We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't hesitate !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ionia Hotel Skopelos
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Skopelos
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Sat round the pool at the moment. Hotel better than most three stars, Staff are there if you need them, the place is immaculately clean. If you want big rooms and huge pools go to Spain , this is Greece at it's best !

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dmog42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    39
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
105
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in every kind of Hotel, from 5 star to 'no star' (in the Middle East), Ionia is beyond doubt one of the nicer places. It has lovely staff (who are very helpful and friendly) and it is nice and clean. We don't eat much breakfast, but the choices are good. If you like a relaxed and friendly place to stay, you couldn't do better!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very happy with this hotel the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The air conditioning worked well. The location is good , straight down the hill to the centre of town. We had a ground floor room with a shaded patio which was perfect for me. The breakfast was fine fresh melon, cereal, honey, yogart, biscuits and bread , cheese and ham .what more could you expect in a 2 star. The young man looking after the breakfast area was very efficient, and the reception ladies were always smiling.....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorkshirecouple489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Could not believe this was only 2 star. As far as Greek hotels go, this is at least a 3. Very clean and exceptionally well run with lovely, helpful staff. Air conditioning was superb, rooms cleaned to a very high standard. Lovely pool area with bar. Although only 15 beds, when we stayed, there were few selfish people bagging the beds, so this was not a problem. Most people choosing this hotel were oldish hippies, like ourselves and we did not go to Skopelos to just sit around the pool and hotel every day. Those seeking that type of holiday would be better advised to avoid the Greek Isles altogether.

Breakfast was consistently good with a great choice of foods including fresh fruit, breads, cheese, ham, pastries, biscuits, cereals, muesli, Greek yoghurt and wonderful Skopelos honey. \service and cleanliness could not be faulted.

The hotel also boasted a number of additional areas to relax, such as the courtyard, rooftop and side table areas not connected to your room balcony areas.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough and the barman, Fortis, was so attentive and full of local information.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 100Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Like someone else said below, having stayed in a few other Greek hotels, I'm amazed this was only classed as 2*. But if that means paying 2* prices then I'm more than happy!

Its location is perfect, set within the winding streets of Skopelos Town, surrounded by local homes. Turning either way when leaving the hotel it was less than a 5 mins walk to the Harbour front. Lots of shops, cafes, bars and restaurants a short walk away.

Staff were always friendly, helpful and courteous.

I stayed in room 424. This was almost over the entrance to the hotel, and initially this concerned me, but it has a huge balcony/terrace, with views across the whole town and up the hillside. Got the evening sun too for those post-beach / pre-dinner drinks! Air-con not an extra charge, which is a fantastic service. All fixtures and fittings of a good quality, modern uPVC balcony doors, nice bathroom suite. Shower tray and curtain! Mini-fridge much welcomed. Cleaned daily to a very high standard, towels and sheets changed every other day.

Common areas very nice, large reception/lounge with wifi access. Sizeable dining area for breakfast. This was pretty well stocked (and replenished regulary) for a hotel of this size. Cereals, juices, coffee/tea, fresh bread, jam, yoghurt, honey, fresh fruit, biscuits. I'd forgotten I was B&B until I arrived, so this was a pleasant surprise!

Pool area was extremely pleasant. Good quality loungers, sun most of the day, a lot of chairs and tables. Pool itself a good size, clean, and nice temperature. Yes, if every guest wanted to use this space at the same time it'd be a squeeze, but most people (including myself) tend to head out exploring the island, so its not really a problem. Pool bar looked well-stocked, but I didn't use it myself so can't comment. Wasn't always manned, so what I will say is that is was nice not to feel slightly pressured into using it as can be the case at other hotels in Greece. And certainly no issue with bringing bottled water purchased elsewhere to drink poolside. Wifi intermittent by the pool, but that is serious nit-picking!

For those hiring cars or bikes, there's a fairly sizeable car park to leave vehicles overnight.

This is by far the highest standard of Greek accommodation I've stayed in, and this was not reflected in the price. Location was great, the town and island fantastic, and would go back tomorrow if I could!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank majp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just retuturned from two weeks at The Hotel Ionia. The hotel is pleasantly situated in the town with views of the harbour, the mountains and the town. There is an absolute peace about the place which is just what the doctor ordered! The room was very comfortable, clean and tidy, the beds were made daily, the towels were changed every other day. The bathroom was adequate - typically Greek but spotlessly clean and the bins emptied every day. The balcony was lovely to sit out on with either a cup of tea or a G&T in hand. The breakfast was continental and was excellent with good variety of items. The tea as to be expected was not to our liking - but is never like a brew from home but we always, like many take our own Teabags & travel kettle... This is a must if you need a good cuppa! However the coffee & juices served at breakfast were perfect. The pool and bar area were good but we prefere the beach. The bus service to the beaches was great and a good way of getting around the island. We liked to walk to Stafilos Beach along the old road which from the town is about 4k this took us 50 minutes. This was a good beach, nice bar and beach beds. Another real gem was Glifoneri 2k north of the town. The beach is pebble but as you walk into the sea it is quite shallow and sandy underfoot. The sun beds are free as long as you buy a drink at the Taverna... I would highly recommend you take lunch here as the food, service and views are excellent. The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the lovely staff on reception who were absolutely delightful! The air con in the room was great, also it is worth having a safety deposit box for only 1 euro a day. The places we liked to eat were Kyratso's Kitcen(Mamas), Molos and Alexandra's. Not so keen on Anna's as it was a little pretentious and would not recommend Muses although there was nothing wrong with the food in either place it just laked atmosphere. We found a little taverna opposite the Dolphine hotel it looks a little tatty from the outside as if it has seen better days but the food was excellent, very traditional, great value and wonderful atmosphere not sure what the name of the taverna is but seek it out, we wished we'd found it earlier as would have definitely eaten there more than once... Greak music and a wonderful family kitchen. My husband and I have been visiting Greece for 30 years and Skopelos is a beautiful island and to date is one of our favourite islands... Still very traditional, very friendly, with all that you need for a perfect relaxing holiday. Thank you Skopelos we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marjorie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel as a couple of recent reviews weren't very encouraging. We received a warm welcome from the reception staff on arrival, and throughout our stay found all the staff extremely friendly and helpful. A slight problem with the shower was fixed almost immediately, I was impressed with their efficiency. The rooms were very clean and a good size, and the lower floor offered a spacious balcony. There was plenty of choice at breakfast, including fruit. I didn't use the pool often, but it was clean, though quite small. The hotel's situated on a hill but within easy reach of the shops and restaurants. If I go back to Skopelos I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, and would hope to see the same members of staff who helped make my holiday there so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KATY J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopelos hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Panormos Beach Skopelos
0.5 mi away
Aeolos Hotel
Aeolos Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skopelos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alkistis Hotel
Alkistis Hotel
#8 of 25 in Skopelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Adrina Beach
Adrina Beach
#2 of 3 in Panormos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
4.0 mi away
Adrina Resort & Spa
Adrina Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Panormos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Skopelos Village
Skopelos Village
#3 of 25 in Skopelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ionia Hotel Skopelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionia Hotel Skopelos

Property: Ionia Hotel Skopelos
Address: Hora (Skopelos main village), 370 03, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skopelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Skopelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ionia Hotel Skopelos 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In green Skopelos can Even when staying in the town of Skopelos to feel the magic of the emerald island. The amazing country with its traditional architecture, hospitable residents and easy access to the beauties of the island, ideal for an unforgettable holiday. The old part of Hora, 150m. from the port we chose to build the IONIA Hotel. Built in traditional style, on four levels so that all rooms have views of Chora. It is fully renovated in 2007 and features 47 rooms with spacious verandas, bathroom, air (cooling-heating), refrigerator, TV, pool, breakfast room, bar, snack bar, lounge, TV and parking. The impeccable service and traditional hospitality will make your holiday unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Bookgreece.com and Agoda so you can book your Ionia Hotel Skopelos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing