We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best choice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aegli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Aegli
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Volos
Thasos, Greece
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“the best choice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

we visited it just after our wedding to relax for a few days and even though we found it accidentally it proved to be a good choice! situated opposite the port and very close to the restaurants,cafes and tsipouradika it was great to stay in Aegli Hotel..as it gets dark you can see all those lights around and go for walks by the port..the rooms are decorated nice,the breakfast was quite rich and the people working there were really willing to help us in every question we had about the town! Do not forget to visit Pilio and enjoy the awesome view! you will love it!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    99
    44
    21
    9
See reviews for
51
107
7
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I have used the Aegli hotel many times before for my short business trips. The hotel's location is ideal as it is directly opposite the main parking lot of the port. The staff is friendly and accomodating. Last night however, I decided that these things are not enough for me any more.

Business travellers need a few but essential things to make their life and work easier:

- Wi-fi in the room. Correction: wi-fi that actually works. If it takes 15' to download a single page, you might as well forget it.

- A TV that works. I was unlucky enough to get a room with no wi-fi signal and a broken down TV. Isolation.

- Writing space. A desk or at least a small table and a chair. Hint: the bed does not qualify as writing space.

- Peace and quiet. I guess everybody needs that. Apart form the student group next door who kept at it all night.

I will explore other options for my future visits to Volos.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Savas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rookhope
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stay in this hotel frequently and have done so March, April and May of this year. We have reviewed before that following the refurbishment the hotel goes beyond that typical in Greece. The stylish rooms are still kept clean and, in the main, are of excellent quality. In our recent visits a new breakfast room has been created with a new menu that provides excellent value for money and quality.

Room Tip: The front rooms (102 and 202) have large balconies, wonderful views and competent sound proofing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed two days for weekend and I am absolutely delighted. Very clean room, fully renovated, was lucky of course cause i got front side room with a perfect view of the harbor. Hotel is in critical location, you have access direct to walkway in front of the city. Maybe if I had car was a problem about parking, im not sure for that. I can recommend it for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stelios B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Booked at last min, was given superior room for same price as standard. Great value 60 euros including buffet breakfast with a great variety. Rooms very modern and spacious. Great location near to Volos Port. Would use again and will reccomend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Skiathos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I recently stayed in Aegli with a couple of friends for one night. I liked the hotel because its location was excellent, the staff was polite and the breakfast was ok. Its obviously a renovated property and the renovation has given it a modern look that was appreciated. The room was very spacious and with good quality beds, but on the negative side it had no natural light and felt a bit stuffy. The hotel does not offer parking facilities which can be an issue in Volos. I would stay again and I recommend this property

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisChrysostalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Arrived here very late at night....brilliant find.Clean modern room with fantastic facilities.
Have breakfast it was superb with an excellent choice of toasts, fruit juices, scrambled egg and smoked bacon.Natural yoghurt, croissant etc etc.
The only thing about breakfast is that it gets very busy and getting a table can take some patience.....so you end up hanging around waiting to pounce.
The hotel is placed opposite the port so jumping on or off a ferry is simple.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volos hotels
0.8 mi away
Domotel Xenia Volos
Domotel Xenia Volos
#1 of 32 in Volos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Volos Palace Hotel
Volos Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Volos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kipseli Hotel
Kipseli Hotel
#18 of 32 in Volos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Despotiko
Hotel Despotiko
#3 of 12 in Portaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#23 of 32 in Volos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
9.0 mi away
Protessilaos Hotel
Protessilaos Hotel
#28 of 32 in Volos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aegli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aegli

Property: Hotel Aegli
Address: 24 Argonafton, Volos 382 22, Greece
Region: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Volos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Volos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aegli 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Aegli" hotel is the historic hotel of the town of Volos. Built at the beginning of the 20th century, located at the city center, by the seaside, it constitutes a timeless accommodation choice at Volos. "Aegli" hotel is located at the most privileged spot in town, with a fantastic view on Volos port. With special attention to detail and aesthetics in all hotel areas, we guarantee an unforgettable stay in a friendly, modern and luxurious environment. The hotel has 72 sleeping rooms, 6 of which are luxurious suites, and which have been radically renovated in 2012 and 2016. All of the rooms are equipped with a private bathroom with hair dryer, central heating, TV set, satellite TV, refrigerator and amenities. Start your day taking your breakfast at the American type buffet or drinking your coffee just a breath away from the gulf of Pagasetikos. Our multilingual and well trained staff is always at your disposal in order to serve you in the best manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Aegli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing