We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel setting with rental rooms mentality and service.”
Review of Ammos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ammos Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Skyros
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Ammos hotel is an attractively designed space (minimalistic, white washed, herbs, stone walls, pebbles) in a good location (above the sandy Magazia beach, close to the good taverna of Stefanos, and a short car ride from chora). The pool area is pretty and pleasand to sit in. The breakfast is also good with lots of freshly baked local pies and desserts (but srtangely lacking fresh fruit and juices).

However very few of the rooms are worth their price since most of them have basic view or no view at all. The rooms are also lacking basic amenities- basic to none shower products, no hair dryer, no warmer bed covers other than sheets, no mini bar). There is also no washing or ironing service. There is no provision for acces to people with special needs (no ramps anywhere, yet the place is full of steps, even inside the rooms). There is no parking, only a few spaces at the road that runs above the hotel. Last but not least, the service is basic and better suited to rental rooms but certainly not to a hotel - we did not see the people at the breakfast counter and the pool smile once during our stay and there was no pool service unless one actively seeked someone to order food and drinks or ask for towels. The place also did not accept credit cards gladly and they were really reluctant to give us a second room key since 'if they were lost, they would have to cut new in Athens'.

Once you know about the above, and be prepared, this is not a bad place to stay.

Room Tip: For a good veranta with a lovely sea view, ask for Rooms 9 and 10. For the rest of the rooms, ask fo...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liza70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Ammos Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 6 days. Room number 8. This was an experience indeed. Room is advertised in the site as "Garden view". The reality is that the room was "wall view". The room was small, and when you opened the door you could "view" a wall! When you looked from one window you could see the door of another room and from the other window, another wall! The bathroom was the smallest ever seeing. The most "challenging" was to hang our swimsuits and towels, since we needed to climb and jumb from a small wall! Breakfast was very poor and though they said that it is served until 11, 10:45 they just took everything away.
I have traveled in many places around the world and what I know is that when you want to "copy cat" high class hotels of Mykonos or Santorini you need to offer much more than a fancy name and a well disigned internet site.

I do not recomend this hotel to people that they understand what value for money is and are not carried away by some white walls and a pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stavroula b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Ammos is a newly built hotel with modern, clean and comfortable Aegean style rooms. It is family owned and their service is top notch! Very polite, friendly, providing good information on where to go for drink and food. Greek hospitality at its best.
The amenities are similar to a 4 star hotel, making me wonder what is missing and they got only 3 stars. The only disadvantage I found is that they do not have a private parking space, so you have to park randomly on the public road. Location is great. Also, do not miss the breakfast, it’s a 5 stars!
Skyros is a lovely, not so crowded by youngsters’ island, and this hotel is an excellent choice for peace of mind hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gadgetakias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

A lovely place to stay. Great breakfast, freshly made with a lot of specialities prepared by the cook every morning. Very friendly staff but also very professional and helpfull. The hotel location is very good, the swimming pool has sea water and the hotel building meets european quality standards. A place to visit.
P.S.: Many thanks to Bobby who also gaved his best to make our stay such a nice experiance.

Room Tip: upper level, sea view
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicky_chrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Ammos feels like a friendly place, due to the informal and helpful ways the owners and staff operate. Modern 'Cycladic' architecture, sea views, cool rooms, flowers, good swimming pool with nice furniture. Located in an old village with narrow streets ( no cars) and a few minutes from beach and tavernas. Delicious breakfast. Very Greek feeling. One negative item, however: whenever people sit around the pool for a sunbath, a breakfast or a swim, piped-in not too softly played music is turned on. It clashes with the peace and quiet of the island and the area. 'Don't you like music?' a staff membrr asked. Yes of course I like music, but my own music at my own moments at my own volume.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meijerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This a new hotel, family run, with all the pros and cons that this entails. The people are very friendly and helpful, although not necessarily professional all the time.

The Hotel is new, beautiful, clean, close to the mail beach (3 min walk). Half the rooms do not have a good view of the sea (ours, No. 15, a family room, didn't). Only the rooms at the top commanded a good view. I loved the breakfast as it is largely home-cooked (no cereal, but I did not mind) with some traditional Greek breakfast treats and good variety. The management was very helpful and pointed out all the interesting placed of Skyros.

The only cons really was the lack of view and that the owner would scold my kids when they would be running about, but who could blame them, as there are no kids activities whatsoever.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper floor rooms as they have the good view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKIOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Just spent 4 days in Skyros and stayed at Ammos. What a wonderful experience!!!

excellent breakfast (warm home made pies) home made cereal, home made jams and skirian tiganites.
The rooms are great, modern, super clean. seems like each room has its own theme/decoration. The bed, pillows and sheets... fantstic.
And the hosts/owners... just beautiful souls; amazing service.
I'm traveling around the world for business staying at the best hotels (I'm top tier with Starwood, Miarriott and Hilton). Ammos is a brilliant boutique hotel, just a few feet away from the gorgeous sandy beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCGREECE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skyros hotels
0.7 mi away
Nefeli Hotel Skyros
Nefeli Hotel Skyros
#1 of 1 in Skyros Town
163 reviews
1.4 mi away
Skiros Palace Hotel
Skiros Palace Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skyros
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Perigiali Hotel - Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Angela
Hotel Angela
#9 of 13 in Skyros
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hydroussa Hotel - Skiros
1.0 mi away
Hotel Vina
Hotel Vina
#3 of 14 in Skyros
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammos Hotel

Address: Magazia Molos, 340 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skyros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Skyros
Price Range: £45 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ammos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ammos Hotel is located only 60 meters from the blue waters of Aegean sea and at one of the most beautiful beaches of Skyros Island at the picturesque area of ‘Magazia-Molos’. Provides the luxury of modern design through the traditional Greek hospitality.Modern architecture has been combined with the island’s traditional character. The landscape from every angle of the hotel inspires you. The sea views calms and relax your sensations, while the view of the castle and the Saint George monastery placed on the imposing rock sets the perfect setting for your holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ammos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammos Hotel Greece/Skyros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing