We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mount Olympus: beautiful, challenging and dangerous”
Review of Mount Olympus

Mount Olympus
Book In Advance
More Info
US$78.55*
and up
Mount Olympus Canyoning Adventure
Ranked #7 of 157 things to do in Thessaly
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mount Olympus: beautiful, challenging and dangerous”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Me and my 2 friends visited Mount Olympus in late August 2013. It was a great timing as the weather was just right and at the same time we did not meet crowds of people. I recommend choosing working days for the way up as during the weekends the mountain gets more busy.
We have split the trip into 2 days. This gave us an opportunity to have a quality rest in the refuge A which turned out to be warm and welcoming place with friendly people and clean facilities.

Hiking up from the refuge A was a beatiful experience - stunning views, wild nature around... I enjoyed so much until the point we had to take a decision whether to take the way up directly to Mitikas or to head rather to Skala and Skolio.

Our desire to reach the highest point was foolishly strong. For a mid experienced hiker like me this was a big mistake which might have costed the highest price ( luckilly did not).

For all future hikers/climbers who strive to conquer Mitikas: be ready that the final part is very challenging and without proper climbing experience and equipment even life dangerous. It is not a trail for hikers.

I strongly recommend hiking Mount Olympus up to Skala and Skolio. You will be offered beatiful reward for that. In case you can relate to my level of experience, forget about Mitikas. It is simply not worth the risk.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank forjik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    22
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL NATURE”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I had a hard time getting reliable information but the Park website is good. http://www.olympusfd.gr/us/infos.asp
First, go to Litochoro, which is just a lovely mountain village, and stay a night. Next day, hike to the refuge (there are several but the first one is where everyone stays who are looking to summit. I may try other ones in future.) The trail is from Prionia and most people drive, take a cab or hitch hike, BUT THE HIKE FROM LITOCHORO TO PRIONIA IS BEAUTIFUL but challenging and at least 4 hours. To go on to the refuge from there after lunch is very doable. On the way back, after summiting Mytikas, and walking to Prionia, best to get a ride to Litochoro. (I got one from a fellow hiker). As to summiting, it looks scary but it is very doable. I went to the summit in the morning and it was cloudy, but I am told clear skies predominate in the afternoon. This is simply a beautiful experience all around. Do it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ogrecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“In the sea and above the clouds :)”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

If you want to have it all in one (sea, sand, good sea food, fresh mountain air and trekking path) choose Platamonas & Mount Olympus area. The Castel Camping in Platamonas is a nice quiet place to stay (it has a nice beach bar & great service). Wooden houses for 4 people are ok and very cheap (8 euros/person/night).
After a sun-bath in Platamonas, change the climate and go trekking on Mount Olympus (Scala peak offers you a great view if the clouds and fog allows ;). The trekking is long but easy (don't forget to have all seasons cloths with you since the weather rapidly changes on this mountain).
Enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlinaCarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kastoria, Greece
Level Contributor
320 reviews
207 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“the mountain of greek gods.”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

find your myth in greece and discover olymp mountain and follow the footsteps of gods..
its the bigger mountain of greece and its a day visit for its pionneer and to go and see the rooftop of greece..spectacular views and a great life experience ...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
1,316 reviews
1,127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
“Beautiful landscape”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We start the climbing from Litochoro,a little beautiful town situated at the feet of the mountain.Not the most difficult climbing I've ever tried.Nor the easiest...
The landscape is beautiful,the air is cold and pure.
Not far from Litochoro is the archeological site of Dion.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Olympus also viewed

 
Larissa Region, Thessaly
 

Been to Mount Olympus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing