Apartments
Ranked #20 of 88 Hotels in Skiathos
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Filokalia Skiathos second time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have just come back for the second visit to Skiathos and stayed at the Filokalia apartments. Once again we had an amazing time. We were met by Shellina who runs the apartments, she is such a warm and friendly lady and goes out of her way to help you with all your enquiries. The studio apartment we stayed in was clean and with its lovely balcony you can sit and chill outside with the lovely surrounding of fresh limes, lemon , grapes... Growing around you, not forgetting the home grown tomatoes, chillies.... With just a five minute walk to the beach and a nice stop off on the way to the lovely bakery.... With lovely restaurants, bars and a water taxi over to Skiathos town. We have come back and now counting the days till next year.

Room Tip: There is know room that would not be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowwhite545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    26
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
97
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

This was our first package holiday for almost 20 years and we were apprehensive about what to expect after booking a late deal for a week at the Filokalia via Olympic Holidays. But all the reviews are correct: the Filokalia is a terrific place to stay on a wonderful island.

The welcome was a warm one and Shellina, the manager, is fantastic at looking after everybody. I've never seen anyone work as hard! We travelled with our twin daughters (aged 16) and they had their own apartment next to ours (rooms one and two). The views from these apartments are lovely and the balconies are huge. You pay extra for air con: it was 56 euros per room for the week but it was worth it as it was boiling hot.

The pool is excellent and there were always loungers available as there are only about 18 rooms. The apartments are a few minutes' walk off the main road and are in a quiet and peaceful location. There are three supermarkets and a wonderful bakery (that sells brilliant cakes) about three minutes' walk away.

Achladies Beach is about five minutes' walk away and is lovely. The sea is crystal clear and loungers are 8 euros for two (for the day). There is a regular water taxi that takes people to Skiathos town. The town is fabulous and comes alive at night.

Other stuff I can recommend:

Watching Mamma Mia at the open air cinema (8 euros).
Take a boat trip to nearby Skopelos and Alonissos.
A boat trip around Skiathos stopping at the beautiful Lalaria Beach and other beaches.
Taverna Selini in Skiathos (above the old port) was by far the best we visited for food and does excellent veggie food (and non veggie). The views from the taverna are fantastic.

One tip: boat trips are available from the old port and are much cheaper than the organised Olympic Holiday excursions.

The bus service is also excellent although the buses can get busy. It's 1 euro 60 any journey.
Don't hesitate to go to the Filokalia!!!

Room Tip: Go for an apartment: they are slightly bigger than studios. Apartments 1 and 2 have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annieandgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I have been back a few days and had to leave shellina and co a review. The rooms were clean and nice, cleaned daily. The food was nice, shellina was very accomadating to cook thing that werent on the menu and was also really helpful with advice. i will definately be going back, as do most people who stay here once ;-)

Room Tip: Room 22 just above the pool is ideal for catching the last of the sun from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIRRAL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

The Filokalia was wonderful from start to finish. We arrived to such a lovely welcome from the lovely Shellina. We were hot, tired and unsure of where we were going. Shellinia took us 'under her lovely wing' and showed us our room. We felt totally relaxed from that point on. The food looked wonderful (we didnt eat at Filokalia...don't know why...it just didnt happen) We had the BBQ night and that was true value for money and a great time (a little cramped when dancing around the pool and there may have been a couple of 'fall ins' if we hadnt been careful! We had a room on the first floor but did experience on a few occasions that it hadnt been cleaned.....I think they start at the top of the building and work down...some days get a bit 'whey laid'. Our view of the gardens were lovely. Not sure why, but we were bothered by many wasps around the area (of the hotel). Maybe they had a unusual season weather wise but my husband got a really bad bite and it lasted for about a week and a half (foot really blown up) We spent a small fortune of wasp/insect killer and kept it with us at all times!!! So much so that we could not eat breakfast or have lunch on balcony due to the swarm of wasps that would visit us. We were near some beautiful flowers, so dont know if that attracted them...it was a nuisance, (maybe a nest nearby)? Couldnt fault the staff for the endless efforts to make our holiday wonderful, they are first class and faultless. This is a lovely place but I would take some cheap insect killer/wasp killer together with lemon candles from the UK as we were paying £3.50 euro a can. Thank you so much and hope you will have us back one day. Much Love to all Staff xxx To Shellina

Room Tip: Head away from the ground floor, not sure, but feel that wasps can be mostly in this area...we may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LINDYWIRRAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just returned from a week at the Filokalia , Achladies, skiathos. The Filokalia was really lovely, so so clean and peaceful . We stayed in room 1. Short walk to the beach, supermarket and bus stop so really convenient. The "steep incline" described in the description was not as bad as expected, in fact it was not a problem for us at all. Pool bar very nice, can highly recommend the breakfast, which was excellent. Pool lovely and warm with lots of sun loungers. Shelina
was extremely welcoming, showing everyone to there rooms personally. She is so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. All the staff were lovely! Our first time to Skiathos and Achladies was our perfect piece of paradise. The beach is stunning , very nice beach tavernas, lots of sun loungers at £8 euros for 2 per day. Regular water taxi to Skiathos town, 2.50 euros and a wonderful way to get into town , there is also a regular cheap bus service as an alternative. We could not fault the Filokalia at all, and we will most certainly be returning. Perfect apartments, perfect location, perfect island ! Thank you Shelina and your team for a wonderful holiday in paradise .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheShaws72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We had checked out quite a few apartments in Skiathos via tripadvisor before we settled on the Filokalia. We definitely made the right choice. The apartments were spotless. Yes cooking facilities and utensils are limited, but this is Greece after all. We have visited many Greek Islands and have always loved them despite the accommodation, but not this time. We loved the apartments and they added to our wonderful holiday. A special word of praise has to go to Shelina. She works like a trooper, and is lovely and friendly. Her food was excellent, the pizzas were fantastic as was the breakfast (yogurt and honey or full English) and she does a wicked Mojito!
We hope to return at some point.
Brendan and Linda

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here from 12 - 19 July this year. Lovely light, spotless, airy apartment with large balcony. Pool bar food is excellent and Greek night not to be missed. The staff are friendly and helpful and nothing too much trouble. Would highly recommend + hope to revisit soon!

Room Tip: The apartments are set on a hill and we're all pretty fit so climbing the hill to our higher apa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KGS313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Esperides
Hotel Esperides
#1 of 1 in Achladias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#7 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.3 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filokalia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filokalia Apartments

Property: Filokalia Apartments
Address: Achladies, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 88 Hotels in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Filokalia Apartments Skiathos
Filokalia Apartments Hotel Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing