We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "blast" from the past.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Siemsens Gaard
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Svaneke
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The location is amazing! its right by the habor in the lovely little coastal town of Svaneke. We stayed there for two nights and honestly the location makes this place - and thats it. When its all said and done - at the end of the day you are shelling out around 150 US a night. Lets just look at what you get:

1) unbeatable location. Right by the water. Spot on
2) A lovely flowery garden - though quite windy as you are about 100 feet from the ocean
3) very mediocre and overpriced rooms.
4) Expensive food that is only so-so
5) A completely disorganized service. Most of the staff are untrained and uncaring students who work there for summer only. Considering that the place want to brand itself as "up-scale" thats just not going to cut it.
6) A reception thats never open - well not when we needed it. No one to call, no one.
7) a reactive staff rather than a proactive approach. Staff is helpful in trying to resolve your issues - but fact is that the problems we had could have been easily avoided by spending a few bucks...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Siemsens Gaard
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

Spent 4 days here to discover the beautiful island of Bornholm with friends. What a gem! A true hidden paradise and only 3 hours from Copenhagen. i had been here before and Svaneke is my favourite city of the island. We were lucky to get an ocean view room , and a more standard double.
The ocean view room is fantastic with regard to the view but the room itself is rather ordinary. No extra frills here. And the beds are just so so.
Service and breakfast buffet are however both great, and the location right in the middle of Svaneke on the harbour is just unbeatable.
For more luxury you should probably aim for Melsted badehotel up the coast, but for location this is the place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikolai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Just came back from a fishing weekend trip in Svanke / Bornholm and stayed at the Siemmsens Gaard hotel.
The location is great but the service is not so good. Fair enough to mention that March is off season but the night rate is still high (paid around 100 EUR per night).
The reception is almost never open - so don't expect any help from the hotel in case you have a problem / question
They were also not very flexible to help me in case of my fishing trip - I asked for freezer space and their answer was just - that they have turned it off right now...
They also ask you to clean your cups and dishes ... sorry for a 3 star hotel + quite high price I would have expected to get this done by the hotel + no daily room service + no exchange / replace of anything (such as towels, toilett paper ...) unless you are lucky enough to find them...

The room itself was quite old and not in perfect condition - but clean and had a new flatscreen...

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tschneider008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

I spent just one night at Siemsens Gaard. I was looking forward to it. The location looked fantastic - and it is - right in front of the little harbour at Svaneke. From the brochures it looks enchanting but the experience is a disappointment. To say I was greeted at reception is perhaps overstating it. "You are early" - well yes I said would you like me to come back later - perhaps I could just leave my things at reception? "Just wait there". This experience involves standing - there are no seats in reception. After about 20 minutes I was told OK we will see if it is ready. A key was found and we went across the courtyard to the room. There was various shouting at a cleaner in Danish. I could see the cleaner was preparing the room. I said that is fine. If I could just leave my stuff here or at reception I will come back later. But no I had to wait while the cleaner was berated to speed up the process for this room. The room was pleasant enough - a little dated and many of the rooms are very close to the main throughfare down to the harbour - so those on the outside could be quite noisy. I was fortunate to be slightly inside. The gates appear never to be shut and neither do the doors to common areas for the appartments even though there is a separate key so I felt in high season security could be an issue.

My abiding memory of Siemmsens Gaard was staff smoking. Where I parked my bicycle, where I parked my car , outside the restaurant. Whenever and wherever I went staff were having a cigarette break. Two cleaners even remarked on it when I saw them a second or was it a third time - "O we're here again!" indeed they were.

I booked a ticket for a concert that evening elsewhere on the island so I wanted to eat early. I sat and waited the waitress smiled at me but never came to take my order. There were no more than 3 or 4 tables occupied. I continued to wait. Eventually after half an hour the waitress came. I asked to order a meal. The waitress pointed to her watch it is nearly whatever time it was you must wait for 1 hour. I explained I could not and that I had been waiting for over half an hour and I had a concert to attend. I explained that I had seen people come to tables while I was waiting and be served a meal - that was all I wanted too. Rather than be helpful the waitress was rude and told me to go somewhere else, which in the end I did and found a simpler cafe where the service was far more what you would expect from Denmark and Bornholm in particular. Oh yes and who did I see both as I left to find a cafe and on my return in the evening after the concert ? All the kitchen staff having a cigarette break.
With service like that - save your money there are nicer places in Svaneke to stay even if the location cannot be matched.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank FarmerGilesRutlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bellingham, Washington
111
Reviewed 5 August 2003

Siemmensens Gaard Hotel guests can gaze into the lovely little harbor in Svaneke on Bornholm's east shore from their tables on the wide veranda of this old, well-maintained hotel. The restaurant serves Danish fare in elegant portions. The rooms are comfortable, clean and modern. The hotel is close to a variety of galleries and shops.

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank KurtFarfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Find et andet hotel
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viv_Bank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svaneke
8.6 mi away
Hotel Gudhjem
Hotel Gudhjem
#1 of 3 in Gudhjem
48 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Klippen
Hotel Klippen
#2 of 3 in Gudhjem
65 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hotel Skovly
Hotel Skovly
#1 of 8 in Roenne
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Balka Sobad
Hotel Balka Sobad
#2 of 4 in Nexoe
35 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel Friheden
Hotel Friheden
#1 of 16 in Allinge
70 reviews
17.8 mi away
Pension Sandbogaard
Pension Sandbogaard
#2 of 16 in Allinge
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Siemsens Gaard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Siemsens Gaard

Address: Havnebryggen 9, Svaneke, Bornholm 3740, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Bornholm > Svaneke
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Svaneke
Price Range: £123 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Siemsens Gaard 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Siemsens Gaard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Siemsens Gaard Svaneke, Bornholm, Denmark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing