We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY TRADITIONAL GREEK HOTEL”
Review of Hotel Dionyssos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Dionyssos
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Skopelos
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My friend and I stayed here from 11th - 25th September 2013. The hotel is lovely, traditional Greek, but fairly basic, i.e we had no kettle in the room to make hot drinks. We did have a fridge though, which was useful and a small television. The air conditioning was free. A lot of cupboard space and the bathroom was fine, although the manual flush was a bit tedious at times! No safety deposit boxes in rooms, but you can pay to have one at Reception. The Reception desk is staffed 24 hours per day. The staff were very friendly and the room was kept spotless with frequent bedding and linen changes. We had a balcony with lovely views. The pool area is spotless, nice pool and bar, although we preferred to go out every day.The beds were comfortable, if like me you like it firm. We had a fabulous holiday, Skopelos is beautiful and the hotel is within easy reach of everything. There is a fairly steep slope up to the hotel, but the walk got easier each day! I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kezzer999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

We chose the Hotel based on previous Tripadvisor reviews and it was pretty much what everyone had said. The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good by European standards with the usual continental options of cereal, cold meats and cheese, fresh bread, yoghurt, fruit and wonderful honey plus 2 hot options. The rooms were a good size and yes the beds were hard but I've been going to Greece for 16 years and it is the norm! The bathroom does have a hand held shower but again the norm. The pool and pool bar pretty standard and nice views from the various terraces. From the port it really is no more than a 5 minute stroll and the whole town is easily accessible and well worth a good look around. The mentioned hill to the Hotel is more of a short albeit steep slope and to be fair if you stay in the town you have to go up as much as down to get anywhere so not really a problem. My only minus point about the Hotel is the acoustics. It has beautiful traditional polished stone floors, and heavy wooden doors with brass locks which meant you were very reliant on your fellow guests consideration as when we were there doors were being slammed at all hours of the night and with guests leaving in the early hours trundling suitcases on stone floors were a wake up call. Each bathroom ceiling has an opening which appears to link to all other rooms. It means you can hear everything in neighbouring rooms from conversations to more basic noises. Apart from that it is a very welcoming Hotel with many repeat guests and for us the staff definately stood out.

Room Tip: We had room 205 with a sea view which was pleasant but it is at the front of the Hotel and even with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

just left and missing it already, this is a spotlessly clean comfortable but basic hotel. the rooms are typically greek simple and comfortable. the bathroom and shower could do with a bit of an upgrage but once again spotless (quite funny watching my hubby over the week learning how to shower with no where to hang the shower head he became very adept dont know about you but the quality of the bathroom never made a holiday for me, never spent that much time in them) clean sheets and towels daily. balcony view to the front was lovely many a lovely moment was spent watching the the changing view at sunset.the pool was spotless and there were a good number of sun beds, no music apart from what you could here from the pool bar NO Animation!! the hotel pool bar menu was very basic but adequate for a snack and prepared and presented very well. breakfast was of a good standard plenty of choice, but not for the english cooked breakfast brigade, the hotel did try this with varying degrees of success, i would say to them dont bother stick to delicious bread, ham cheese olives tomatoes fresh fruit and the lovely homemade cake with jam keep it simple. the staff take a pride in their jobs and in the hotel. all in all would i go back.....yes. givin a choice if i only had 1 weeks valuable holiday i might choose somewhere more luxurious but that would be being picky, if you gave me the choice between my rather nice but grey damp kent home today and another week at the Dionnysos? i would be back like a shot!!! we had a fantastic week thankyou

Room Tip: sea view upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

2nd time at the Dionyssos and again, weren't disappointed. Super location just out of the town but close enough to walk into the centre and on the front. There are several options of getting into the centre without having to walk up the rather steep and sometimes slippy road. The road being slippy due to the amount of scooters that use it which have made the stones so smooth. The rooms are still a little dated but very adequate and serve their purpose. The breakfasts are outstanding with so much choice. The hot food usually being egg served in different ways i.e., scrambled, fried etc., and also bacon, hot dog type sausages and sometimes Greek specialities like cream pie. Vasilis and Vosa are very obliging and will help in any way they can during breakfast time. The pool is very clean and super facilities i.e., toilets and pool bar. The pool bar could maybe do with a few more food options, as they don't cater for vegetarians and only Greek salad is suitable. They do, do specials however on a daily basis, OK if you eat meat. The staff on reception are extremely helpful and friendly and will oblige wherever possible. Like others have said, there is this lady/dummy dressed in traditional costume as you enter the hotel which at first is a little daunting, but you do get used to it. I think as the entrance is dark, this can make it worse. The rooms are cleaned daily which is brilliant and we sometimes found that it didn't need doing, but they were done. The hotel is also located so that you can go for several walks around Skopelos and do some sight seeing. The local people surrounding the hotel are very friendly too and appreciate it if you speak to them. They sit out of a night and it became a ritual seeing them. A lovely hotel which is a must place to visit despite the décor. Hoping to go back in 2014 its so nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 12sully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Had a fantastic holiday at the Dionyssos from 31st July to 14th August & can honestly say that we had no complaints whatsoever. The continental breakfasts by greek standards are superb (plenty of choice and as much as you want). The rooms are more than adequate, we had a side view & i'm sure there are better views from the front but certainly nothing to complain about. The beds maybe a little on the hard side but thats what an ouzo on the balcony is for. Excellent air conditioning & shutters mean you can guarantee a good nights sleep with no outside noises so you may need an alarm clock.
Excellent staff.
Decent wi-fi to keep kids happy.
Lovely pool.
What more do you need, just remember this is Greece!
I have no idea why there have been comments on the walk back to the hotel up the 'hill', it's a slope-thats all.
We went to Skopelos 8 years ago pre mama mia so were a bit apprehensive as to if it had been spoiled but were pleased to see very little mention of the film & the whole island had barely changed since 2005.
We have been to many greek islands but had forgotten what a wonderful place Skopelos town is and am sure we will visit again in the future.
Restaurant recommendations-----------Any-they're all good!

Wish I was there

Yammas

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KevinSheffieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This hotel is definitely not a three star hotel! The beds are rock hard, it would be nicer to sleep on the floor. Also the bathroom was in absolutely horrible condition, how can anyone say a moldy bathroom is nice? I don't know where the hotel buys its sheets and towels from, even the discount stores don't sell that bad of a quality. The breakfast choices are not plentiful in my opinion, it was only toast, cheese, ham, some yogurt and eggs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kidi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We have just returned after spending three weeks at the Dionyssos and the holiday just gets better every year, the hotel as always is spotlessly clean and we have never been to a hotel where the bedding and towels are changed so frequently, the breakfast's are as good as ever, plenty of choice and friendly staff, Vasillis and Vaso are great, as are all the staff at the hotel from Pentalis in the bar and Rudi to all the staff in the hotel everyone is so friendly and helpfull nothing is to much trouble. Thank you all for another great holiday and hope to see you all again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bwwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopelos hotels
0.2 mi away
Rigas Hotel
Rigas Hotel
#3 of 6 in Skopelos Town
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Skopelos Village
Skopelos Village
#3 of 23 in Skopelos
357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aeolos Hotel
Aeolos Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skopelos Town
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prince Stafilos
Hotel Prince Stafilos
#5 of 6 in Skopelos Town
119 reviews
3.9 mi away
Adrina Beach
Adrina Beach
#1 of 3 in Panormos
425 reviews
4.0 mi away
Adrina Resort & Spa
Adrina Resort & Spa
#2 of 3 in Panormos
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dionyssos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dionyssos

Address: 37003, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skopelos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Skopelos
Price Range: £38 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dionyssos 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting proudly on a hill overlooking Skopelos Bay, Hotel Dionyssos offers the observer a real taste of traditional architectural design. A spacious terrace with bamboo chairs overlooks the large swimming pool with residing tavern and pool bar. Our lovely garden comprising both domestic and tropical plants surrounds the three sides of the hotel. All in all, Hotel Dionyssos provides its guests with not only elegance but also a unique and distinguished quality: The Personal Touch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dionyssos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dionyssos Hotel Skopelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing