We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a place: better than the caribbean”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Filokalia Apartments
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“what a place: better than the caribbean”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

No wonder people come back here, it is wonderful. As previous reviewers have frequently pointed out, this is a most friendly and welcoming place. The staff are excellent from morning until night. The food purchased from the bar by the pool is freshly prepared and tasty (hmmmm - Greek Salad) - the English Breakfast is delicious. The apartments are basic and I didn't like the shower. Our apartment was by the pool (room 21) which I adored but Mrs Lyon thought it was rather too exposed and would have preferred a little more privacy. This apartment gets lots of sun in the afternoon. Some other guests were at the back of the hotel and complained about the walk, so bear this in mind if you are older and or find walking difficult.

It is well placed and near two bakeries and three supermarkets. It is about 10 minutes from the nearest beach.

We were also lucky in having some wonderful fellow guests.

The nearby tavernas are all excellent, we especially enjoyed the Porto Rossa at the end of our street and the Rose Garden. Try the Moussaka in the former it is excellent.

I was very much helped by previous reviewers who took a lot of time writing to me with answers to my questions, thank you so very much.

Skiathos itself is fantastic and the beaches are better than the Caribbean. We particularly liked Elias Beach. Most beaches are easy to get to on account of an excellent and regular bus service.

The best places to eat that we tried were the Mylos by the airport and has the greatest pizza ever made. Also try To Poulakia which came recommended by a former resident at Filokalia - here try the Lamb Kleftika. The Grill House is cheap but nice - 25 euro for litre of house wine and two chicken grills.

Try the boat trips - we liked the Secret Skiathos boat trip but not as keen on the Mama Mia trip because it did not spend enough time on Skopelos.

Skiathos Town is excellent - a maze of streets with every turn a delight. Try eating at the fish tavernas that overlook the old port (not the ones direct on the harbour). We wanted to eat at To Selina but run out of days - this is on the same stretch.

We were warned about wasps but brought plenty of wasp repellant which helped and if you burn Greek Coffee Powder it also keeps them away.

Thanks everyone for all your input and thanks also to the staff at Filokalia.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevelyonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    26
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
100
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just returned home from a fabulous 2 weeks at this great place!!
Having been encouraged by our friends who had been last year and immediately re-booked we thought this was a very good sign and booked our trip also and travelled at the same time along with them. It ended up turning into our honeymoon as we decided to get married shortly before our holiday. We could not have wished for a better place!!
Everything about it was just brilliant! The 'Filokalia' itself was just as described by the many who have left raving reviews before us and we were not disappointed :)
Shellina... is truly an amazing lady and a true credit to the place! Always time for everyone no matter how rushed off her feet, always a smile and her lovely food helped me pile on the pounds!!
Well worth it though!
The apartment was kept lovely and clean with extremely regular towel and bedding changes and the gardens were immaculately kept and a pleasure to look out at whilst enjoying a G & T on our balcony.
This is a real find and we are about to book up for next year so as not to miss out!!
Excellently located with a pleasant stroll into the local bay, water taxi and bus route. Its a very, very easy place to get around with so much to see and do.
All I can say is I cant wait to go back - thankyou so very much for making out honeymoon a fabulous one!!
Nigel & Louise Atkinson - September 2013

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouAky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have just come back for the second visit to Skiathos and stayed at the Filokalia apartments. Once again we had an amazing time. We were met by Shellina who runs the apartments, she is such a warm and friendly lady and goes out of her way to help you with all your enquiries. The studio apartment we stayed in was clean and with its lovely balcony you can sit and chill outside with the lovely surrounding of fresh limes, lemon , grapes... Growing around you, not forgetting the home grown tomatoes, chillies.... With just a five minute walk to the beach and a nice stop off on the way to the lovely bakery.... With lovely restaurants, bars and a water taxi over to Skiathos town. We have come back and now counting the days till next year.

Room Tip: There is know room that would not be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowwhite545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This was our first package holiday for almost 20 years and we were apprehensive about what to expect after booking a late deal for a week at the Filokalia via Olympic Holidays. But all the reviews are correct: the Filokalia is a terrific place to stay on a wonderful island.

The welcome was a warm one and Shellina, the manager, is fantastic at looking after everybody. I've never seen anyone work as hard! We travelled with our twin daughters (aged 16) and they had their own apartment next to ours (rooms one and two). The views from these apartments are lovely and the balconies are huge. You pay extra for air con: it was 56 euros per room for the week but it was worth it as it was boiling hot.

The pool is excellent and there were always loungers available as there are only about 18 rooms. The apartments are a few minutes' walk off the main road and are in a quiet and peaceful location. There are three supermarkets and a wonderful bakery (that sells brilliant cakes) about three minutes' walk away.

Achladies Beach is about five minutes' walk away and is lovely. The sea is crystal clear and loungers are 8 euros for two (for the day). There is a regular water taxi that takes people to Skiathos town. The town is fabulous and comes alive at night.

Other stuff I can recommend:

Watching Mamma Mia at the open air cinema (8 euros).
Take a boat trip to nearby Skopelos and Alonissos.
A boat trip around Skiathos stopping at the beautiful Lalaria Beach and other beaches.
Taverna Selini in Skiathos (above the old port) was by far the best we visited for food and does excellent veggie food (and non veggie). The views from the taverna are fantastic.

One tip: boat trips are available from the old port and are much cheaper than the organised Olympic Holiday excursions.

The bus service is also excellent although the buses can get busy. It's 1 euro 60 any journey.
Don't hesitate to go to the Filokalia!!!

Room Tip: Go for an apartment: they are slightly bigger than studios. Apartments 1 and 2 have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annieandgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I have been back a few days and had to leave shellina and co a review. The rooms were clean and nice, cleaned daily. The food was nice, shellina was very accomadating to cook thing that werent on the menu and was also really helpful with advice. i will definately be going back, as do most people who stay here once ;-)

Room Tip: Room 22 just above the pool is ideal for catching the last of the sun from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIRRAL
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The Filokalia was wonderful from start to finish. We arrived to such a lovely welcome from the lovely Shellina. We were hot, tired and unsure of where we were going. Shellinia took us 'under her lovely wing' and showed us our room. We felt totally relaxed from that point on. The food looked wonderful (we didnt eat at Filokalia...don't know why...it just didnt happen) We had the BBQ night and that was true value for money and a great time (a little cramped when dancing around the pool and there may have been a couple of 'fall ins' if we hadnt been careful! We had a room on the first floor but did experience on a few occasions that it hadnt been cleaned.....I think they start at the top of the building and work down...some days get a bit 'whey laid'. Our view of the gardens were lovely. Not sure why, but we were bothered by many wasps around the area (of the hotel). Maybe they had a unusual season weather wise but my husband got a really bad bite and it lasted for about a week and a half (foot really blown up) We spent a small fortune of wasp/insect killer and kept it with us at all times!!! So much so that we could not eat breakfast or have lunch on balcony due to the swarm of wasps that would visit us. We were near some beautiful flowers, so dont know if that attracted them...it was a nuisance, (maybe a nest nearby)? Couldnt fault the staff for the endless efforts to make our holiday wonderful, they are first class and faultless. This is a lovely place but I would take some cheap insect killer/wasp killer together with lemon candles from the UK as we were paying £3.50 euro a can. Thank you so much and hope you will have us back one day. Much Love to all Staff xxx To Shellina

Room Tip: Head away from the ground floor, not sure, but feel that wasps can be mostly in this area...we may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LINDYWIRRAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just returned from a week at the Filokalia , Achladies, skiathos. The Filokalia was really lovely, so so clean and peaceful . We stayed in room 1. Short walk to the beach, supermarket and bus stop so really convenient. The "steep incline" described in the description was not as bad as expected, in fact it was not a problem for us at all. Pool bar very nice, can highly recommend the breakfast, which was excellent. Pool lovely and warm with lots of sun loungers. Shelina
was extremely welcoming, showing everyone to there rooms personally. She is so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. All the staff were lovely! Our first time to Skiathos and Achladies was our perfect piece of paradise. The beach is stunning , very nice beach tavernas, lots of sun loungers at £8 euros for 2 per day. Regular water taxi to Skiathos town, 2.50 euros and a wonderful way to get into town , there is also a regular cheap bus service as an alternative. We could not fault the Filokalia at all, and we will most certainly be returning. Perfect apartments, perfect location, perfect island ! Thank you Shelina and your team for a wonderful holiday in paradise .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheShaws72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
2.8 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#1 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,012 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Esperides
Hotel Esperides
#1 of 1 in Achladias
637 reviews
1.3 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#1 of 1 in Katsarou
696 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filokalia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filokalia Apartments

Property: Filokalia Apartments
Address: Achladies, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Filokalia Apartments Skiathos
Filokalia Apartments Hotel Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing