We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location-parking is an issue”
Review of Orpheus Hotel

Orpheus Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orpheus Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Komotini
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Perfect location-parking is an issue”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

The hotel is located on the town's central Square making all restaurants , bars, cafeterias and most amenities (banks etc) a mere minute (or few minutes) walk. Rooms on higher floors have a great view of the square and the town. Staff has been extremely helpful too. If there was a minus note is the lack of parking space and in a more general sense tha lack of parking space in Komotini's town centre.

Room Tip: Top floors have great views of the Square and the City. Parking is a big issue. Ideally stop in fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnYannopapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
5
3
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Elounda,Crete
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We had a trip to the north of Greece and this was the worst hotel we stayed in. Not worth 50 euro (room only) per night!!! Pillows like rocks and sheets so stiff and hard that they crackled when you turned over. The bathroom was in need of a good clean and the carpets were dirty. The noise from the outside square where the bars are was unbelievabably loud until about 4am and this was in December!!!! Very old hotel in need of repair with rubbish and rubble as the view from the back window of corridor.
The only good point was the location -very central but then you have the noise to contend with even from a top floor!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet-manos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Komotini hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I was staying due to a business trip to the area. The hotel was dirty and the stuff rude. Imagine that I found hair inside the sink (and of course not belonging to me!)...

Not recommending this hotel to anyone...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HDTsele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

the hotel was nice, new rooms, very warm, perfect location but the staff was terrible. I call them (the receptionist) few days before booking and we arranged a special price aggrement because i was going to stay for a month and when the month was over and went to recepionist to settle my bill account, i was suprised when they told me that no aggrement was made and they "didn't know anything!". In the end, i had to pay much more money, they didn't even try to apologise to me or give me an explaination and they were extremely rude to me!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elennic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

I stayed in this hotel when I went to Komotini to visit friends. The hotel itself is right on the central square (Irini Square) of Komotini. The receptionist was kind, and helped me when I asked her for things to do, where to eat, etc. Other than that, this hotel was possibly the worst I have ever stayed in. The lobby is very nicely decorated, but the second the elevator door opened up to the hallway where the rooms were, the smile was wiped off my face.

The rugs on the floor looked like they had not been washed since World War II, and the curtains on the windows in the hallways were torn and dirty.

Going into the room was the same thing. I was actually afraid of taking off my socks and walking on the rug barefoot because of the possibility of getting a fungal infection, I am not germophobic at all, but the condition of the room was disgusting. The beds looked like old war-zone metal hospital beds with thin mattresses that were hard as rocks. If I turned on the bed, it made a loud creaking noise. The pillows were also hard as rocks.

The bathroom, was another aberration. I actually never used the toilet because I was worried that if I sat on it I would catch a disease, mostly because I could see the previous guest's urine drops on the floor. The shower curtain had mold on it and the floor of the shower was stained.

I don't think that this hotel should even be allowed to stay open, I only stayed there one night, and the 60euro per night price should really have been below 10.

Horrible, Absolutely horrible.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ari Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Komotini hotels
0.8 mi away
Rodopi Hotel
Rodopi Hotel
#3 of 10 in Komotini
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dimokritos
Dimokritos
#5 of 10 in Komotini
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olympos Hotel
Olympos Hotel
#4 of 10 in Komotini
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anatolia Hotel
Anatolia Hotel
#1 of 10 in Komotini
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kyridis Hotel
Kyridis Hotel
#9 of 10 in Komotini
22 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chris & Eve Mansion Hotel
Chris & Eve Mansion Hotel
#2 of 10 in Komotini
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orpheus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orpheus Hotel

Property: Orpheus Hotel
Address: Orfeos, Komotini 691 00, Greece
Region: Greece > East Macedonia and Thrace > Rhodope Region > Komotini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Komotini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Orpheus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our recently renovated hotel is located in the center of Komotini, near the Central Pedestrian square were most of the city Restaurants and Bars are located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HotelQuickly and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Orpheus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing