We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Avra

Hotel Avra
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Avra
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Volos
Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I have stayed at Hotel Avra for only one night, on my return from Skopelos. The main reason for choosing this location was the proximity to the port (less than 5 minutes) and the low prices for short stays. When it comes to the rooms, they offer exactly what they are supposed to: good places to sleep, cleanliness, air conditioning. Another plus was the possibility of late check-in, as we arrived after 2 am. The hotel does not offer high-end services, but it simply does the required job: accomodate travellers near the ferries. If I were to criticize something, that would be the noise coming from the streets near the port. All in all, Hotel Avra is perfect for not too pretentious people searching for a place to rest, while waiting for the ferry.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
7
11
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
198 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed for a couple of days in May 2012. The hotel is very well located, near the centre of Volos and the sea promenade and the port - very convenient for traveling by ferry to the beautiful islands of Skiathos and Skopelos.
The hotel has everything one needs for this class of accommodation - no complaints at all.
The team at the reception were extremely friendly and went out of their way to tell us things about the city and the surrounding area - they were very very helpful indeed. Especially the young gentleman, whose name I cannot remember, sorry, helped us in many ways, e.g., by giving us very valuable recommendations for Skiathos and Skopelos, Pelion (the nearby mountain), taverns in Volos, etc. We thank him and the whole team heartily - we would definitely go to this hotel again, should we have the chance!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krasimir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Volos isnt famous for budget accomodation but this is an absolute gem.Easy to find, clean, friendly and close to everything you need.had a nice room with view of the harbour along the street.very good indeed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mijbiledal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed 4 days in Volos in this hotel. Very friendly personel, which spoke good English. Basic clean rooms. Beds bit hard but that was compensated by personel & service who tried to solve this. Another room was offered with better bed quality when we asked for it. Drinks offered while waiting to leave. I would recommend this hotel who wants to go to Volos.
The location is ideal. Around the corner the boulevard with restuarants & coffee bars. 10 minutes walking to the new centre with nice places to go out or chill with a frappe. For party & dancing would recommend the walk of 10 minutes to the old center.
When in Volos take a drive around Pilion very nice area. Also very impressive is Meteora at Kalampaka. This is a 2 hour trip by car but definitely worth the time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeroX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Great, friendly staff, clean ,convenient hotel. Deserves to be 5 star for friendliness alone.

Room Tip: All quiet with small balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salerno, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

This is my 4 stay in Volos, Avra Hotel is the first place that value for money. Budget Hotel on the way to the Islands. I strogly raccomend the Ferry and not the Flying Cat or The Dolphin. The reception agent are very nice and helpfull, the room humble but clean. The hotel in just two minutes from embarkedero, just at centre of the town and two step from the beautiful sea promanade. Wi-fi is free at reception, no connection from room. 15 minutes walk from Ktel Bus Station ( connection to Volos Airport)

Room Tip: Ask for sea view even if the hotel is in a corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coraat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volos hotels
0.0 mi away
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#23 of 32 in Volos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laodamia Hotel
Laodamia Hotel
#30 of 32 in Volos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kipseli Hotel
Kipseli Hotel
#18 of 32 in Volos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nefeli
Hotel Nefeli
#26 of 32 in Volos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Filoxenia
Hotel Filoxenia
#24 of 32 in Volos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jason
Hotel Jason
#14 of 32 in Volos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avra

Property: Hotel Avra
Address: 5 Solonos, Volos 383 33, Greece
Region: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Volos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Volos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Avra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing